Chicken911

in #homesteading7 years ago

Sick chicken alert! My poor little Pecan is just not right. I am doing my evening rounds and notice her having a droopy bum, and just looking odd. Now, she is one of 3 chickens that will live their life on the farm and hopefully die of old age. I have had an outbreak of upper respiratory disease here on the farm. Our extremely wet summer has not been a good thing for the animals. Pecan is one of the sufferers, but she's been plugging along nicely, being the dominant that she is, until I saw her last night. I got this egg from her quarantine pen (the green one), and there is only one other EE in there. The other bird, is a relatively new layer, and I would not expect this egg from her.
IMG_4075.jpg
So I suspect this is Pecan's egg (gasp at the size of that!)

From her behavior, I suspected she was egg bound (they can get backed up). So I scooped her up and brought her on the porch for some TLC and further treatment.
IMG_4070.jpg
Here she is in her Epsom salt soak. She also had some ants on her, poor thing.

After her 20 minute soak, I gloved up, and probed her vent to see if I could feel an obstruction and I found nothing, so then I oiled her up really good just in case it's a higher obstruction than I can feel.
IMG_4071.jpg

All dried off and resting for the night.
![IMG_4074.jpg](

Updated: no egg or anything this morning, but she still is droopy and lots of black poops in her cage. I gave her another soak (just in case) and some vitamins and vetrx for her URI and I will see how she does over the next few days. Wish her a speedy recovery!