Pushing the Limits - March 5 & 6, 2024 @goldenoakfarm

in #homesteading2 months ago

Larry was lonely crop March 2024.jpg

Larry is not happy with my new gadabout lifestyle. For the last 9 months he’s been here, I’ve been on the farm most of the time. On Monday I left at 9:30AM, back at home and inside for 10 minutes at noon, then outside until after 4PM.

He had to come lay on me for extended periods to make sure he was still loved.

As a result of such an arduous Monday, once my appointment on Tuesday morning was done, I didn’t move far from my chair or the couch. I think I might have done some laundry.

Cortland onions up crop March 2024.jpg

At supper Tuesday night I noticed the Cortland storage onions were just up. So on Wednesday morning I took the cover off, thinned and transplanted a bunch, found a board to raise up the tray to the light, and put them back in the window.

Verbascum up crop March 2024.jpg

Three pots of the 6 started had come up of the verbascum, a flower.

Cortland onions 12 hrs later crop March 2024.jpg

By suppertime, nearly 12 hours later, this is how the onions looked. You’d never know I’d thinned them. I will have to do it again soon.

I went to exercise class Wednesday morning and picked up a shower stool for my mom while at the Senior Center. I had an hour rest and fell asleep in my chair until noon.

My general helper arrived and I had a lot of errands and shopping to do. It was cold out and too wet from the rain to do garden work. So we went north and did a big shopping, came home and put it away, and headed south to do more.

Covers and trays washed crop March 2024.jpg

We got back about 3:30PM and I put things away (she did the cellar stuff) and then she washed up covers and a couple trays for the next seed starting next Friday.

The next seed starting will be 7 trays, so she got a good start on it.

South - daff buds crop March 2024.jpg

I went to show her the little Iris reticulata in the South garden and we found nearly a dozen buds on the daffodils in front.

Post writing help crop March 2024.jpg

As with all things, post writing must be supervised.

I was again really wiped out, but won’t have a lot of rest time on Thursday. It’s been warm enough lately that I’ve only lit the masonry heater once every 36 hours or so. The wood stove has been burning low most of the time still. I don’t even pull shades until 6 or 7PM, and it’s still stayed in the middle 70’s inside.

On Thursday my mom arrives in the afternoon. In the morning I need to get my post up, create a slide show of the Bulb Show for her to watch, clean up the kitchen, shower, and then a phone call. It will be with the SHINE lady to try yet again to find out what’s happening with getting home help. I haven’t much hope we will get any farther. My mom arrives after 3PM.

Sort:  

Larry is one funny cat, of course everyone needs to be assured that they are Loved from time to time, so he's craving attention.
I can see the sprouts. Well-done.

It's really wonderful that your onions have grown from the seed stage.
I hope the shopping went fine.
Warm at last, after Winter Cold.

I love how Larry supervises your work. I have Mika to do the same for me. With all this nice weather and so much work to do, be careful not to overtax your body. :-)

Larry is all over the place and he's such a cute cat and a great supervisor too.
The onions have sprouted, it's a sign that you would have a bountiful harvest..... Hahaha.
Oh the daffodils survived the Winter? That's great.

The daffodils always survive here. It's the tulips, hyacinths, and iris reticulatas that are the ones I wonder if I will see.