Steem Saturday - Coming to a city near you!

in #incubation8 years ago (edited)

Steem Saturday is an event where the steemit community gets together to learn more about Steemit, BlockChain and Cryptocurrency.

I posted a similar article a few weeks ago, but my follower base subsequently grew. I therefor want to re-initiate the idea of what we call Steemit Saturday with this post. Thank you to all who responded to the first post.. We will be in touch.


The website will look similar to the image above. This is just an example and the events are not arranged or planned yet

I am becoming more and more involved in the Steemit community. I have been involved in business and in IT industry for the past 21 years and I said in a post earlier this week, I have not seen such an amazing opportunity like this in my days.

I am feeling so strong about this opportunity that my partners and I am willing to add the Blockchain, Steemit, the Steem platform and crypto currency into our business strategic planning for the future. I am working behind the scenes every day to create a incubation company, where we will have a team of developers, investors, marketers, business leaders with innovation at the heart of their business involved in the initiative. I believe that this is required, to develop the Steem platform further and to ensure that this technology can be applied as a solution to real world problems.

We ( @robertm and I) are in the processes of defining our basic rules against which we will be comfortable to take new blockchain (Steem) products to market. Although not a disqualifying factor, one of the key aspects that we will be looking for from the person bringing a new idea to the incubation company, is that we will be encouraging applications, where the solution requires an aspect, where real-world currency will flow into the Steemit eco-system. I will explain the basic rules in a future post.

This is key for the long term success of the platform and should be close to the heart of each of us. You can read more about the incubation company in a post which I made earlier this week here

It should be clear that everybody on the platform has an interest to make the Steemit platform work. I know that Steemit itself is still in beta version, and we are experiencing growing pains of getting to the point where most users are satisfied. We will never be able to satisfy all users on the platform.

What is Steem Saturday?

steem-saturdayfinal53ea7.png
Due to the fact that the application has a community stretching across all continents. We need to do ground work in each country to expand the user base in each of the countries where Steemit has a presence and community. Yes sure, the Steemit Meetup's are happening informally and we are meeting the people on the other side, writing the articles.

I have been an evangelist in the Microsoft SharePoint community for many years and have been a speaker at many events. One of the things that emerged globally was what is called SharePoint Saturday. There is a SharePoint event held, each Saturday somewhere in the world. The event is held on a Saturday morning from 08:00 - 13:00 and we always hope to plan to have at least 1 international speaker at the event. The rest of the speakers are made up of the community leaders for the specific country.

Our aim is to do the exact same thing - Steemit Saturday -, but for this to work, I need assistance from individuals and community leaders in each of the countries where there is a community. Don't worry it will not cost you money, we only people in the community to manage the and arrange the event. It will only take some of your time and we will provide the platform for the management of the events globally. The event will be funded by local community sponsors in each city. Financial institutions, large auditing firms, and various other large organisations will easily spend the money for some advertising space at the event. We also allow the sponsor of the event, one speaking slot to promote their organisation as long as it is in line with the subject of the event. These are not expensive events.

It is free to attend the event, but space will be limited to 100 - 120 attendees.

Infrastructure

We will create a website, which will be available to the organisers of the event. The front page will be similar to the image above. We will limit the attendance of the event at 100 - 120 attendees only, which will be decided on a first come first serve basis when users confirm attendance on the website.

Speakers

Speakers at the event, will be thought leaders in the Steemit community, blockchain, crypto-currency, new developments on the platform and the industry.

So what happened as a result of SharePoint Saturday?
Celebrities / Speakers emerged and all they do for a living now is travel and speak somewhere in the world each Saturday.

I do not want to single out anybody from the rest of the community, but people like @stellabelle, @liberosist,@kyriacos, @williambanks, @infovore , @piepiper , @cryptogee , @smooth, @craigrant , @lehard , @gavvet and many others, you will be an excellent speakers at an event like this. I am planning to have the first event in Johannesburg South Africa, end October 2016.

I would like to invite anybody that is interested to be speakers at these events to please communicate with me via the comment section below.

Each event will be planned as follow:

Friday Evening: Speakers Dinner - Attended by all the speakers from the Saturday including the Whales which are invited for the specific event and the event organisers from the specific country.
Saturday - The main day of the event. Starts at 08:00 - 12:00. Opening Key Note (30 Minutes), followed by various speakers (45 Minute Slots). Speakers to be confirmed but should include Whales, area specific authors and developers. The day will be closed off at 12:00 followed by drinking a few beers and mingling.
Sunday: The Speakers will be entertained by the organisers of the event for that city / country at local venues.

Image Credit

So what do we need from you?

Please support the initiative and volunteer to arrange the event in your city. We can even have multiple events in any specific country. We only need 48 events across the globe, to have an event somewhere in the world every week (Considering December/January has only two work weeks.

Calling all organizers

Please get in contact with me either on Steemit Chat / the comments section of this post, or by sending me an email to [email protected].

Events like these will assist Steemit and the steem platform to become a household name, market and popularize the currency and platform.

Your comments would be appreciated.

@ned, @dantheman, it will be an honor to entertain you in South Africa , if you could volunteer to as Keynote speakers, for our first event scheduled for the end of October 2016.

Any of the whales, would you be willing to come and speak, we really need your support. Please let me know.

Happy Steeming


Sort:  

what a fantastic idea! i've been looking to arrange one here , just wanna keep spreading the word!!

thx for sharing!

Depending on the date and times I will commit to be there in Johannesburg. I may be able to assist you in planning this in Jhb, so I will make contact in the SteemChat.

Excellent , thanks @spartanza for contacting me in Steemit Chat ! ... It sounds like we might have our first commited speakers all :)

Honoured

Thank you for sharing, I think this is a great idea in promoting steemit and I can't wait to join one of the events.

jest też w Polsce :)

Dlaczego nie zorganizować wydarzenie w twoim mieście?

I would attend a meeting in Boston as its not too far of a drive for me but I don't have the time or regular access to that city to assist in planning.

Thank you @justtryme90 , I will let you know if we have a taker to arrange the meeting in your area... Thanks for the comment... Chat soon

Great initiative! Bringing a "real world" presence to steemit is indeed important. When taking things offline and into real life it makes it more credible and comfortable for the masses.

Exactly @scaredycatguide , I only see money going out... and we need some real world applications to get some investment into the platform. We have some wonderful ideas, which should hopefully be backed with investment into the platform. Unfortunately nothing in the investment world happens fast. It all takes time. Appreciate your comments and participation in the conversation. Chat soon.

I am with you and support what you are doing.
This is indeed a platform with revolutionary potential and I have seen it, thus am embracing/investing fully.
I am sure I can arrange/facilitate and speak if you wish. Let me know.
I support and follow regardless~
Best regards~*~

Thank you @quinneaker , which city / country are you from?

I would love to have a meeting close to the Western New York area or travel to the nearest one. I need a little time to look further into this, but love the initiative and only see great benefits and no negatives coming from this!

Would love if you could arrange the event in the Western New York area... To be honest, I would love to be a speaker at this event :) Consider it, we will provide the required support.

Wonderful initiative. All the best with this, I would attend!

Nice article

Good effort but my city is not on the list. :-)

Hi @ace108, the list is just an image of what the website might look like. I am looking for people to arrange events like this in your city. Where are you from and would you be interested in arranging such an event? We will support you with the infrastructure (website to manage the the bookings etc. Let me know... Thanks

Oh I see. Sorry, my bad. I'm from Singapore. Sounds interesting. Not sure if I'm up to it but share with me some details or sync up on steemit.chat

Will catch up in Steemit chat. You are up to it :) as we will provide the required support. Beautiful city by the way:)

Ah couple of our icons on the picture.

This is a great idea. Keep steeming.

This post has been linked to from another place on Steem.

Learn more about linkback bot v0.3

Upvote if you want the bot to continue posting linkbacks for your posts. Flag if otherwise. Built by @ontofractal

If there were to be an event in Scotland I would be happy to volunteer to arrange. I think I might have to put out a feeler post as I do not think that steemit has made much impact here yet

If there were to be an event in Scotland I would be happy to volunteer to arrange. I think I might have to put out a feeler post as I do not think that steemit has made much impact here yet