FINALLY – BACK AT HOME!!! – Part 1

in #homesteading7 years ago

It was a long 13 days!


Often, depending on what your life consists of, it can be hard to take a break from your life. I really didn’t want to leave for almost two weeks, but we had a great reason too, so progressing on the homestead could wait.

Besides the work on the house site, driveway, and the spot for our shipping container that would have to wait, we had to leave our animals behind too. With brand new baby chicks, young piglets, and another sow almost ready to give birth, it was hard not to be here. Some friends were looking after the animals though, so they were in good hands.

Thankfully we made it home safe last night. The first spot to check was the pigs and buck rabbits down on the land.

HOME AT LAST – HOW ARE THE PIGS?

PHOTO RECAP

All five of our buck rabbits down on the land were still doing great in their new rabbit tractor. We wanted to provide them with a way to have constant access to fresh grasses and such, so I was working on a prototype rabbit tractor before we left for Wisconsin. Thankfully, it looks like it did the job!


Our boar and sow that we had together were still alive and well. At some point this one will probably get pregnant too. We had picked up three STEEM-powered pigs before @smailer bought us another one, so we have three large females and a large male. So far, the make has definitely impregnated two of the females.


Our pregnant sow was still pregnant. She looks so large, I am guessing that any day now we should have more piglets. We will be keeping an extra close eye on her. I actually thought that she might give birth while we were gone, but thankfully she has not yet.


Our wonderful sow that @smailer bought us still had all nine of her little piglets. I credit @mobile-joat for the success on that, as he gave me some great advice the day before we left, and I worked hard to follow it prior to leaving to make sure that they would be taken care of while we were gone. It was so great to see them all alive and well!

Stay tuned for Part 2 when I check on the rest of our animals at another location.


10 SBD CONTEST

Also, speaking of being back at home... I made four posts yesterday, all from different states. I tried to run a small contest for anyone who could name all four of the states that I posted from yesterday in order, but no one won yet. One user did get all the states, but no one has replied with the correct order yet, so I cannot award 10 SBD to a winner yet. If you would like to be the one to win, follow this link and try to reply with the correct four states in the right order.

As always, I'm @papa-pepper and here's the proof:


proof-of-pigs-safe-at-home



Until next time…

Don’t waste your time online, invest it with steemit.com


TO TRANSLATE POSTS VIA OPERATION TRANSLATION CLICK HERE

Sort:  

A great supply of ham and bacon is always welcome.

We sure don't mind it!

Pigs and bunnies look great. Glad you made it back safe @papa-pepper.

Nice to see you had a fun safe trip! Enjoy being home with all those cute little piglets!

It is great to be back!

Glad to read all the animals were OK on your return, trips away are often a good time but even if they are great its a nice feeling getting back home

Wow , home sweet home !!! great that you all arrived safely and the animals are doing great. Thanks for the update


Upboat is a friendly half-human, half-robot which hopes to help promote the better posts of Steemit by trying to ensure they get the recognition they deserve.
@UPBOAT looks for numerous signals before deciding on who to UPBOAT and is likely to summon our robot friends to share some robot love with you to show affection.


I'VE BEEN AT SEA FOR 4 DAYS AND HAVE GIVEN 241 UPBOATS! PLEASE HELP @UPBOAT STAY AFLOAT ON THE STEEMIAN SEAS BY DELEGATING SPARE SP OR PATCH WATER LEAKS BY UPBOATING.

great post! and i saw your steem chain on another post from you, nice!!!

Yeah, that was my Christmas gift to myself.

Nice papa pepper welcome back home!!!

Nice dear friend :)

Good to see the little piglets all safe and sound!

I know! We were very pleased with that!

Welcome Home ! ^_^
bonne journee.png

So many lil piggies <3

And more to come very soon!

Wisconsin, Illinois, Missouri, Arkansas

Right states, right order, but I already had a winner on the post I linked.

I'll try to get working on your questions later. Thanks!

Guess i was a bit too slow, need to learn how to use a keyboard, haha. Looking forward to your responses

A right answer is still good for something! Thanks for trying!

This post has received a 3.13 % upvote from @drotto thanks to: @upboat.

Every day I learn something new about you @papa-pepper. I didn't know you had a farm of animals. I knew you had a passion for the wild but you're on a whole mother level with it. That's awesome man and I'm glad you had a safe travel back to the house. I'm sure the trip was adventurous knowing you and every chance you got to be with nature I'm sure you did. Thanks for another awesome experience as I start my day reading you most current post. Thanks.

#circleoffriends

Cool man. Yeah, we got a lot of animals already and more to come. Working on a lot right now and moving forward.

Thanks for your encouragement!

Nice post buddy

glad to see you made it back home, I am going on a long trip in a week, a 2 week Alaska cruise, so I will be in the same place as you, but even worst as I am not sure what kind of internet connection I will have out at sea. Keep your work flowing, my friend, I always look for your post

Yeah, where we were I had some of the best internet connection I've ever experienced... not sure how you'll do though.

We can always hope, but first off to Philadelphia to see my son graduate from boot camp.

Welcome home, how do you keep everything going while you are gone? Plants watered, animals fed etc.

Friends and neighbors. We take turns leaving and watching animals.

Nothing like the feeling of being back home! Glad you had a safe and good time. Enjoy your day🐰

Thanks. Enjoy your too!

Papa-pepper you've done it again! Your photos make me wish I was there, but in a way you've invited us all in. Love the rabbits and pigs. My daughter has a house rabbit called Elvis and he's adorable. Suburban living. we once had a cottage and a huge garden but had to give it up and now live in suburbia. Fortunately near the Thames so a very different lifestyle from yours. However my husband (an American born artist/chef) used to have a smallholding and some of what you had. That was before me. I just enjoy your stories.

Cool. I am glad that I get to take you with on my posts!

Every trip I hope. Thanks again

Great to see that you are back and that all is fine my friend! It seems like the piglet who was hurt is alright now!

Yes it is. I think that we will do an update on it tomorrow.

That's great to hear, well i've just noticed the post on it, i will check it soon!

I'm always digging your posts brotha ! those baby pigs are insanely cute:) my mom always had a thing for piglets and always tested my dad that she was gonna bring home a baby pig.. he never thought that was very funny haha. that must be so awesome to live somewhere full of beautiful wild life like that. m so used to the city life that I never had too much of that. I actually made a funny video called "adopt a fur" a few years back about saving the animals for PETA and I posted it this morning lol pretty ridiculous but if anyone would appreciate it , it might be you lol https://steemit.com/animals/@stevenalexander/save-the-animals-upvote-and-resteem-if-you-care-peta-approved-video

I see those pigs so cute
I see your awesome mood
I see the paradise you build
I see you getting very skilled
at life, each and every day
thank you so much for sharing your way
to freedom and happiness
I am very impressed :)

Look like all is well at and producing well in you absence :)

All I can think of is all that yummy bacon you are gonna have. Good to hear you made it back home. It is also good to hear all the fur and not so furry animals are doing good. But I keep going back to the bacon....

There's no place like home. Welcome back :) and glad you had a nice trip...

give me some tips to get more followers :)
upvote you sir

You guys are about to have a whole lot of pigs! OH MY! Glad you had safe travels.

Welcome home. Glad you all made is safely back and things were all in order when you got home.

It looks like you all had an awesome holiday :-)

Darn, the sugar I put in your gas tank didn't work ! Oh well guess I 'll have to wait tell christmas to see you again. Glad all was well when you got there! Take care bro!

This post has been ranked within the top 10 most undervalued posts in the second half of Aug 30. We estimate that this post is undervalued by $72.38 as compared to a scenario in which every voter had an equal say.

See the full rankings and details in The Daily Tribune: Aug 30 - Part II. You can also read about some of our methodology, data analysis and technical details in our initial post.

If you are the author and would prefer not to receive these comments, simply reply "Stop" to this comment.

Congratulations @papa-pepper!
Your post was mentioned in the hit parade in the following category:

  • Upvotes - Ranked 10 with 418 upvotes

Aww, home sweet home. Bet the critters were happy to see ya back. Resteeming and headed over to check out you trip posts.!

My Carolina Reepers

IMG_20170825_080902.jpg