PLANTS ON THE HOMESTEAD - AMERICAN BEAUTYBERRY

in #homesteading7 years ago

This is the second post in a new series, in which @papa-pepper will share about different plants that they plan on growing on the homestead, and why.


Our second featured plant is the American Beautyberry (Calllicarpa americana), and it is a really interesting plant.

AMERICAN BEAUTYBERRRY VIDEO

BACKGROUND

When I first heard about the American Beautyberry, I was looking through some plants to order for our homestead. I wanted to get some native species to plant on our property that would at least have a purpose, such as producing food.

At the time I ordered 100 of these, I had never seen them in person yet or even tried them. However, since I heard that they were edible and had other uses, that was enough for me.

PLANT INFO

The American Beautyberry is a wild shrub native to the southeastern United States. The plant shoots forth from a center root system and the branches can grow about eight feet long. It is covered with beautiful green leaves and eventually produces an incredible purple berry, with grows in clusters along the branches.


GROWING CONDITIONS

While American Beautyberry plants can exist in a variety of conditions, they thrive out in the open with partial shade. I have seen some incredible ones in fields since I first was introduced to the species. Since animals like deer and birds use the berries as a food source, their seeds can be distributed all over the place.

They can be found growing natively not only in the southeastern United States, but also on some Caribbean Islands and down into Mexico as well. Since they can be a popular ornamental shrub, they have been grown far beyond their native areas, and they do well in a wide variety of soil types.

NUTRITIONAL VALUE

The American Beautyberry is known to contain nutrients like Calcium and Magnesium. It is also a crude protein. It is suggested that this plant should only be eaten in small quantities until you know how you will react to it. It is mildly astringent and can cause stomach cramps or other ailments.

One of the most common food uses for the American Beautyberry is to use it to make a jam or spread. We have not tried this yet, but we plan on trying it in the future.

OTHER USES

As an herbal remedy, this plant is amazing. My favorite use is that the leaves can be used as a mosquito repellent. Pioneers would even use the leaves to rid their animals of various biting insects. One particular compound found in this plant is as effective as DEET for scaring away mosquitos.

Tea can be made from the berries or roots and has been used to treat things like colic and dysentery. The leaves have also been used to treat dropsy.

PROPAGATION

The traditional, natural way of propagating this plant is by planting the seeds that are contained inside the berries. When wild animals eat the berries, they spread them all over the place in their droppings. Collecting and planting the seeds is therefore a proven method for starting new plants.

Additionally, softwood stem cuttings can be rooted with proper effort and care. Once the softwood cuttings are taken, the bottom leaves can be removed and a rooting hormone can be applied. Like so any other plants, you can get a whole new bush just by taking a cutting off of one stem. I think that the layering method would also work well with the American Beautyberry, but I have not tried it yet.

CLOSING THOUGHTS

To be blessed with the stewardship over a portion of the earth is an incredible opportunity. Among our main goals is growing food, and we’ll keep experimenting with various plants.

The American Beautyberry will of course look amazing on our land, but have not only another potential food source but also free, natural insect repellent will be incredible!


All photos, video, and writing are original, but some research was done at the following websites: Source 1, Source 2, Source 3, Source 4.


IN CASE YOU MISSED IT, HERE IS THE PREVIOUS VIDEO FROM THIS SERIES

As always, I'm @papa-pepper and here's the proof:


proof-of-american-beautyberry



Until next time…

Don’t waste your time online, invest it with steemit.com


GIF provided by @malos10


TO TRANSLATE POSTS VIA OPERATION TRANSLATION CLICK HERE

Sort:  

I just LOVE the beautyberry aka Callicarpa!!! Thank you for highlighting it!

And, if you don't mind I'll just add that this shrub can be cut down every year- late winter and very early spring to like 6 or 8 inches above the ground. It will send out very healthy new stems, and in the fall, the purple berry display will be even more spectacular!!!

Cool, thanks!

Great colour , are they suitable for making blueberry muffins. Cheers

I think that you could use them in muffins!

I love how plants differ around the world. Here in the UK, for example, I've never heard of the term American beautyberry, but definitely callicarpa as it's sold in nurseries as an ornamental plant - of which I have one!

Cool post. :D

Thanks mate! Callicarpa for sure! So cool you have one! What all do you do with yours?

We literally use them for ornamental plants in flower beds etc. I never knew the nutritional values of them at all; it's something that's not even considered here!

that's a awesome looking berry,i say the jelly taste awesome.

what a beauty! very much!

nice information

Most wonderful berries and very beautiful leaves and berry cluster look like flower are looking very nice

The berries do look so beautiful! We really like them!

Never heard of this bush before but sounds like a good addition to any homestead.

Regarding insect repellant, I've thought of growing citronella but need to research more.

Very vital info. I wish we could see some of this in my country. Thanks @papa-pepper

Good information,
Success to @papa-pepper from @syehlah.

I've never heard of it and don't know that I've seen it. Interesting! Thank you for sharing.
@originalworks

The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post by @papa-pepper to be original material and upvoted it!

ezgif.com-resize.gif

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!

To enter this post into the daily RESTEEM contest, upvote this comment! The user with the most upvotes on their @OriginalWorks comment will win!

For more information, Click Here!
Special thanks to @reggaemuffin for being a supporter! Vote him as a witness to help make Steemit a better place!

Hello @papa-pepper, wonderful and beautiful stuff you shared, gave complete details about Homestead Plant "AMERICAN BEAUTYBERRY". very impressive and informative. thanks a lot.

very nice post kawan ,,,, I really like it.

Looks like grapes :)

They are in some cute little clusters! And purple!

nice article you have..keep up the good work buddy..

God bless you always..

i have my article to share with you..hoping for your kind and lovely support,please visit my page-untalented post

have a great day ^_^

very good information @papa-pepper
and the post is very nice.👍

Living the dream man. Question ... what is your water source?

It'll be a well. Plus we hope to have some ponds and whatever rain we can collect.

Ponds sound beautiful.

How do you handle water filtration?

Hi steemit friends
Follow me @classypalani
Like me ah post friends upvoters

Never heard of these. Amazing that you can spend your whole life in a country and still not remotely come close to discovering everything it has to offer.

I agree! We are finding new things all the time!

Ive seen this or something like it in peoples gardens here in the UK , but didnt know you could eat it. Great info

Do beautyberries grow in the desert?

Not sure, but you could try. Want some seeds and a few cuttings?

Wow thanks so much!! I love what your doing. Keep up the hard work. God Bless

This really shows the beauty of our envronment. Many of these plants have medicinal and nutritious value. I have not tasted beauty berry before however it looks yummy. Thanks for sharing and I cited you on my latest post about the true meaning of freedom-feel free to see it. I wish you a blessed week.

The color is really vivid! I’d be curious to see how jelly comes out and see how the process sweetens it up.

We just planted one of these this year! I can't wait to see how it fairs the winter and sends up new shoots in the spring. Do you know how many years it takes for them to start to put out fruit?

Ours did in two years.

That's encouraging! I'm excited.

Always Cool! Papaaaa...

It is really a beautiful berry, hence the name! It is my first time seeing it. Too bad it is not pretty for the stomach.

They're edible.

It is suggested that this plant should only be eaten in small quantities until you know how you will react to it. It is mildly astringent and can cause stomach cramps or other ailments.

Well, you can't eat as much as you want.

I have seen this plant on my land before. I didn't know what it was so I have left it be. Now, I'm intrigued and want to propagate it. Having a food forest to pass on to my children is a goal of mine. It's always a great day when I can add one more thing to my foraging list.

This is the first time I see some like that, they are very pretty

Great Info & Post!
Thanks for sharing & Steem On :)

Hey, @papa-pepper! I have never seen these berries before. They look really interesting for eating and medicinal purposes. I assume that they can be used just like other fruits in cooking besides jam...

New One By Me!
sun divider.png
They look great with the colorful berries and I love the idea of a natural mosquito repellent always available right where you need it! Thank you @papa-pepper!

These plants are not quite seen in this part of world where live. But I know, one day I'll have the opportunity to see them firsthand

@papa-pepper, do you have an aerial view of your land to see your homestead setup? Perhaps you could attach a GoPro to one of your trained hawks to get a new view for your fans.

Do you know if this is toxic to cats who groom themselves?

No I do not!

Ok, thank you!

Never thought about that question before.

There's several plant oils that will kill cats if rubbed on their bodies. Eucalyptus and lavender are two off the top of my head.

Why do you want to kill cats?

Nooooooooo!

Lol, I operate a rescue home for the severely abused and burned. I'd love to find a chemical free flea control/preventative.

I'm the one that saves their lives ;)

https://steemit.com/animals/@arbitrarykitten/what-is-a-rescue-home

https://steemit.com/howto/@arbitrarykitten/how-to-help-orphaned-kittens-pee-and-poop

They sure are pretty. There is a lot of things that can be foraged. My Dad taught me. And his Dad taught him.

That is beautiful to have generation after generation passing down the knowledge!

Isn't that what you are tring to do with your children? I tried pass down some of what I learned here on steemit. Just hoping it might help someone someday.

Best Shared... I share fun videos every day. Please follow me and like to my videos?

Your post is very detailed, neat, and nice to understand when in read. I'm a steemit user who wrote a lot about the Integrated Farming Program from the Clinical Training Agro Politan Indonesia. And I have also done poultry business behind my house. I really aspire like you, because you can directly apply your work as you need, because with the property property you have. But I have not been there yet. and still very hampered in applying the science that I tekuni. And I also really need guidance from you, in homsteading. good luck always for you @ papa-pepper. I like you. Thanks ...