PROGRESS ON THE DRIVEWAY & LEARNING TO DRIVE A SKID-STEER

in #homesteading7 years ago

This felt good to see!


If you've already seen me grinding stumps and scraping the driveway area then you know that I have not only been working hard, but also using some pretty heavy duty equipment.

All of this is pretty much a learning experience for me, because I never had to do anything like this before. Thankfully, I am a quick learner.

THE FIRST LOAD SHOWS UP!

Yesterday, I was supposed to start getting some road base for my driveway. Well, the driver forgot his phone so I never got that phone call warning me that he was coming. One of my neighbors tipped me off, and I raced down to the land to find him waiting for me. I was amazed at how easy he made it look.

When I discussed with him about making a level part off to the side to set a 40 foot shipping container on, he had a better idea. Rather than spending twice as much on this material, he could get me loads of the creek bed rock for half as much. Also, he complimented me and mentioned how nice is was dealing with @bluerthangreen, @jaguar-life, and @papa-pepper, since we all live next door to one another and are all getting some material from him. I share more about that in this video.

THE FIRST LOAD OF ROAD BASE - PROGRESSION ON THE DRIVEWAY

PAPA LEARNS TO DRIVE A SKID-STEER

Before too long he was back with the first load. Now, I had to spread it out, as two more loads were coming. Thankfully, @bluerthangreen had a skid-steer, but I had never driven one. Soon, I got a "crash course" and was hard at work (without actually crashing.

After spending some years working in warehouses on lift trucks (forklifts) I has some basic understanding of the general idea, but there sure are some differences as well. I got the hang of it and went to work. I did drive it on top of the pile once and bottomed out, which got the skid-steer stuck, but one phone call to @mobile-joat was enough for me to get the know-how to free myself. Here is a short video of me using it.

PAPA ON A SKID-STEER

AND SO THE RANDOMNESS OF MY LIFE CONTINUES

Before too long the man was back with the next load, and the load after that. Thankfully, I was able to keep up even with the bottoming out incident. Not only does it feel good to see this progress happening, it is also rewarding to be able to learn so many skills to do so much of the work myself. Having friends like @bluerthangreen who will lend me their equipment helps too. Thanks man!

I've got a ton to do today in preparation for taking off at 2 am in the morning to drive up to Wisconsin, so I will be a little less active in replying to comments and such, but I will try to catch up later.

As always, I'm @papa-pepper and here's the proof:


proof-of-road-base



Until next time…

Don’t waste your time online, invest it with steemit.com


TO TRANSLATE POSTS VIA OPERATION TRANSLATION CLICK HERE

Sort:  

Lot of work you have. Good to see you enjoying it. I used to have similar property until we recently downsized. We went from six acres to no acres. Big change. Still getting used to it.

Resteemed & upvoted! This is real life ...hard work...homestead ain't always pretty. Mostly its sweaty dirty work. We are needing to do some of that kinda work around our homestead as well. We've got lots of tree stumps to get rid of and ground that needs leveling. Get-r-done! Have a blessed day!

Sharing to show just how steemit is building his place from ground up! Way to go @papa-pepper on learning it all to achieve your dreams! Whats next on the agenda?

Yeah, buddy! Looks like fun!

It is fun too. Hard, sweaty work, but a lot of fun!

hahaha im lovin

Thanks @papa-pepper for posting a GREEN article. Living closer to nature is no doubt a blessing and this opportunity is not for all. Keep posting.

Now you can add heavy equipment operator to your already lengthy resume! Nice work as always @papa-pepper!

A "jack of all" my friend! Gaining skills on the daily!

Proof of road base! LOL
You seem to have figured that thing out pretty fast. You need to to name that drive. "Papa-Pepper Lane"

It is going down pretty quick. It'll be hard to take this break while I am in Wisconsin, but I could use the change of pace.

WoW... Papa, You are amazing AND Yes, You are getting a "ton" of work done... (( Pun intended ))

And then when You mentioned after today's work, You need to prepare for a Thursday 2am morning "drive" up to Wisconsin... I'm beginning to feel lazy compared to You.

Your road looks Good and the idea that the Truck Driver gave to save You money was a cost-effective idea. Things are really progressing quite nicely...

Well Done Papa !!

Cheers !!

It is encouraging to see, that is for sure!

The next step is SKID-STEER fight !!!!

Wah cool other than brave the same venomous animals, papa can also drive a container. I always like post papa, I hope papa if there is time to visit my blog. I am from the Indonesian community

My in-laws have a large "farm" (10+ acres I believe) and they built a house on a set-back portion of the property. They had to get stone and rock brought in for their driveway, similar to yours.

And they own a skidsteer (since they did most of the work of clearing their property themselves). It's such a fun and handy piece of equipment to own on a large piece of property!

Best of luck with getting your driveway completed!

You looked pretty comfortable atop the Skid-Steer! You have so many projects you are always doing! There is never a dull moment at the pepper household!

No there isn't. I'm up to my neck in EVERYTHING!

Sounds like you need some helpers!! little peppers where ya at? Back at school?

For someone who is homesteading, a used skid-steer might be a wise investment. (Or share the maintenance cost with your neighbour). You can rent the attachments for later projects : auger, excavator, screen (seperate rock from soil), tines (lifting up round hay bales), and the list goes on.

The other thing they are quite often used for is a substitute for scaffolding when you need to stand somewhere about 8 feet up and have a platform for some tools, yourself and some supplies. Just raise the bucket and get in.

It is super useful! Great advice.

I know a few families that use a skidsteer for all kinds of amazing uses. One of them was to do most of the excavation of our addition basement in our back yard. We couldn't get bigger equipment through the space necessary. But one of my favorites is the scaffolding substitute. The chainsaw attachment can be fantastic too.

That was one massive project, well done, must be a great sight, enjoy the new driveway!

You are making great progress. Nice to see when some things planned come together and work out better than originally planned. And you are definitely getting your sweats worth out of that job. Have a safe trip. :)

Nice article upvoted and resteemed your post

I learned to drive a skid steer when I was 12. My parents ran a livestock auction for several years and I was "hired" to clean the pens and alleys after the weekly sales. Most kids would probably hate to spend their Saturdays shovelling manure, but I have to admit that driving the skid steer was a lot of fun, especially once I mastered how to navigate it in and out of the smaller pens! It is very rewarding to learn a new skill and to take pride in a job well done.

Nice work on the driveway must feel great to be building something so vital for you and your family.

I'm relatively new here and just discovered you yesterday on YouTube and this bizarre thing happened to your video while I was watching, which I recorded. Makes you wonder whats going on with YouTube!? Keep up the great work - you have a newly minted follower!
https://steemit.com/papa-pepper/@otage/papa-pepper-bitcoin-glitch-on-youtube

Exciting indeed! This is really starting to take shape now huh?

And you get to play with some big toys!!

@happy-pepper :-)

It's great to see the progress you are making. The shipping container is a great Idea for storage .

Looks like its all coming together nicely brother ! Can't wait tell it is done and I can come see it!

hahaha I love driving powerful machines!
They can be quite dangerous and of course require great responsibility but they can accomplish so much in such a short time in comparison to our little bodies!
I am sure you are competent and responsible enough to handle it!
Progress ON!

I am looking forward to starting ours, and loving seeing your progress. Have safe travels to Wisconsin. Going up to see @grandpa-pepper? I am sure he is going to enjoy seeing you. I hope all the @little-peppers get to go too.

This post has been ranked within the top 50 most undervalued posts in the second half of Aug 16. We estimate that this post is undervalued by $27.45 as compared to a scenario in which every voter had an equal say.

See the full rankings and details in The Daily Tribune: Aug 16 - Part II. You can also read about some of our methodology, data analysis and technical details in our initial post.

If you are the author and would prefer not to receive these comments, simply reply "Stop" to this comment.

That looks beautiful! What a big improvement - and driving a skidsteer is fun even if it's hot sweaty work. That's the machine it's easiest to learn how to drive when you're a kid, too (well, next to the lawn mower/tractor mower, anyway). Next thing you know, the little peppers will be doing this kind of job for you.

Good stuff @papa-pepper I try to follow all the fellow homesteaders and preppers. I just found out about you. I have some catching up on your exploits.

Running a skid steerer is fairly easy, just keep it floored and at the end of the day, you feel like you're pissing razor blades.

You referenced @jaguar-life is this a typo? Be well.