Calm After the Storm ~ #hurricanenora

in #hurricanenora3 years ago

We definitely didn't get it like Ida gave it to Louisiana. But I was told this was one of the worst to hit PVR in years. A bridge was taken out due to a river over flowing, which also took with it a restaurant.

nora.jpeg

We lost power off and on for a few hours, until it was completely knocked out for about 4 hours during the peak of the storm.

IMG_1993.jpg

I decided it was really smart to venture out onto the street and get a small glimpse of the weather. Met up with my neighbor Tom, checked out the scenery, and got a phone call from mi madre.

IMG_1994.jpg

99% of the damage was contained to PV. Not much besides some roofing tiles, palm frawns, and garbage cans thrown about happened here in Bucerias. Pretty fortunate it wasn't much worse.

IMG_1996.jpg

So far in over 3 months down here, I've experienced my first earth quake which vibrated the couch I was sitting on a few inches from the wall.

And now my first ever hurricane. Albeit a category 1, but still, hurricane none the less.

What else will the weather throw at us in the next few months???

Thanks for reading & watching.

hive banner.jpeg

Sort:  

You got some beautiful pictures, I have never been through a hurricane, and there is very little chance I will be any time soon because I live in Ecuador. Stay safe!

Thanks man, we're all safe and sound :)

Didn't realize you guys were living down there! How long is the excursion? Or is it an indefinite thing?

Yeah buddy! Been here about 3 months now.

Hoping to make it semi-long term. But time will tell, lots of variables in play.

We lived just north of Bucerias in Lo de Marcos for 15 months. We experienced some intense tropical storms but no full blow hurricane. We had to head back north last February to make money or we never would have left. Even now, back at our beautiful off grid mountain home on the Big Island of Hawaii we miss our simple beach life in Mexico and will be moving there as soon as we can afford to. Stoked for you guys. Look forward to following your journey there.

back at our beautiful off grid mountain home on the Big Island of Hawaii we miss our simple beach life in Mexico

That sounds like paradise! You prefer your place in MX to that?! What am I missing? Lol.

The grass is always greener I guess. Life in Mexico is so simple, beach, tacos, beer, repeat. The people are so friendly and the price is right.

An off grid mountain homestead, even in Hawaii is a lot of work. Don’t get me wrong, we built this place from raw earth, it’s a part of my soul. Only thing is, Mexico is too now.

I need to get a boat like that one you just posted about, then I’ll be truly free and can travel between the two places as well as many others.

Great photos! Glad everyone is safe!

So, ah, I guess maybe look forward to a freak snowstorm next month? Gotta collect them all.

Thanks man, we're all alright :)

Is this weather Pokemon I'm playing now??? lol, if it we get snow down here, I'm moving again.

I think you are supposed to stay inside during a hurricane, nope not my man.
Good thing you turned your hat around, although it would have provided us with some additional entertainment watching you chase it down the street.

For God's sake, stay safe!

Hehehehe, it wasn't too bad when I was out there, it got much windier as the night went on. My hat would most likely blown down the street and I didn't feel like running at the moment, so I'm happy with my backwards hat idea. Even at the expense of not giving you a good laugh.

Safe and sound brother. Safe and sound.

You would still take that over a blizzard in Minnesota any day though right? :) I am glad everyone came out safe!

If I was living in PV, where the bridge was out and the streets look like rivers...I'd take the blizzard all day every day, at least snow melts and doesn't destroy much. But here in Bucerias, it was mild enough where it was just like a big storm we'd get back home. So in that case, y'all can keep your blizzards.

Beautiful skies, but are you nuts?, you are supposed to stay inside during these weather events.
I am glad to hear there wasn't too much damage by you. Power loss wasn't too bad either, thank goodness.
You know, you have picked your hive handle perfectly...@intothewild.
Stay safe will ya, you are too important to your family.
Blessings.

Sweed told ya about my nuts, ya? 😂😂😂, so ya, I am a little nuts.

How could I call myself intothewild if I didn't actually do it, right? Just trying my best to live by my namesake.

Safe and sound @farm-mom, nothing to worry about :)

Glad to hear that, I worry about my boy.😉😁

Congratulations @intothewild! You received a personal badge!

You powered-up at least 10 HIVE on Hive Power Up Day!
Wait until the end of Power Up Day to find out the size of your Power-Bee.
May the Hive Power be with you!

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

Introducing the Hive Power Up Month - Let's grow every day!
Hive Power Up Day - September 1st 2021 - Hive Power Delegation

Congratulations @intothewild! You received a personal badge!

You powered-up at least 100 HP on Hive Power Up Day! This entitles you to a level 3 badge
Participate in the next Power Up Day and try to power-up more HIVE to get a bigger Power-Bee.
May the Hive Power be with you!

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

Introducing the Hive Power Up Month - Let's grow every day!
Hive Power Up Day - September 1st 2021 - Hive Power Delegation

Glad you're safe, those photos are beautiful!

Thanks man, appreciate that. I hope you'll read this post and understand where I'm coming from, would love to keep supporting you here on hive.