Using Scraps from your Kitchen: Regrowing Bok Choy from the discarded End

in #homesteading6 years ago (edited)

Since moving to the Farm, I am completely fascinated with all the things you can do with your scraps. Regrowing Bok Choy from the discarded end is one of them. Bok Choy are a type of Chinese Cabbage but instead of growing a head, long green leaf blades form that kind look like mustard greens. Bok Choy are full of vitamins and are very easy to cook with. I chop and add them to roasted vegetables, Saute as a side, throw into a Veggie quiche, stir fry or I chop and sneak into my spaghetti sauce sometimes too. Next time you are adding Bok Choy to your meal follow these simple steps to Regrow another one.

Cut the base of the bok choy leaving about 2 to 3 inches. Place the end of the Bok Choy in a shallow container with about 1 inch of water

20180223_100858_result.jpg

Check the water and if it gets cloudy, change the water. I usually change mine every few days anyway. I also found that they do better if you keep the top part out of the water damp, they grow faster.

20180322_113602_result.jpg

Once you have 3 or 4 nice size leaves growing it is time to move outside if warm enough or in a pot. This is one month's growth in the shallow bowl.

20180310_121403_result.jpg

It is still Winter here in Virginia so I have potted mine and plan to keep it in the house. I have another one started in water. This might be an ongoing thing.

20180322_113625_result.jpg

20180322_113632_result.jpg

Does anyone else grow Bok choy or celery like this? How did yours do?

Thank you for stopping by,
Kimberly

Sort:  

I really should give this a try! I heard this trick works with other veggies too! Def will try celery as it is expensive here. Bok choy we have plenty but it's always a great experiment and nothing taste better than homegrown! Thanks for sharing!

Definitely give it a try. My first attempt last year was with celery. I thought I should water it a lot once planted outside but that wasn't the case. I caused it to rot :( The next one produced some small stalks. I have 3 Bok Choy going now and a pineapple. I have friends regrowing carrots. You are right - the possibilities are endless. I am just fascinated with using 'scraps' for so many different things. If I don't use my celery butt to regrow, I freeze it for chicken or veggie stock. Thank you so much for stopping by and your support.

We have some pineapple too and will try the celery once we buy one! So cool to use scraps indeed1

We grow this too as they are low maintenance :) Either this or the similar plant pechay.

Excellent. Great to know they are low maintenance. I just planted another one I had sitting in water, so I have two in pots now. I just started a pineapple too. I am fascinated with this process now. Thank you for your support :)

I just found out there are carrots and potatoes, too! I wonder how those would turn out as they usually produce little or none at all. Hoping it's better this time.

Thanks for your inspiration!
I don't have space for a proper garden, but I'm sure I can find space for a few pots. Good vegetables are so expensive here in Wyoming! So, anything I can grow will be a good thing, for sure.

Well that tickles me to death that you are inspired by my post. I am fascinated with the use of scraps to regrow. I just started a pineapple and I have two Bok Choy in pots and another one to eat in the fridge so it will be in water before long. Best of luck with yours! Thank you for your support.

I remember seeing someone demonstrate that with celery, at least, it was actually more efficient to just grow more from seed, but I guess that depends on your individual success with planting seeds!!!

BTW, something else to try if you have an outdoor garden this year... tomato plants can be overwintered inside!!! Take cuttings like you would from many other plants and root them. I kept them in milk jugs when I tried it. When they get too big, either repot or take more cuttings until you're ready to plant them out in the spring. Especially good if you've got some heirlooms that you want to keep going. (Of course, the seeds are easy to save and easy to plant anyway...)

I'm doing my carrots like this! They are growing like crazy!

I am about to cut the ends off of mine so I can start some. I failed with celery last year. I had it planted outside and I watered it too much.

Hello @qberryfarms,

Just wanted to say hi and let you know that your wonderful post have been picked up for the weekly Sustainability Curation Digest in association with Minnow Support Project.

Your post will be upvoted by @msp-curation bot on behalf of MSP.

Thanks for writing awesome content and if you have some time, make sure to check out some of the other posts from this week.

Sustainability Curation Digest #1 🌄🌍🌝 by Carpedimus - MSP

Keep up with the great work :) and thanks for sharing!

What an awesome surprise to login and find. I appreciate so much! I am so glad you enjoyed my post and are featuring it in your Sustainability Curation Digest #1. Thank you! I am headed over to check out the others.

You are welcome!! :)

I have never tried growing Bok choy but I use it all the time. This post has added another task to the fun side of my to do list! Thank you for sharing.

You are so welcome. I tried celery a couple of times before I had success. I watered it too much after I planted outside. The Bok Choy is doing much better. I have my 2nd ready to plant and one In the fridge waiting to be eaten. I think I am going to put them all three in the same pot. Good Luck with yours! Thank you for stopping by and the Resteem :)

We rotate celery and onions like this. Works great.

I grew celery last year but I haven't tried onions. I am getting ready to try carrots. It is the coolest thing! Thanks for stopping by!

I do carrots also but we grow them as a feed crop for out livestock as the plant from the tops grows well but I have never had the root part grow back. Let me know how it works for you and if you do get the root to grow back that would be great. You can also use them for seeding new crops after you grow them but many types take 2 years to seed.

Excellent. Thank you so much for the tips. I will let you know if I try carrots and get good results. I just started pineapple top yesterday :)

World of Photography Beta V1.0
>Learn more here<

You have earned 5.05 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 1/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.01
Server time: 17:02:59
Account Level: 0
Total XP: 25.25/100.00
Total Photos: 5
Total comments: 0
Total contest wins: 0
When you reach level 1 you will start receiving up to two daily upvotes

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Daily Steem Statistics: @dailysteemreport
Learn how to program Steem-Python applications: @steempytutorials
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank