I've lost all my plums!

in #homesteading5 years ago
photo © Heather Johnsgaard

According to the plant hardiness zones, the zone I live in falls within a range of 1a - 3a depending upon which zone map you follow.

Do you know how cold that is?

It is not uncommon for our winters to dip to -35oC (-31oF) before the windchill. Keeping a greenhouse going over the winter is just not cost effective, and there is no pleasure in gardening in that cold, so I don't!

We shouldn't normally plant in the ground until June, and harvest should be out by September. Calculate that and you have a growing season of a grand total of just over three months.

Pretty darned cold, and a short growing season to boot!

It's the climatic conditions which determines what you will be able to grow in your area. Something every homesteader must adhere too if they want to achieve success in growing.

Even taking into consideration micro-climates, it doesn’t leave much hope for growing a diverse variety of fruits, vegetables and plants here.

Sadly, I’ve lost so many fruit trees over the twenty plus years we have lived here… nevertheless, my motto:

photo © Heather Johnsgaard

Never give up without a fight!


...and so, I continue to try.

But let me talk about my plum trees.

I had two. One of which had been here before we moved in; it was well over 25 years old. The other I had planted within the last ten years, I can't really remember exactly.

They each took their turns bearing fruit every other year. It was rare for them to ever bear an extensive amount, but once in a while we could enjoy a handful or two of tiny sweet delicious fruit each year.

Plums, so tiny, so simple, so pretty. They ranged in size from three quarters of an inch to one and a half inches. And they were oh so sweet!

Sadly, our harsh winters and a couple of early winter storms have taken their toll and I finally had to break down and turn them into firewood this past year. That just breaks my heart!

On the bright side, from the last bountiful harvest, I was able to make plum compote, of which I still have several jars in the freezer to enjoy on biscuits with tea…. Yum!

Plum Compote: plums, lemon juice, and sugar


photo © Heather Johnsgaard

The recipe indicates to cut plums and remove the pits, total hogwash, I threw them all in the pot, skins, pits and all.

My sister, a whiz at making jam and compotes, suggested I cook them whole and once cooked I could just pick out the pits and throw everything else in the blender. Genius!

After sterilizing the jars, I filled them up, popped them into the canner for 10 minutes... voila, plum preserves.

Compote is more of a runny type of jam to which I just use a spoon to layer it on to whatever I am eating… I much prefer it to the jelly-like texture of most jams.

Best of all, it is so much more versatile than jam, because it is less sweet and the runny, chunky texture (if you don't pulverize it) allows you to not only use it on biscuits or toast, but it makes a perfect sauce for pouring over ice cream, cakes, cheese cakes, pancakes or waffles.

Did I mention delish?!

And so, I sit here on this cold and bitter night, cozied up to the fire, supping on tea and biscuits smothered in plum compote, mourning my plum trees, but delighting in the last of their delicious sweet remains and reminiscing on summers past harvesting the tiny fruits.

Have you ever tried making compote? …if not, you really should, you don’t know what you’re missing!



*********************************************

Join Us On Discord. https://discord.gg/hPJs5Rb

*********************************************

See my needle arts

See my artsy endeavours

Purchase my colouring book pages

Sort:  

I might also suggest to zest a lemon, or orange, into the mix, while cooking the compote. for a bit more...

Great idea to add it along with the lemon juice! Thanks :)

So sorry to hear about the loss of your plum trees!
I know the struggles of trying to grow fruit trees in a cold climate.
I am in zone 2 and I have long gave up on trying to push the envelop when it comes to fruit trees for they can be good for a number of years then you get a real cold year and that's it, they're gone.
The good news is I have collected a number of very hardy fruit trees and one of them is a plum tree that grows on it's own root, very hardy (except it's sometimes hard to get the fruit to ripen on the tree before the frosts (they do ripen in a box though)
These trees came from some suckers we had dug out of my husband's dad's friend's yard and they have matured and are producing suckers themselves now.
I'd be happy to send you one in the spring. Just DM on Discord.
This plum tree has a sweet, red plum about 1 inch or so in size and fruits abundantly. The tree is a nice shape and the blossoms smell oh so sweet!
plum blooms with pollinator.jpg

That is so generous of you @porters, thank you. That is great you have had some success with the ones you have now discovered. And the plum doesn't need two to cross-pollinate?

I know, we shouldn't try to push the envelope, but I figure 25 years for the plum was pretty darned good for up here. Sometimes we are successful for a while, sometimes we are not. C'est la vie!

I decided to replace them with apple trees this past spring, despite the fact my three previous apple trees have not survived more than a couple years, lol. My husband has banned me from buying any more if these one don't survive, lol!

I look forward to my husband's retirement, as long as we can sell our house, we shall be moving to a warmer climate (which I never thought would ever happen) and I hope to have better success with our harvests.

Glad to have you back from your Christmas vacation, I hope you had a wonderful and relaxing time.

Thanks for taking the time to stop in and comment :)

We had planted a number of these suckers plus we had other varieties around but where it was originally there was no other plums around.
I could send you two.
My plums do better than my apples as far as the trees surviving. I do have a Parkland that has done very well and has produced for many years.

Where abouts are you thinking of retiring too? And how long do you have to wait?

Hope you had a marvelous Christmas too and a wonderful New Year!

That is awesome to know there is a strain that doesn't need others around... I will keep it in mind for the future, right now with adding the apples, I don't have the room to add any... but we shall see... and I thank you for offering.

We have decided we want to move to BC and take advantage of the warmer climate.
We have four years till hubs retires, best case scenario would be three, but that is hopeful to say the least.

We had a lovely quiet Christmas, just the way I like it. Thank you for asking!

Happy New Year to you too :)

Ohhhh so sad to hear about your plums! I love that you were able to make compote. Do you think you'll plant more?

~Stacie D


Global Homestead Collective Come join us on discord! https://discord.gg/KCYH4JX7

I replaced the plum with apples this past summer, even though I have not been successful in the past with them either, lol, this will be apple tree numbers 4 and 5.... I am determined and adamant to have fresh fruit, lol.

Thanks for stopping by @ghscollective

I'm toying with the idea of growing potted fruit trees. There are several varieties that can be grown in a pot indoors. I have a spare room that gets the southern sun and I think I'll take the plunge this coming year.

I am truly surprised that you have any fruit trees in that kind of weather. And I feel your loss. I hate to lose a tree - any tree. And to lose a fruit tree would bum me out for a very long time.

That will be fantastic for you to grow potted fruit trees. I took the chance this year and planted a raspberry in a pot (outdoors), so I shall see how it fared over the winter, I am not holding out much hope... it was an experiment for while I love raspberries, I hate the way they sucker up and take over my whole garden, so I have been attempting some type of control.

Good luck in your efforts.

Are you sure "-35oC = -31oF" is right? Most seasons are short, too much rain or too hot kills too.
Most of my fruittrees died. Only 1 cherry tree is doing a great job.

Posted using Partiko Android

Yes, I am sure, I have lived here for 40+ years @wakeupkitty

Here's a screen shot of our weather today:

IMG_2012.jpg.

And, my apologies, in case I am misunderstanding what you are asking:
Screen Shot 2018-12-29 at 2.51.45 PM.png

And definitely, there are a lot of other factors which play into whether or not a plant survives, cold is only one of them :)

Sorry to hear about your plums, but the one at 25 years had a good run!

I am 4A here and can not grow peach trees. Tried twice, both died in 3 years. Too much of a wind tunnel....

Yes, 25 years is a long time... each year it seemed to get scragglier and scragglier, lol.

Wow, peach trees, that would indeed be lovely... perhaps one day I will be able to grow different species of fruit... we shall see.

Happy New Year to you and thanks for stopping in.