You Will Respect My Synchronicitah! IFC Finals S2R1

in #ifc3 years ago (edited)

First and foremost, I want to thank @apolymask for maintaining his passion for the IFC. It takes a lot to keep chugging on when you run into roadblocks and challenges but you have proven that you have the fortitude and sticktoitiveness to continue your passion. I truly appreciate you. You rock man!

I'll be the first to admit it's a struggle to find the time to write an entry much less a post or blog outside of the contest. I started a blog outside of Steemit (apparently now Hive) a couple of years ago to chronicle our adventures and share how we made money while living in an RV and traveling the country and I haven't even made the time to do anything on there in quite some time. Excuses, excuses!

To be honest, my first thought when I saw that the subject for this first round of the IFC finals was synchronicity I thought to myself "Fuck, that's going to have to be deep. How am I going to find the time to show everyone the incredibly deep thoughts and true genius that is my psyche?" I was almost all ready to tap out right then and there because for all of its genius my psyche's a pretty scary place too. Nah, forget that. I'll just do what I do best which is to throw down some serious ** blahblahblahery.

Anyhow, let's get on to the subject at hand... Synchronicity.

Since I'm both a musician and a self-proclaimed lazy writer I've decided to simply share a song that was written by the band The Police. I'll admit they've never been one of my favorite bands but NO we should NOT defund them!

Let's go ahead and start with the lyrics.

*** "Synchronicity II"

Another suburban family morning.
Grandmother screaming at the wall.

We have to shout above the din of our Rice Crispies
We can't hear anything at all.
Mother chants her litany of boredom and frustration,
But we know all her suicides are fake.

Daddy only stares into the distance
There's only so much more that he can take.
Many miles away something crawls from the slime
At the bottom of a dark Scottish lake.

Another industrial ugly morning
The factory belches filth into the sky.
He walks unhindered through the picket lines today,
He doesn't think to wonder why.
The secretaries pout and preen like cheap tarts in a red light street,
But all he ever thinks to do is watch.
And every single meeting with his so-called superior
Is a humiliating kick in the crotch.
Many miles away something crawls to the surface
Of a dark Scottish loch.

Another working day has ended.
Only the rush hour hell to face.
Packed like lemmings into shiny metal boxes.
Contestants in a suicidal race.
Daddy grips the wheel and stares alone into the distance,
He knows that something somewhere has to break.
He sees the family home now looming in his headlights,
The pain upstairs that makes his eyeballs ache.
Many miles away there's a shadow on the door
Of a cottage on the shore
Of a dark Scottish lake
Many miles away [7x]

And then, for your listening pleasure here's the song.

Screen Shot 2020-11-29 at 9.49.10 PM.png

Footnotes:
** This is a new word recently coined by myself. Blahblahblahery; Ones ability to randomly speak or write in a lazy manner without having to put in too much thought or effort and still be entertaining, informative, and interesting. Even if only mildly.

Side note: I apologize to anyone who doesn't appreciate my blahblahblahery, truly I do but PHOOEY on you!

*** Yes, yes I know the song posted is called Synchronicity 2. Let's not get caught up in the details. This is a much better song in my opinion than Synchronicity 1 and the subject of this round was supposed to be Synchronicity 2 anyhow. Paul told me so.

**** You may have also noticed that there isn't a footnote that includes only one *. This is because starting a sentence in the markdown editor with a * attempts to start a bulleted list. Just sayin'.

Credits and Citations:

My special thanks to YOU!
Thank you to anyone who actually read through this post. It is my sincere hope that everyone is staying safe and healthy in these uncertain and trying times. Remember, we are all brothers and sisters living here on Planet Home. Sincerely, jbreheny... Keeping it real since 1968!

I'd love it if you visit my blog at Trippin Brehenys and let me know what you think. Brutally honest feedback is welcome!

And check out our YouTube channel as well... Trippin Brehenys on YouTube

Sort:  

You're welcome for maintaining my passion. :) I see this as a lot more than just a game and I'm optimistic and hopeful to see where it goes in time. :)

Thank you as well for doing all you do, you rock in your own diversity of unique ways!

I was synchronystically here shortly after you posted and I appreciate you for finding some time to play, sounds like you're pretty busy as I think most of us are.

Even though you described your entry as sort of "random/lazy" (perhaps a bit self deprecating?) you also said that's what you do best and I enjoyed it and thought it was good especially because it made me laugh a number of times and reintroduced me to some old music I remember from when younger especially when working with my father and it was on the radio, though... Never knew that's what the lyrics said until just now when I read them, lol... Interesting... Not totally sure I get how the lyrics relate, yet still interesting and nostalgic.

I also loved the Cartman play on words with synchronicitah! Very clever, I get what you're saying about being entertaining in regard to the "random/lazy" stuff and I think that's the sign of a great artist when you can just quickly and easily come up with good content that others appreciate without too much effort, so definitely props on that! :)

Thank you for the entry and for the laughs and interesting thoughts and for the kind and supportive and encouraging words at the end. Same to you! I hope you're safe and healthy too!

I will check out your page and your YouTube channel again and see some of what you've been up to, hope things have been going awesome for you and your family! All the best to you man.

Synchronicity 2 is a great song

Side note: I apologize to anyone who doesn't appreciate my blahblahblahery, truly I do but PHOOEY on you!

The Police might appreciate it:

Haha, great tie in! I think R2D2 had some input on the lyrics to this song.

Congratulations @jbreheny! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You got more than 900 replies. Your next target is to reach 1000 replies.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP