IFC Finals S2R1 results.

in #ifc3 years ago

Hello there! Welcome to our digital spaceship castle.
spaceshipcastle.jpg
Artwork credit - @jimramones on steemit

Welcome back.
Apologies the judging took a little longer than expected again.

I guess I just can't help but say that I am a bit bummed that so many people who told me they might be able to play or that they actually would be there didn't show up or didn't even message me back to let me know they couldn't make it.

Even a couple of the judges stopped responding right after they said they would help as well and I know things are busy and crazy in the world, though... In the end, I'm glad we even had two players so that we could finish this season and have a winner, though we had double that... We had four players which will give us two rounds so despite being a lil bummed I am grateful we can still do this! :)

Also... I'm not sure I want the championship to fall sometime in between Christmas and the New Years because people might be extra busy, so I'm thinking we should hold it sometime in earlier January.
Let's aim for the 4th of January to hold the IFC championship. If that doesn't work for anyone let me know. (I'll try to contact you soon and let you know if you don't see this first)

So who is going to be facing off in the championship? Let's read down below to find out.

round results.png

Vote Round 20

@apolymask - This is really hard to judge, but... I kinda feel like plushzilla's entry was more in the spirit of what I was looking for originally and I really enjoyed reading it and appreciated what he had to say.
Yet... Even though bengy was sort of critical and skeptical and sort of dismissive about the idea of synchronicity I felt like he really put a decent amount of work into his post and I learned the most from his entry.
So, I'm really torn here... This is one of the more difficult rounds that I've ever had to decide in this contest.

In regard to jbreheny versus owietus, I feel like both of their entries were kind of quick and simplistic.
I think owietus provided some very interesting synch info in my opinion, yet... Jbreheny was on topic even if I didn't understand the song synch as much and he made me laugh numerous times and I think laughing is very important in life, so once again a very tough decision.

After much contemplation... I'm giving 2 to bengy and 1 to plushzilla.
I feel like bengy had the most comprehensive, detailed and informative entry even if I didn't totally agree with it, I still learned the most from it and that's why I voted the way I did.
And then for the second matchup I'm giving 2 to jbreheny and 1 to owietus because jbreheny I think put a bit more time into his entry and he made me laugh numerous times and I really appreciate that more than ever these days.

@jamesrussell - So on the sheer amount of time and he put into the post and photos that are well sourced, I am giving bengy 2 coins and Plushzilla 1.

Owietus 1 and jbrehenny 2, mainly because Owietus put a little bit down without much effort as if this was not a contest, he could have added content or made something up to go with his writing or at least stuck a picture in there, but jbreheny as usual is a class act, he does skirt the issue of "synchronicity" in the "spiritual" sense but he's entertaining as hell and has an awesome sense of humor.

@viking-ventures - okay - for jbreheny versus owietus... I'm going to have to go with owietus 2 and jbreheny 1.
The reason is that most of jbreheny's post is the Police song. I don't know what this had to do with synchronicity in the contestant's life and despite the relevance of the song to the topic, I am not convinced this contributed much to the contest. owietus shared some pretty quirky details that definitely related to me. I refrained from giving owietus the extra point because I didn't feel the amount of effort put into it was quite what we'd expect of a final in this contest.

bengy vs plushzilla
I'm going to have to go with plushzilla 2, bengy 1
I like bengy's entry - and find it relates well to me, but I like how plushzilla relates things to their own personal experience better

@wesphilbin - Between Bengy and Plushzilla...

Wow... both very on topic and relative. Factual, well written, and proper sources etc. Loved them both, but the post by Plushzilla was more "my feel" than Bengy. I'd therefore give the following:

Bengy: 1
Plushzilla: 2

Between jbreheny and owietus.

Another tough call. I too am a musician. Used to play drums in a prog/rock band before Multiple Sclerosis hit, but didn't let this influence my judging.

Again... both posts are relative... adding the song was a more personal touch, but owietus post hit more to my "vibe". So then...

Owietus: 2
Jbreheny: 1

@jizzyjoe - I have read through them and the entries were interesting to read but I don't understand how synchronicity is related to jbreheny song, you made the job a bit difficult by pairing bengy and plushzilla

Bengy -2 points, he gave a constructive and scientific point of view on synchronicity which all who read it should think twice about the word and understand it more better

Plushzilla -1point, I also enjoyed his write up as he gave some personal example of synchronicity but bengy's entry was a strong one to be against

Jbreheny- 1point, like I said above, didn't see the connection of synchronicity in the song.

Owietus- 2point, though it was a short entry but it was related to synchronicity and with personal example


The total is..

@bengy - 8

vs

@plushzilla - 7

And...

@jbreheny - 7

vs

@owietus - 8

Wow, that was close! I admit I'm a bit surprised. Well done and for the two finalists @bengy and @owietus we have one more round to see who becomes the champion.

Thanks again for playing. I look forward to the final round and finding out who the second IFC champion will be. :)
See you on January 4th if everything goes well! <3

leaderboard.png

Wins-XP-Level

I was a little unsure about how to do the leaderboard this season without being too confusing, so... I'm going to put those who have won points from season 2 on top, and will keep those from season 1 on the bottom.

I think at the end of the season I will likely combine both season 1 and 2 scores together. If you played in season 1 you still have your exp and items, I'm just showing it this way so it's easier to keep track of who is in their proper ranking place during the new season.

Also if you scored any points so far you are automatically entered into the finals as it only takes 1 point this season to get entered into the finals. Players from last season will not be entered into the finals unless they score at least 1 point during this new season 2.

Season 2 stats.

@ayushjalan 5-54-0
@jbreheny 3-47-0 previous season score is 1-12-0
@bengy 2-33-0 previous season score is 1-10-0
@leaky20 2-30-0
@shaheerbari 2-25-0
@lordless.exile 2-18-0
@owietus 1-16-0
@plushzilla 0-13-0 previous season score is 3-30-0
@simplymike 1-10-0 previous season score is 1-08-0
@nmcdougal94 1-09-0
@wholeself-in 1-09-0 previous season score is 1-09-0
@ecoinstant 0-09-0
@bloggerkrunal 0-09-0
@mistakili 1-08-0
@bashadow 0-02-0 previous season score is 4-43-1
@quotes-haven 0-01-0
@sassypuffin 0-01-0

Season 1 stats.

kryptocek 6-53-1 Sacred Crystal
bashadow 4-43-1 ???
plushzilla 3-30-0
amariespeaks 3-23-0
har5h 2-59-1 KryptoCheck Shield
iexplore 2-36-0
eaglespirit 2-35-0
mr-bike 2-18-0
youhavewings 2-16-0
jan23com 1-48-1 Occult book + eye
sandrina.life 1-14-0
jbreheny 1-12-0
artgirl 1-11-0
magicalmoonlight 1-11-0
bengy 1-10-0
swolesome 1-09-0
wholeself-in 1-09-0
kenneth1 1-09-0
warpedpoetic 1-09-0
auminda 1-09-0
simplymike 1-08-0
xomegax 1-08-0 now a judge
bitpizza 1-07-0
losthippie 1-07-0
boladayl 1-06-0
noisyboy 1-05-0
giddyupngo 1-05-0
grizzman 0-08-0
deliberator 0-04-0
sophiabydesign 0-02-0
lynncoyle1 0-01-0
nxtblg 0-01-0
yura81 0-01-0
mnallica 0-01-0
lahvista 0-01-0
chrisroberts 0-01-0
laurawhite 0-01-0
beeyou 0-01-0
gerrardihno 0-01-0


Click to enter the Discord chat room.

Click to go to the rules page.

20180421_151139_0001.pngOriginal by @yeszuzia and modified by @charisma777

Sort:  

Two very tight races. Congrats @bengy and @owietus!

No offense but I filed a suit with the Supreme Court on the judges count from Georgia... J/K.

Well done everyone!

Very close contest. Well done to everyone who participated!

Bro i honestly apologize for not turning up an entry, I came up blank, I kept hoping i will be able to come up with something till all the time went by, yet nothing, I don't even know why despite the fact that i really looked forward to this particular session...the topic seemed like something ild like to try, the timing seemed enough, but my headspace just wasnt letting me...😩😩 i apologize

It's alright. No worries.

Sorry for not participating. I had nothing to for the longest time this year and then I went back to work in october and by coincidence increased my hours the week that the finals started. I thought I'd have time to submit an entry but I just couldn't make it happen. I'm glad to see that others took part though. Congrats to the winners

No worries... It is what it is.

Congrats to the winners and really sorry for not submitting an entry my final semester papers started a couple of weeks ago so didn't even use social media during that period hopefully will turn up the next time of course

No worries man.

As we blossom or awaken, we begin to notice there is a force in the world that seems to be operating and leading us into a certain destiny. And it's very much a kind of detective effort on our own part to figure out what these things mean. The synchronicity is essentially a meaningful coincidence that brings us information at just the right time. While leading us forward, it also feels very inspiring and destined in a way. It feels like we're on a path of unfolding in our own personal evolution.

James Redfield

Source


All very interesting entries, and congratulations to the winners of this round. Thank you also @apolymask , for the opportunity to judge in this competition 🙏✌

You're welcome. :) Thank you for judging! <3

Oh, I didn't realise it was a duel between me and my old friend (nemesis!) @plushzilla!

Thanks to the judges for asking the time to read all the entries!

PS, where is plushie's entry? I want to read it, but it isn't on his hive blog.

Indeed! I felt like that was quite the "synchronicity" :D To answer your question... It's back in the main thread from that round, though I posted it in the comments for him as he was playing via email. I'll copy paste it again here for you and put the link as well if you wanna go look yourself.

"This is my entry for the topic Synchronicity. I am not sure how to categorize this piece of writing, so I'll just let you read it and see.

Places, people and times in the canvas of life - IFC S2R1 finals

I have spent the last six months working intensely on a project with a friend who is living in the same city as me. Contrary to the many people who have sought comfort and solace in reaching out to people overseas who they don't have to have the guilt of not being able to meet in person physically, I made a stronger connection to a friend who I didn't know very well before the pandemic hit the country in early March of this year.

She had a very simple idea, to develop an app to help foster and develop an appreciation of the arts, but aimed at younger children (say 6-10 years of age), and since she is an illustrator/design and her husband is a developer, there is essentially no upfront cost other than the time and energy that they need to invest in this project. And since I am one of those people who can't help themselves in joining these types of crusades involving education and creating a better future for the next generation, I ended up with the task of translating the stories that she had written about 30 different paintings from 3 galleries around the world (so 10 for each gallery/museum) into English so that they can be shared to a wider audience.

But this is not about the app, even though that's where the connection initially started. I embarked on a journey of discovery and learning, which made me realize just how things come together in life sometimes. I suppose that's the synchronicity that people talk about, so I will illustrate with two examples.

The first happened while I was sitting on the couch and watching a re-run of a James Bond movie (you'll know the title if you remember this scene I am about to describe). It was a movie I had seen many times before, and this particular scene took place at the National Gallery of London with Bond meeting the new quartermaster. He sits in front of a painting and ponders about something, but this time it made perfect sense to me why they chose this particular painting and how it relates to the theme of the story. It took a re-connection with someone who I didn't know very well previously, a project that we poured our energy and enthusiasm into, and a re-run of a movie for me to understand the potential impact of what we are trying to do.

In this second example I am the one in the gallery, and I am walking through aimlessly and feeling a bit lost at all the different artworks and not really connecting with anything on display. Then for some reason a painting catches my attention, it was really just out of the corner of my eye but I walked up to it. Turns out that it was a landscape painting inspired by a scenery that the artist saw when she visited the place. It was actually a place that I have travelled to recently (well, less than three months ago), again with a friend who I had not seen for a while and she asked me to go on a driving trip there. And while I was there she introduced me to a man who was the owner of the cafe we dined at, who told me about his son starting a law clerkship with a very well respected judge, and it turns out that this woman was the wife of a man that I am friends with.

I guess there isn't anything particular special about these stories, but somehow it made me realize that there are lots of connections that we can only make when we are with the right people, at the right place and at the right time, and possibly working on the right things as well. This is what the IFC feels like to me sometimes, an invisible connection that pulls us from all corners of the world together to create something simple but valuable.

Best wishes to all those who have stayed for the journey. I hope that you have all managed to endure the difficulties of what has been a very tough year, and that we will get through this together and come out much stronger and more resilient :)"

https://hive.blog/informationfinding/@ifc/ifc-finals-s2r1

Thanks, it's also a good one!