THE FIRST BALD EAGLE I'VE SEEN ON THE HOMESTEAD

in #homesteading6 years ago

image
This is the first bald eagle we've seen on the Homestead!
I was taking a little nap in the recliner in the living room when I hear my wife yell for me. The first thing that went through my head was all crap a pig's out! But as I start to wake up and move her direction I hear her talking about an eagle. I round the corner and she's at the side porch with a pair of binoculars, hands them to me and says that's an eagle right?!?! I take a look and say sure enough that's a bald eagle looking at our ducks. LOL. From the side porch this Eagle set a little over 200 yards away. So I told my wife to get her good camera. Theses were the best pictures we could get before it flew off.
image
It was a pretty bird but I hope it's the only time we see it around the farm. I have enough issues with the raccoons, possums and fox to be messing around with an eagle. Just hope it wasn't plotting its attack on my ducks or chickens.

I am doing a SBD giveaway along with giving away a farm made bag. It is available to all of my followers. Here's the link!
https://steemit.com/contest/@hopfarmnc/doing-a-3-sbd-giveaway-for-reaching-300-followers-plus-a-gift-made-on-the-farm-to-one-lucky-follower

THANKS FOR POPPING BY!!

FOLLOW ME AT: @hopfarmnc
https://www.hopfarmnc.com/
https://www.facebook.com/HOPFarmNC/
image
image


Directory of Steemit Posts
Community Forums

Sort:  

Oh wow! You got some great shots! And, as pretty as they are, I certainly understand not wanting it to hang around. I used to see them regularly in Alabama, but haven't seen any since moving to Texas.

Thank you! Yeah that big guy could swoop down and take any one of my chickens or ducks that he wanted it was cool to see him but I hope it goes far away. LOL

Oh, you got some great photos! There’s a lake that we camp at in the summer about 30 miles north of us and we see bald eagles there. But I can never get a picture worth keeping.

Thank you! But I hope that's the only photos we get of it. LOL

That is so awesome! Love it. We have tons of hawks and once in a blue moon someone gets sight of an eagle. They are big birds! resteemed!

Thank you! They're rare to see around here.

Great photo, it's amazing that the eagle landerd on the ground there too. I'm pretty sure I've never seen one in person, that would be a treat :)

I've seen them flying in the wild before and at zoos but never on my property. It was pretty cool

We get bald eagles down our way as well. We don’t see them very often though. I think they nest up by the nuese basin.

Just the first one I seen in Stokes County. Not sure where its nest is it be cool to find it though.

are you colecting birch sap in that bucket?

Nope. Lol

It probably was plotting how to get your ducks! Hopefully it decided against it though.

I hope so too my friend!

Oh, how wonderful! You must feel proud, having the majestic bald eagle, the top predator of the avian world, the symbol for nature not having come apart at the seams, right there on your property! ... until he starts being top predator of your ducks. I understand your mixed feelings, still I hope you'll see him around without having to give up your poultry for it.

You're right about the next feelings. If you can stay away from my birds will have a good relationship. LOL

That's awesome! We live next a reservoir and we have 2 resident Bald Eagles nesting close by. They are a sight to see. They will usually only nest within a few miles of a body of water, if one is close to you you may be seeing more of this guy.

Yeah we have Blues Lake that's probably only a couple of miles away as the crow flies. We also have a good amount of large creeks and streams running through the hills along with peoples stocked ponds.

Perfect hunting grounds for eagles!

We have a bald eagle nest about 2 miles from us on the river. We also have a Raptor Rehab person who was the first person to breed bald eagles in captivity and successfully release them or place them chicks in nests. So there are a lot of bald eagles in this area.

Cool to see one right on your homestead!

That's cool! There's not a lot of bald eagles in this area of North Carolina so it was a rare treat

Eagle or horned owls are the last things you want on a homestead unless they are snatching your foxes up. We have barred owls here and they are big enough to carry off out chickens. Really cool to see one though I always enjoy it but not something you want nesting near by especially if a female has babies since they have large appetites when nesting.