How To Do An Awesome Separator | Steemit

in #howto6 years ago

Hi there! How are you today?

Today I will share with you how can you build a fucking great Separator. Ok... In my case, just a great separator eheh

I believe that you already saw the "famous" separator all over the places and ask: How can I do this... Today 2 people ask this in a group where I am. I'm a good guy and I will give you a tips eheh

You can follow the Tutorial or jump to the end of the post and watch the video I made.

 

What do you DON'T need 

You don't need to be a Designer or something like that to create a great separator and I will show you! :)

Do you have PhotoShop or Illustrator? No? Ok. It's fine! You don't need any paid software to do something like this xb

What DO you need 

  • Internet access
  • Read all the post
  • Give me an upvote 
  • Share with us in the comment section your new separator and spread envy

Tutorial Time

SetUp

We need a software to do this work and I know the perfect tool to get the job done! I present to you https://designer.gravit.io


Go there and give the sizes: 800px 53px. You will get something like this:


Get A Photo

Now we already did the setup lets find a nice image to add. To do this you can use any kind of photo. I like vectors so let's get one. Go https://www.flaticon.com/ and choose one.


Now, that you found a great Icon you can select how do you preferer download. For this example, I will select PNG and the bigger size (512px). Save the image to a place you know.


Make the thing

Ok, so... We have the program and an image let's create our separator. Back to the gravit, go to "file=>Import=>Place Image..." and select your image.


Great! Almost done! Now just create a line (press "R" on you keyboard). 



Ok. We have a line and an image. If your line is over the image don't worry just press the line and go here:



Now chose your favorite color for the line. 



To center just select all the things and press these 2 buttons:



Ok. Last step! Go to "file=>Export=>Export..." 



Select Background Transparent



And finally, export!

So congrats!! Now you have a separator! Simple, right? Like I said I did a video where I explain all this. Check it out.

Conclusion

Like you can see it's a simple thing. If you need help with something just say in comment section. I will help you in the best way I know! :)

@valorforfreedom have a great post about this, In "Steem School EP 7 - How to Create an Awesome Separator for Your Posts!" He use photoshop.

The Winner Of The Best Comment

The winner of the best comment: @cryptosharon. Thanks for your lovely comment! :)


Special Thanks

Thank you so much @eonwarped. Now I can use my account again! :)

See you later!

  Join the Crypto Empire Community   

Sort:  

Great post, i created something myself.

Pdiv.png

Great one!!! :)
I will check your post to see how it is better :)

Great tutorial DDua!!!

I'm so far from skilled in this area. When I get some time I'm gonna follow these instructions and make myself a decent separator. At the mo, mine is a big thick splurge across the page ahaha

cheers -- that was so useful
Anj xx

great to now!! I can do one for you. do you want?

Cool. If you don't mind? Is 2SP ok for a fee?

Oh, and make it fierce :D

cheers ddua
Anj x

Yeap it is good.
Just say me 1 or 2 colors and send me a photo you like 😃

I will do the rest!

l1J9ug6THtLh0Qjhm.gif

Haha love the gif ^^
Ok, I love blood red and dark orange.

Is this pic ok? I'm not in a hurry for it. Take your time ddua. I'm going to bed now.

Is there a way I can keep just the green oval with the face?

chuckyweave.jpg

sorry for answering now...
I'm very sick... In the last 2 days I have been with 38.8 / 39.2 fever.

I will say something soon! :)

About the image, yes, now problema :)

Aw sorry you're sick. I hope you're better soon.

Don't worry about the divider. I'm in no hurry. Do it in your own time.

My son's had a temperature since yesterday. He's hot, snotty and dizzy. Off school today. Not gonna get much writing done.

Laters
Anj x

Great post! I'm sure this will be helpful for future generations who want to make their separators!

I myself have a few horizontal rulers I got from somewhere I can't remember. I filled them with color and cut them to look great! I'll leave them here:

layer-1.pnglayer-2.pnglayer-3.pnglayer-4.png

I have 8 more hahaha, and I plan on getting a few more for different occasions. I already have some templates I can use.

My steps were a little different than yours. I grabbed a bulk image that had around 12 of these in grey, I coloured them with two shades of red, yellow and cyan, saved it all as a .TIFF file, each separator in a different layer, then used ImageMagick's convert image.tiff -trim image.png and it saved each file separately.

edit:

I say they look great both on grey:

And on white:

Wow!! I think you should make a tut on how to make them cool separators...

As long as you learn how to use any image editor like Photoshop, Krita, Gimp or even Pixlr, it'll be super easy. :) Just make a wide transparent area, put the shape you want, colour it and make sure to save it as a PNG without losing the transparent area.

I don't think I could make a valuable tutorial on this since it's so easy. :P I think everything that I could say was already said by @ddua.

He is right! Make a Tut about your separators! :)

I super love these sharon, they're so super girly! O.o my eyes are watering now. They're my favorite so far. ^^

:))) I'm glad they're liked <3

She is an artist eheh
Did you read her poems? It's awesome! :)

If you like to read check this post. It is not a poem but is very good! :)

https://steemit.com/writing/@cryptosharon/dark-sealing-sword-a-call-from-the-void

So cool Sharon!!! Great work!

I see... I had a lot of work eheh But it was worth it

Did you use Photoshop for that?

I use Krita! It's the next best thing for Linux.

And yes, totally worth it :) I'm sure you've inspired many people to make their posts more aesthetic.

Hum... So this means y use Linux. Ok eheh

I don't know about Krita. I need to do a quick search :)

I hope you right! We have here some great Separators :)

Wow, thanks @ddua for this amazing tutorial!! Got my own separator now <3

Untitled.png

I'm so happy!!!
Nice one! If you need help on future occasions just say! :)

Thanks for this tutorial @ddua :) Your is quite good as well. I had to ask for help on my separator from my brother. I'm not too good with instructions. Lol^^

giphy (10).gif

Great brother you have eheh
If you need my help on something just say!

Can you show us your Separator? :)

Oh yeah I'm using this bad boy!

Great!! If you need help just say! :)

giphy (8).gif

dude, do you get royalties when using that gif?

Maybe he does, he uses it everywhere!

Yes, I get 0.002SP when I use it. I thought you knew xb

Congratulations @ddua! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Congratulations @ddua! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Good post. I've been looking for a way to really spice up my blog and make it more uniform and original and POP. I've been making my own pics and I've gotten pretty good at markdown. This will be next level. And even though I have Photoshop I'd like to start using more free and open source stuff. Thanks.
m19barcode.jpg

good work. i like it.