#36 Humans Of Steemit : @namiks (An Interesting Guy With An Eclectic Taste In Life)

36.png

To all Humans Of Steemit, here you are.
Reading this post.

Which dives deep into the mind of @namiks

ENJOY!

Q&A

Who are you? Tell us anything and everything you’d like us to know about you!

To the world of cryptocurrencies, I’m known as ‘namiks’. I saw it somewhere a long time ago and I found it profoundly cyberpunk, and thus started to loosely use it here and there. My birth name is Antony, however.

I’m what most would call a shut-in, although I’m more a ‘hikikomori’, which essentially means that I very rarely go outside; often spending weeks at a time without going outside, as opposed to just being relatively anti-social. It’s, well, an interesting lifestyle.

I’ve been in cryptocurrencies since late 2012. I’ve always been profoundly interested in technology, although that interest wasn’t really able to take off until that year, in which I finally got myself a laptop--I spent the latter part of my teenage years sleeping on a mattress on the floor with no carpet and no curtains/blinds on the window, a laptop was like striking gold--and decided to check out how to mine Bitcoin out of the sheer interest in it. That was a fun experience.

What makes your heart smile?

Creativity. Hope. Promise. Futurism.

How did you get onto Steemit?

I would often hear of STEEM and Steemit, although I was always preoccupied with other cryptocurrencies to really sit back and take some time to learn what the platform was. Eventually, I checked out the site and saw that people were creating some pretty cool content; and as a struggling freelance writer, I had to try it out myself.

Where do you want to die?

I’d like to die either in space, or on another planet; the idea of dying at a time in which humanity is finally reaching out into the unknown seems interesting.

When’s the last time you cried?

I’m not actually sure. I think shortly after watching ‘A Ghost Story’. I mean, it’s a pretty sad film, okay, stop judging.

What’s something you DON’T like about all this new technology?

I dislike the lack of awareness we are spreading about it all. While all this technology is amazing, it comes with a lot of dangers; and I think we struggle to genuinely ensure that users of various new technologies fully understand just how much power one has with them.

As for cryptocurrencies, the same idea. I believe we focus too much on the prices of cryptocurrencies, rather than who they are reaching, and how they are capable of improving people’s lives. There’s a quote from a Daniel Mross in the 2014 documentary ‘The Rise and Rise of Bitcoin’ that I’ve forever loved: “Technology must be used to liberate the individual.”

What mistake do you keep making and why?

I keep forgetting that I should probably go outside and do something that doesn’t involve screens, for once.

What’s the best advice you have ever gotten?

Honestly, I’ve never really been given advice. I’ve learned to live through years of mistakes and successes. I used to be very stubborn.

If there was something you could undo, what would it be?

This question opens the deep thinker in me; I mean, are we talking a personal event in life, or any event within the history of all things? I’ll answer it as both: I’d stop myself from allowing insecurities and depression to take over my teenage years. I’d ensure that I tried my best in school and never dropped out of college. I often think of where I’d be if I hadn’t; although I most likely wouldn’t have discovered cryptocurrencies and Steemit.

Any historical event: I’d somehow stop the creation of money. I’m very anti-capitalist (doesn’t make much sense in this stuff, I know) and I would like to see just how different the world would be as a result.

Imagine that you magically have the ability to keep being alive without sleep, what would you do with the extra time?

As an insomniac, I basically live like this anyway. I typically spend my nights reading various books, fiction and non-fiction; and watching artistic films and television shows. I absolutely love learning new things and seeing other people’s creativity.

If I never had to sleep at all, I’d probably attempt to find ways to make as much money as possible with such little risk, and then set up various charities or organisations that benefit people in need.

What’s the stupidest thing you’ve done that actually turned out pretty well?

I dropped out of college. My situation could be so much worse.

What makes your belly ache with laughter?

Self-deprecating and sarcastic humour.

Tell us about 1 significant event in your life that really made you who you are.

After years of suffering greatly from anxiety, I suddenly stopped caring about most things. A more careless mentality really helped me relax for once, and now I find myself in a mindset that actually benefits me in the long-run; I no longer care for tedious events in life, and remain heavily optimistic about most things. I live like a ghost and I love it.

What would be the scariest monster you could imagine?

God. If there is one, they’re evidently not particularly kind.

What does Steemit mean for you?

Steemit means the ability to be artistic. It means having the creative freedom to do as you please and forever be rewarded for it; whether you believe that creation was set to fail or not.

Steemit means having the power to slowly help others for their creativity and helping them through tough times; it’s beautiful, really. A long-term plan of mine is simply to grow enough Steem Power to the point where I can really make an impact on the community, and ensure good content and creativity gets the reward it deserves.

Typically, one would have to contact someone about either pitching or selling an idea. I love that Steemit doesn’t support such an old, traditional method of getting something out there for others to experience and enjoy. Nobody is really making an investment, aside from the investment of time; often enough that investment is worth it. We’re removing a flawed system and placing freedom and finance into the hands of creatives. A writer may get their piece rejected from numerous sites because the editor simply doesn't like the piece; Steemit welcomes the piece with open arms.

What would you like your last meal to be?

Something I have never had before. Let me go out experiencing something new, one last time.

If you could change your name, what would you change it to?

I wouldn’t want one. The idea of being a ghost in society fascinates me.

If you could be an animal for a day, which animal would you be? Why?

A blue whale. Aside from quite literally murdering thousands of krill at a time, they’re such gentle and quiet creatures, despite being so large.

Which person inspires you the most and why do they inspire you?

There’s a particular person I know that has had a very, very similar life to mine. My inspiration in life comes from their successes; the fact that I can often help them and can see them blossom gives me purpose in life.

What are you insecure about?

My writing. I write almost every single day, yet I’m quite nervous about ever releasing any of it, as I’m really not sure how people would react. Sometimes I do share them on Steemit, if I am feeling adventurous.

Describe your ideal life.

I have no idea how to answer this. My ideal life stems into so many variables. While I’d love to be just content in life, I’d also love to be able to travel and see the world; to meet and help others; to discover different cultures and explore them.

Outside of that, I’d love to have a snowed-in cabin deep within a forest that I could escape to. Or to live high up in a neon-riddled city where I can just lay in bed and watch the raindrops hit the window.

I want to have the freedom to live, and not live a life that’s focused on working or thriving for goals that don’t actually benefit humanity.

Have you ever saved someone’s life?

I’d certainly like to think I have at least made a huge positive impact on numerous people’s lives.

What do other people think is weird about you?

Definitely the fact that I’m constantly stuck in deep thought. I have so much free time, and constantly learning new things has more forever thinking.

What do you think is one of the best things about you?

I’m incredibly easy to talk to. I can talk about anything. I think that’s quite evident in some of my answers, haha.

What’s one responsibility you really wish you didn’t have?

I don’t have a job, so work isn’t one. I think paying rent. I’m currently saving up to buy (something I never thought I’d be able to do at 23); I hate the idea of renting. I had an awful experience with renting in early 2017.

If you had a personal flag, what would be on it?

It would probably be something really stupid; like a picture of a dog.

If a genie granted you 3 wishes right now, what would you wish for?

The ability to wish for anything whenever I wanted, without limitation. I’d have so much fun wishing things into and out of existence; helping others; teleporting around the world and universe and discovering all there is to discover. Imagine being able to wish all disease out of existence. To remove poverty, war, money, and death.

What do you think about when you’re by yourself?

I’m going to skip this one or whoever is reading this will most likely die of old age having not even made it halfway through the answer.

What would you want to be written on your tombstone?

‘I’m feeling fine, honestly.’

Who is the person you trust most?

The person previously mentioned in another answer.

What’s your favourite word?

Iridescence.

If you had 25 minutes to do anything you wanted without external consequences what would you do?

Give every person on Earth millions of dollars so that they’d forever live in comfort.

Who is your fave (or one of your favourite) Steemians and why?

I have to give @eeks a huge mention here. Without eeks, I wouldn’t be where I am at on Steemit. He’s upvoted my content for almost as long as I have been on the site. His upvotes have given me motivation to continue posting; they’ve helped me afford things I have needed in life: new hardware, food, medication for others, more financial security. What’s wonderful is that we know nothing about each other; we’re just two strangers on the platform, yet he’s helped me in life more than he’s aware. Thanks, eeks.

If you were arrested with no explanation, what would your friends and family assume you had done?

I was a graffiti artist in my teen years; although I’d only paint in isolated areas where it would do no harm to people or businesses. Probably that.

When you looked in the mirror first thing this morning, what was the first thing you thought?

I very rarely look in the mirror; I highly recommend others do the same. Care less about your appearance, and more about your actions.

What’s the most ridiculous fact you know?

Elephants, for the most part, do not get cancers. They have a gene called TP53 that suppresses tumours; they’re essentially immune.

What is something that you just recently realized that you are embarrassed you didn’t realize earlier?

I’m actually a very boring person. If you are still alive and reading this: I am so, so sorry. I hope the rest of your day is much better.

What is your nickname?

I don’t have a nickname. Never have.

As a Human Of Steemit, how do you contribute to Steemit?

I frequently post reviews on lesser-known films and television shows; sometimes fiction and posts on cryptocurrencies. My aim is to help spread awareness of artistic creations, and introduce people to creative writing and filmmaking. You’ll mostly find me in #film and #movies, though.

Outside of my own posts, I use the small amount of Steem Power I have to upvote and promote content that I believe deserves much more recognition.

Oh @namiks, there is something about the way you write that makes me think you and I could get along like a house on fire.

BTW, you are not boring whatosever.

You've got a soul of wonder!

Thank you for your true honesty.
Thank you for sharing your ideas with us.
Thank you for participating on Humans Of Steemit!



If you want to be featured on Humans of Steemit to combat the botty world online and to show your heart, get in touch with me!
@ashleykalila on steemit.chat and Discord.
Or send me an e-mail : [email protected]

If you want to support Humans of Steemit, please hit follow on this blog, upvote this post and if you really LOVE it, resteem it!
(But really only do that if you REALLY REALLY want to! I believe in a life where we only do what we want to do!)

Humans Of Steemit believes in You.
And so do I!

I had help with editing by the lovely @deadsparrow. He is a good dude.
You should go talk to him.

BIG love,

Ashley

@ashleykalila is my blog just in case you'd be interested to see what I write about!

Made by the wonderful @stellabelle

BANNER HUMANS OF STEEMIT.png

My LoveProject is @humansofsteemit! Featuring the humans behind the Steemit usernames!

Sort:  

The most beautiful thing in the subject smile the heart and set up Stimit in order to know everyone and communicate with some
And your folks at Stemite

hi @ashleykalila I want to contact you in discord but I need your four digit tag to make a message. Would you please give it to me ?? I'm interested in your project

She is in our discord channel in Ohana

owwww thank you

It's great to see people focusing on the people behind the usernames; allowing them to inject a bit more life and community into the site. Focusing on the individuality and culture of the various creatives and everyday users.

Thank you for allowing me to be a part of that.

another great interview @ashleykalila. I like his advice about mirrors, we all need to focus more on our actions.