10 Spring Photos That Make You Want to Live on a Farm

in #homesteading6 years ago (edited)

Spring is a magnificent time of year, and I never knew just how beautiful it can be until I left southern California, where summer is endless, and lived on a farm where the seasons are ever changing.

"That it will never come again is what makes life sweet," wrote Emily Dickinson, and she's right. Life without death is just day after day of temperature controlled, florescent lit rooms with no windows. It's comfortable and sterile, and there's no meaning, no joy in it.

And what does joy look like? Feel like? Let me share with you a glimpse of spring on a 40 year old farm.

spring-santa-cruz-1.jpg

spring-santa-cruz-2.jpg

spring-santa-cruz-7.jpg

spring-santa-cruz-3.jpg

IRFD4766.jpg

spring-santa-cruz-13.jpg

spring-santa-cruz-5.jpg

spring-santa-cruz-17.jpg

spring-santa-cruz-18.jpg

spring-santa-cruz-16.jpg

spring-santa-cruz-15.jpg

On this farm, my senses awakened for the first time to the vividness of the world and I wondered what we were doing to ourselves, locking ourselves away from this beauty? Is it because we're afraid of death? Why else would we blind ourselves to life? And here, death is a part of everything, the key ingredient to humus, tilth, life.

So when I saw that I had a choice, a choice between a life full of comforts and certainty (though soon it became apparent to me those are only illusions) and a life of seasons - the slow fade of fall, the silent cold of winter, the effervescence of spring, the fruiting of summer (and that this is reality), I knew in my heart what choice I've already made.

As spring comes again this year I rejoice in that choice, made in consciousness from free will.

Sort:  

beautifull photography i like your work please don't forget to follow back and upovte my posts....

Thank you so much! I'll check out your blog :).

Your poetic words reverberate deeply. The seasons make for a true path of spiritual rediscovery.

Just sharing what's in my heart, and I'm happy that it touched yours. Yes, there's much to learn from nature!

Beautiful life, beautiful post. Thank you. Looking forward to reading more of your posts. Your photography truly captures what you are feeling in your heart. Lovely.

Thank you and I enjoyed reading your poem! Followed you back :).

Congratulations @idyllwild! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Upvote this notification to help all Steemit users. Learn why here!