A Forbidden Professional Life

in #hr6 years ago

Hello my fellow Steemians, as I probe through the world of cannabis from a business standpoint, it is becoming abundantly clear that I would have to disarm the negative stigma that surrounds the industry. Regardless of the many beneficial medicinal properties, federally, cannabis remains illegal. Therefore, there may always be a dark cloud over the industry. This will be a challenge for me, because I have to get over the idea that this industry is forbidden and seek to solve the unique human resources problems that exist in the evolving workplace environment. The question then becomes, “how do I implement the value of human resources in a workforce that is young and without borders?”


  • As a human resource professional, I have to be a neutral ally to the organization I work for and the employees I speak for. I am in a constant flux of evaluating the “best right” and the “worst wrong” of many situations that occur in the workplace. I tend to thrive in this space of workplace neutrality; to a certain extent, I find it to be exciting and liberating. I am learning that there are federal and state regulations that plague the cannabis industry. In the state of Colorado, cannabis is allowed to be used recreationally, so I have to find creative ways to recruit and quality workers in the industry who see the work they perform as professional and meaningful.

As I keep learning and growing in this new workspace, feel free to respond to my blogs and give me your thoughts and opinions. I would like to build a community around this body of knowledge. Perhaps, fearless individuals who see opportunity in the grey areas of our world. You can check out my website: hrops.work. I hope to continue building on emerging human resource concepts in a fast-changing world.