You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Home Canning: Is it WORTH it?

in #homesteading7 years ago

I have 17 acres of blackberries. But I don't have a kitchen built in my cabin, and I have no electricity or running water (lived this way for 4 years now) so I likely won't be canning or making freezer jams, but I do make Blackberry wine! (I put up a big post on how to do that last week) and so I think, as a bachelor, I'll be buying my jelly's and jams. MY conclusion, like yours minus all the potential freebies I don't have, is that it's cheaper anyway. I waste a lot of food, simply because I'm just one guy and have to choose things that store "dry" so to speak, or use what I can before it spoils.

Sort:  

Ever heard of a zeer pot? I made a test one and it worked as a cooler not a real fridge.

We have a propane grill that we do pressure canning on outside. The upfront cost is high. Where's grandma when you need her! I'm soooo envious of your blackberries. Perhaps you could trade them with a neighbor for something you need?! Wondering in what state you reside?

I'm in western North Carolina, up in the blue ridge near the parkway national park.

Oh I do fine. I don't actually HAVE any neighbors for quite some distance... and I don't know them. The closest ones are horse people, and I do know them, but they are not the homestead/farming type.

I have ways to cook, but I don't see me canning... yet.