You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: I've lost all my plums!

in #homesteading5 years ago

So sorry to hear about the loss of your plum trees!
I know the struggles of trying to grow fruit trees in a cold climate.
I am in zone 2 and I have long gave up on trying to push the envelop when it comes to fruit trees for they can be good for a number of years then you get a real cold year and that's it, they're gone.
The good news is I have collected a number of very hardy fruit trees and one of them is a plum tree that grows on it's own root, very hardy (except it's sometimes hard to get the fruit to ripen on the tree before the frosts (they do ripen in a box though)
These trees came from some suckers we had dug out of my husband's dad's friend's yard and they have matured and are producing suckers themselves now.
I'd be happy to send you one in the spring. Just DM on Discord.
This plum tree has a sweet, red plum about 1 inch or so in size and fruits abundantly. The tree is a nice shape and the blossoms smell oh so sweet!
plum blooms with pollinator.jpg

Sort:  

That is so generous of you @porters, thank you. That is great you have had some success with the ones you have now discovered. And the plum doesn't need two to cross-pollinate?

I know, we shouldn't try to push the envelope, but I figure 25 years for the plum was pretty darned good for up here. Sometimes we are successful for a while, sometimes we are not. C'est la vie!

I decided to replace them with apple trees this past spring, despite the fact my three previous apple trees have not survived more than a couple years, lol. My husband has banned me from buying any more if these one don't survive, lol!

I look forward to my husband's retirement, as long as we can sell our house, we shall be moving to a warmer climate (which I never thought would ever happen) and I hope to have better success with our harvests.

Glad to have you back from your Christmas vacation, I hope you had a wonderful and relaxing time.

Thanks for taking the time to stop in and comment :)

We had planted a number of these suckers plus we had other varieties around but where it was originally there was no other plums around.
I could send you two.
My plums do better than my apples as far as the trees surviving. I do have a Parkland that has done very well and has produced for many years.

Where abouts are you thinking of retiring too? And how long do you have to wait?

Hope you had a marvelous Christmas too and a wonderful New Year!

That is awesome to know there is a strain that doesn't need others around... I will keep it in mind for the future, right now with adding the apples, I don't have the room to add any... but we shall see... and I thank you for offering.

We have decided we want to move to BC and take advantage of the warmer climate.
We have four years till hubs retires, best case scenario would be three, but that is hopeful to say the least.

We had a lovely quiet Christmas, just the way I like it. Thank you for asking!

Happy New Year to you too :)