The Spring Equinox - March 20, 2023 @goldenoakfarm

Before the sun crop March 2023.jpg

I took this photo before the sun was up, as in the past the sun has shone right down the hall and out this window. So, a before photo.

I read somewhere that even though the equinox is assigned a set time and day, the actual happenings of sun movement can be as much as 2 weeks off one way or another. It might have been in one of the old Farmers Almanacs I read a while back.

Before the sun2 crop March 2023.jpg

Another of the dining room window just as the sky started to color up.

Before the sun3 crop March 2023.jpg

I was psyched, I was going to get the sun streaming through the house.

Sun comes in2 crop March 2023.jpg

And the sun comes in…

Sun comes in1 crop March 2023.jpg

And smacks solidly onto the back kitchen wall.

Sun comes in3 crop March 2023.jpg

It’s right on the mirror and about a foot from even entering the hallway. Sigh… I was so disappointed.

Sun comes up crop March 2023.jpg

Sun is up…

Sun comes in4 crop March 2023.jpg

So I went to see what it did in the living room. It went pretty squarely through there, centered between the windows. If it hadn’t hit the masonry heater, and there’d been a 3rd window in that wall, it would have gone across the porch and into the office.

So no sun down the hall into the office this year.

Sun plant shadow crop March 2023.jpg

So I was determined to capture the evening sun and it shown through the plant in the center window and made this shadow on the armoire.

Sun shadows crop March 2023.jpg

I caught the shadow of the wind chime on the wall of the living room.

Sun down crop March 2023.jpg

I almost missed the sundown shot as I was talking to my brother in the dining room. I looked up and the sun was gone from the living room, so I dashed into the office and just made it!

So that was my Spring Equinox for this year.

Sort:  

Very nice! You caught the spring Equinox inside your house!