You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: My Thoughts - The Second Amendment, NRA and Guns in Schools

I respect your opinion and thanks for posting it here. However, I believe that the reason homeschooling is growing exponentially is because of the very things you think we don't need in schools. Parents disagree and thankfully they have the freedom to pull their kids out. You have tens of thousands of teachers who are veterans and every service member is trained on personal weapons in at least basic training. Give veteran teachers the OPTION to arm themselves if they feel they want to do so.

Sort:  

I'm not opposed to a voluntary carry by teachers if they're qualified to do so. The catch is, they need to be qualified. I've dealt with too many teachers who weren't qualified to teach, who got flustered if a student didn't simply bow down and obey. My sons had teachers that I would have to grade their responses and send it back, because the school district couldn't afford qualified teachers. There's no way I would trust them with a live weapon around my children. Not unless they passed training and qualification, and even then I'd be skeptical based on their actions elsewhere. But, if a teacher volunteers to carry a weapon and is qualified they should have that option. My opposition is in funding the mandatory arming of all teachers regardless of what they want.

I'm also not opposed to home schooling, and the above is part of the reason I pulled my sons out of school to teach them at home. Unfortunately, I've also seen many home school families who focus on their version of religion and ignoring any real education. One family who lived close to me just let their son run loose all day because they didn't want to bother with the expense of education. Just like any other system, there are those who use it properly and those who don't.

Thank you for giving me the opportunity to have a real discussion about this. It's difficult to do so in most forums because so many tend to simply attack those who don't agree with them. It's refreshing to see civility isn't a lost art.