Small Progress in the New Herb Garden - May 18, 2022 @goldenoakfarm

New Herb - the walkways before crop May 2022.jpg

This is what most of the north end of the New Herb garden looks like, a thick, high mass of chickweed and other plants. There really are walkways and beds with herbs in there, somewhere.

New Herb - Row 6 walkway crop May 2022.jpg

This was the walkway between Rows 6 & 7 that I tackled on Wednesday. My general helper was here and she tackled the walkway between Rows 5 & 6. Before we started them, we restored the top walkway after the septic work.

New Herb - Row 6, lady's mantle crop May 2022.jpg

This is lady’s mantle under the veil of chickweed in Row 6. We had to get the map out to know what was under the mass of weeds.

New Herb - Row 7, lupine flowers crop May 2022.jpg

This is the lupine I planted in 2020 when I restored this bed after the construction. I can’t believe it has survived this long. Lupine typically doesn’t here.

New Herb - walkway work crop May 2022.jpg

This is how far we got with 3 hours work. We were just clearing the walkways, not working on the beds much, besides removing the worst of the chickweed.

New Herb - walkway work close-up crop May 2022.jpg

In this closer shot you can see where we gave up digging the mats out and just started pulling the foliage off. It was taking far too long to dig the mats. We’re hoping they die, but with the coming rain on Thursday, they will probably re-grow 6”.

In the top walkway you can see where I have 3 batchelor’s buttons volunteers. They survived the digging, weeding, and septic work. They have buds on them now. There was 1 found so far in the walkway I worked on.

I’m hoping I can get mulch on them as we finish them, in hopes of delaying more weed growth.

My son managed to get the front pasture fence and the head of the driveway weedwacked on Wednesday. He’s still got the yard, around the barn, and 2 more pastures to do.

Walkway - 1st allyssum flower in crack crop May 2022.jpg

In one of the tiny cracks in the walkway, a volunteer alyssum is flowering, the first one. This was one of my husband’s favorite flowers.

On Thursday it’s to rain all day. I don’t have helpers coming and plan to spend some of the day repairing the bagger’s catchers. I’d taken one off to do last time I mowed, and went all the way around the yard with just 1 catcher and wondered why there were so many clippings…Sigh…So fixing them is on the list.

Sort:  

Yup! The sudden rain has made wild grasses and weeds growing like crazy!

Congratulations @goldenoakfarm! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s):

You received more than 8000 HP as payout for your posts, comments and curation.
Your next payout target is 9000 HP.
The unit is Hive Power equivalent because post and comment rewards can be split into HP and HBD

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

Hive Power Up Month - Feedback from May - Day 15
Support the HiveBuzz project. Vote for our proposal!

I am surprised to hear that lupine does not grow well in Massachusetts. I used to live in Nova Scotia and it grew wild there. We would see it growing along the side of the highways.

I think it might grow well elsewhere in Mass but doesn't do well on my farm. I have sandy loam and maybe it doesn't like that...

Possibly. I know they are difficult to transplant.