You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Beginner’s Guide to Commenting on Steemit: How to GROW your Account with FANTASTIC Comments!

in #howto6 years ago

Great advice, which I would have thought was mostly common sense. I've dabbled here, on and off for a little while, having been introduced by @jaynielea last year some time. I am now working on a transition from my other blogging platform, and may re-blog some of my posts here. There, I learned about engagement and really reading a blog post and, by and large, most folk did or do.

I think that sometimes folk forget that there is a "real people" just like themselves behind the post and that, actually, what is going on here is a real conversation where mutual respect and agreement to differ (as appropriate) is really all it takes.

Appreciate the tip for how to sign off a comment. I hadn't thought of that because if I want to find out more about a commenter, I go and look for them.

Oh, and before I end: I have to say that I don't appreciate being told to follow a blog and that I'll be followed in return. I'd prefer to be invited (semantics, perhaps) and for the person doing the inviting to appreciate that our interests may not jive, in which case I won't follow him or her. Similarly, I'd rather not have followers who are not interested in what I'm posting. No offence intended and none taken. I would hope, anyway.

@fionasfavourites

Sort:  

So you have some blogging experience like me, huh? I have owned a WordPress blog for almost 10 years so I learned the etiquette for commenting with that. And I agree, I only want people to follow me who will enjoy my content. I do not do follow for follow, ever! I do add my profile link at the bottom of each article, to give the reader just another chance to follow if he/she pleases. :)

Yup. I am also on WordPress - going on 4 years, I think. That blog has been somewhat neglected as I've been a tad distracted by other things. I am trying to get back into it. I see the @steemit platform somewhat differently, but perhaps that's because I haven't entirely come to grips with it. That said, I agree that the etiquette is the same and I learned a lot of lessons there, including about trolls and who I want to follow and why. And that blogging awards detracted from what I was wanting to do, and more to the point, were annoying to my followers. Perhaps it's different here. There is a link to that blog in my bio. If you would like a gander. Unsurprisingly it's also "Fiona's Favourites" (with the UK spelling and without the apostrophe. Cheers to a new blogging journey, hey?