Apocalyptic Homesteading (Day 667)

in #homesteading2 years ago

Hello Everyone!

Chiller weather, Grim determination, A windy day, Lucid navigation & The mighty shop vac hack!

When I first awoke there was quite the chill to the air and this time it was a good bit cooler than it has been the last few days and I am glad that I had a sweater handy. I was not exactly surprised by the cooler temperatures but stepping outdoors while in just a pair of shorts sure was a surprising affair to say the least.

The mood that I awoke in was darker than it has been lately but I think that a major portion of that was just residual emotions and thoughts from whatever I had been dreaming about because at this point it has mostly faded... along with the dreams. I say 'mostly' there because what remains is this kind of 'grimness' that can best be described as me being 'dead serious' and not in the mood for any horseshit!

Lately, such feelings of feeling rather 'grim' have been just below the surface for me and by and large they stem from me acknowledging the times that I find myself in and just how bleak the future is looking. I am unsure about other folks but after taking many a long, hard and sober look at the things going on in the world... my mind just cannot shake the notion that things are getting turbulent and the hardships to come will be felt in a widespread manner.

Usually I would say something like 'buckle up' but perhaps just avoiding getting in the vehicle to start with maybe even better advice! I guess that on the flip-side of that it could also be said that: If you are going to be cruising around in said 'vehicle' anyways... replacing the aforementioned vehicle's seat belt with a full-blown five-point safety harness might be in order!

As peculiar as the times are they demand a certain amount of lucidity to navigate and yeah my pragmatism has been getting borderline shrewd to the point of 'grim determination' becoming my primary modus operandi. Which is not all that bad of a thing... even if it is often a wee bit intense to navigate responsibly given all the uncertainties I am facing.

Okay, it is now slightly after sunset and I am a bit wiped out to be doing any writing but this entry seems entirely too short... so bear with me because this is yet again going to require some evening espresso. It will undoubtedly require a fair amount of willpower as well which thankfully I seem to have a nearly infinite well of these days.

This is the part where I usually zone out writing and forget to watch the espresso pot... which in turn not only gets overheated but also leaves the coffee itself a good bit on the burnt side of things. We will see if my tactic of writing about it reminds me to watch it or not... because having made way too many of such nightly beverages of late... I have forgotten it on the stove more often than not!

Today was a slightly wonky one because I spent much of it looking around at everything and trying to calculate just what kind of calories and time it would take to get everything dismantled, cleaned and packed away... or at least staged for moving. Lets just say that I gave up on the calculations, grew a bit overwhelmed by the task at hand and decided that... I have done it before and I will do it again one way or another.

One thing that I did finally do was use that drinking straw 'adapter' for my shop vac to clean out my computer really well. It is truly amazing how just a piece of tape and a finger's length of a straw can make cleaning the dust up so easy. Not to mention how thoroughly it works in tight spaces like the processor and graphic's card fans and heatsinks which yeah seem to be what need cleaning the most.

Anyway, I was hoping to have that fire outside today but the wind picked up early on and did not let up until it was almost my nap time. So instead... I gathered up more sticks from around the shelter site that got blown loose from all the wind and got them broken down and added to the steadily growing pile in the fire-pit.

Well, I am going to gloss over describing the other stuff that I did today but suffice it to say that by the end of it I was happy with the progress and feeling pretty confident that my morale will remain intact and my attitude unwaveringly pragmatic. I hope that everyone is doing well and has a nice day/night.

IMG_20220915_181945.jpg

These mushrooms are all really big but I have no idea what they are.

IMG_20220915_183257.jpg

Most of the cacti I transplanted now look like this!

IMG_20220915_183312.jpg

The few remaining cacti have rot similar to the one in this picture.

Thanks for reading!

woodbanner.png

Please check out the Homesteading Community:
https://peakd.com/c/hive-114308/created

Homesteading Resources:
https://peakd.com/hive-114308/@jacobpeacock/homesteading-resources

Want to join Hive?
Sign Up Via My Referral Below!
https://peakd.com/register?ref=jacobpeacock

hive-banner.png

That Is All For Now!

Cheers! & Hive On!