Four Season Quick Guide for Edible and Medicinal Plants

With Spring at our doorsteps I thought would share this guide that me and my wife put together. I usually teach a couple edible/medicinal plant workshops each year and I use this has a handout when I do. Feel free to copy these to use how ever you wish, and If you would like I can send you the original Word document so yo can edit them as you please.

There is a wealth of plant resources out there that can go a long way to meet our food and medicine needs. This guide is basic and fairly general, but should be more than adequate to help you locate any of the species listed. As always I must offer a word of caution, as many plants exist than are harmful, and even plants that are safe to consume can be harmful if not used properly. It's also important to note that this guide is specific to the eastern U.S. and won't serve much purpose outside of this region.

Get out in the field and explore the plant options around your home, you may be surprised by the abundance that awaits.

pgp1.jpeg

gp2.jpeg

gp3.jpeg

gp4.jpeg

Sort:  

Never found any black cohosh around me, but I know a place where blue Cohosh is abundant. I can think of a few more to add to this, and I'm sure you can too!

I've found more Blue Cohosh down here in Letcher and Knott than anywhere. I think It might like the higher elevations. There is so much more that could have been listed. People I talk too are often amazed at how many useful plants there are.