THE TRUTH ABOUT WOOD BURNING STOVES

in #homesteading7 years ago (edited)

As we all know it is becoming that time of year. That time of the year that we start thinking about turning on the heat. Sadly it seems that every year the cost to heat our home goes up! For some people this is cost is so high that they have to make a choice. Do they risk not being able to pay their electric bill because they want to be warm, or do they turn the heat on just enough to keep the pipes from freezing? Now I don’t know about you but that doesn’t seem like a choice at all.

I have seen that there are a lot of people making the switch to wood burning stoves. I have to admit that we just love our wood burning stove! They are a wonderful source of heat. As long as you get a stove that is rated to heat the size house that you want to heat. Some people do mess up and get a stove that is to small and then want to complain that it does not work. But I will say if you get the right size you will be happy with it.

But I have to wonder if the people that do have wood burning stoves are they using them to their full potential. Do they only use them to heat up their house? The truth about wood burning stoves NOT WOOD COOK STOVES but just plain old wood burning stoves like the one you see here.
209af642-59af-474b-84d9-8fb74ee71576_1000.jpg
They can be used for so much more! The wood burning stove that you have seen is the same model we have. We have found out by trial and error that there are so many things you can do with them. This is great news if you are looking for another way to cook and bake if you don’t have electricity or propane. Because as you know their may come a time to were we may not have a way to get ether of them.

My hope is that you will watch the video below. In the video it shows just one way you can use your wood burning stove other than heating up your house. In this video my wife will show you how she makes her homemade bread and then bakes it in the stove! I hope that you enjoy it!

Sort:  

Clever! I'll bet it smelled amazing as it was baking, too. Fresh, homemade - nothin' better!

Most interesting. I have a wood stove but have never tried baking bread in it - will definitely give it a go when we have the stove on over the winter.

One small point, would you be able to able to repeat the ingredients list, and brief instructions, in the post text as well as the video please. It is easier to refer back to then.

I actually stumbled across your video on YouTube a few days ago while searching about wood stoves. I think I was looking for DIY Heat Exchangers for a fireplace. But I watched it and is nice to consider using the wood stove for other means, instead of just heating. If member serves me correctly there is also a way to get hot water without electricity using copper pipe and an old water heater...closed loop system. I have a fireplace in the house but a woodstove in my shop. I think I would only be making soups or stews in small batches if I am down in the shop.
Thanks for sharing!

Kenny
Pfeiler Family Farm

Following you!