HEARTBREAK on the HOMESTEAD: Life and Death on the Farm

in #homesteading7 years ago (edited)

FB_IMG_1499398087505.jpg

A week has passed almost...and still the pain is very raw...

Although I made a video for our YouTube channel about what happened (because people were worried I hadn't posted my daily vlog in several days) I haven't had much interaction yet here on Steemit as I am new to this community. In fact, I had never even done a post about my awesome goat herd here at all. I feel bad that my first post about them is the worst thing I have ever felt as a farmer.

We lost our sweet Spice unexpectedly after a very brief, mild sickness. We had no clue she would be gone by morning. Every sign showed improvement from a very short lived bought of diarrhea. This was our first goat loss on the farm. She was here one day and gone the next. The above picture was the day I took her home at two weeks old. She would have been a year old in five days. I miss her terribly!

While I am trying to be strong and keep my chin up and all that, I am still very depressed. It has been a hard week. We also lost our oldest, sweetest, favorite chicken Penny a few days after Spice. I can't bring myself to share all the details again so if you want to know the whole story I will leave my video below.

Thanks for listening to this very sad goat momma...

wholesomerootsfarmstead.jpg
PLEASE RESTEEM, UPVOTE, and Reply down below! Thanks!

Sort:  

Oh sweetie, I feel your pain and offer my sincere condolences. It is so hard to loose someone we love so much. Animals show us such unconditional love and appreciation. My heart goes out to you and your family for both of your losses.

Thanks for the kind words.

Hugs to you <3 I'm sorry about both your sweeties'​ passings.

Thank you dear!

All I can say is I have been through losing a 3 week old bummer bottle baby and it's still raw since February. I would offer to talk about it, but I would be no help as I would turn into a blubbering puddle. But, I feel for you. I hope your heart heals faster.

Thank you. I'm sorry your loss has been so hard for you. Goats have so much personality and everyone who has them is always hit hard when we loose one. My heart feels so heavy, it doesn't seem possible...

I know. I'm sorry. I'm happy you have others that make you get up in the morning and take care of them tho.

Thanks for sharing your story- I do know that the rest of your animals have the best Momma around- it is so clear how much you love them. Thanks for giving them a loving happy home. :)

Thank you, they are my children

This warms my heart. Keep up the excellent work. And take time to heal.

Big hug! My heart is with you xxx

Terribly sorry for your loss @wholesomeroots, I imagine it's no different than a family pet. Sending good vibes your way 🙏🏼

I cried ...again...with you-hugs Rose!