Holiday Home Tour

in #homesteading6 years ago

I've always been a bit of a procrastinator when it comes to decorating for Christmas. I love the decorations and the lights and seeing other peoples cozy homes all decked out for the holidays and have always thought about how wonderful it would be to do that with our own home!

But then that procrastination kicks in and before I know it, it's almost Christmas and well... At that point it really doesn't matter anymore lol.

This year was different though. I'm not sure exactly what did it. Perhaps it's the (much needed) cooler weather we have been getting that has really kicked my tail into high gear? Either way, I am embracing my holiday creativity and have been adding little touches here and there to our little farm house.

KMP_6552.jpg

KMP_6555.jpg

I love bringing in some natural elements from outside so for me, clippings of cedar, camellia, magnolia and holly were part of our Christmas decor this year.

We also saved the branches that were cut off the bottom of our tree and used those in smaller vases (a.k.a Mason Jars).

KMP_6564.jpg

We finally have enough ornaments for the tree that we no longer have to go and buy a "cheap" pack of plastic ornaments (haha!). One of our traditions is to go out every year and each of us pick out an ornament...

2017-12-06_0001.jpg

This year's ornaments include: Jack from Nightmare before Christmas (picked by my 4yr old), a felt Eagle (picked by J), An owl (picked by the husband) and a Scandinavian Santa picked by yours truly.

Then we have the [trinket] shelves. I have slowly been collecting vintage santa cups. I had another old cup but it broke a couple of years back. I try to stick with finding them locally at antique and thrift stores but as you can see... It's been a slow going process.

KMP_6559.jpg

For the kitchen and the dining room, I like to keep things more simple. Small wreaths with rustic ornaments, garland with white lights and vases filled with cedar, camellia, holly and magnolia is what makes up for the Christmas/Holiday decor in these rooms.

KMP_6579.jpg

KMP_6604.jpg

KMP_6578.jpg

And last but not least is the hallway. This year I decided to hang small wreaths on all the doors and the little tree I was initially going to throw out because one of the legs broke so it wouldn't stand on it's own. Seeing as how it still worked (the lights) and it was the "kid tree" from last year, I grabbed one of the boxes my husband made a few years ago, put the tree in it (which fit perfectly snug) and then a big glass canister/vase which I filled with old plastic ornaments from years past.

KMP_6598.jpg

KMP_6601.jpg

We don't normally decorate the bedrooms since we spend more time in the living room and kitchen. The bathroom doesn't get much decorating other than another vase of fresh winter greenery. Next year we might get a small tree for both of the kid's rooms and let them decorate their own little trees.

The outside also does not get much decorating other than a simple wreath (with red bow) on the door, candle lights in the windows. We did hang up some white lights on the barn porch and also put some candle lights in the barn windows. And because I am a crazy chicken lady....

IMG_2878.JPG

Yes. I totally decked out the chicken coop. I couldn't help myself. We had an extra strand of lights and I figured the girls couldn't be left out so the hen house got a bit of Holiday flare... I think they dig it! :)

That's it for the Holiday Home Tour. I hope you enjoyed the small, virtual walk through of our little farmhouse! Until next time folks! <3

Sort:  

I LOVE the chicken coop! Hey, everyone (chicken) needs to have some holiday spirit, right?

Beautiful home tour!

Thank you and yes, I couldn't agree more :)