India? Isn’t it Dangerous?! 10 Travel Tips to Stay Safe in India

in #india6 years ago

“India? By yourself? Are you crazy?! These were the first words I would hear in about 80% of my first conversations about my coming solo trip to India.

“Are you in India? Is the smell of trash and shit bearable? Did you get sick yet? Pls don’t get murdered.” These were the first replies to my ‘I made it and I’m alive’ texts back home.

Maybe my friends and family members tend to be pessimistic, but just to make sure, tell your parents you are making a trip to India alone for your next vacation. (Let me know how that goes please.)

There tends to be a lot of fear and worries tied to India’s reputation as a vacation destination. And by no means, should they all be blankly dismissed, because they aren’t wrong. India is not the safest place to travel to—if it were, it would be another overrun tourist trap. And that’s the beauty of it. India is still largely untouched by huge resorts and hotels and luxurious shopping malls (which are always systematically left untouched by poor locals). India is still rugged and rustic and a bit dangerous, but beautiful like none other.

A place so raw and real has its faults, its mysteries. I hope this article helps you navigate India like a pro from the get go. I’ve demystified India’s five largest risks and dangers to travelers (using the worried voices of friends and loved ones) and I offer ten travel tips and tricks to make your trip safe, and keep you as healthy and happy as possible!

But what if you get sick and die?

So, unfortunately, this is pretty true. You will get sick, at least once. This is because the water quality and sanitation levels of food storage and cooking are lower than our stomachs are used to in the Western countries. Unless you have a stomach made of steel, you probably can’t prevent getting delhi belly, but there are some ways that can help reduce the risk (and not die).

1. Bring Probiotics, Electrolytes, and Charcoal Tablets.

You should actually take probiotics, always. Probiotics are the good bacteria that help protect your stomach, the digestive system, and boost your immune system.

The electrolytes, which are chemicals that form ions that many bodily functions rely on, are to keep your cells hydrated during the blazing hot days, and (after one wrong meal) long, shitty nights.

And lastly the charcoal tablets are simply a godsend. Activated charcoal is used in water filtration systems all around the world, as it can trap impurities in unclean water. Imagine that in your stomach. Activated charcoal removes toxins from your stomach, promoting a healthy digestive track, and can also remove gas and bloating, you may encounter from all the spices and flavors you aren’t used to.

2. Follow the Locals, Eat Veg Only.

To my meat-lovers out there, I know it’s hard. I was once just like you. But imagine the journey of meat from the butcher onto your plate, in India (and no, I don’t mean morally; that comes later). Meat travels from farms to butchers, butchers to markets, markets to chefs, in a state where a majority of the population does not eat, nor handle meat.

Imagine the different disease and bacteria living in meat, meat that may sit around for a day, maybe days, flies with itty bitty diseased hands and feet buzzing around, a power outage for a couple of hours, and then bam in comes you, demanding a slab of meat. If the chefs don’t properly clean their boards, their cooking instruments, their hands, if the chefs don’t properly cook the meat through, killing all of the germs and bacteria, there goes three hours to two days, maybe weeks of your dream adventure. (Plus, look how cute D:)

A majority of India’s population is Hindu and believes cows are sacred; in fact, 18 states in India outright banned the slaughter and consumption of beef. When in doubt (and much of the meat does look doubtful), follow the local’s ways. India has perfected vegetarian meals and menus, so don’t worry about having a lack of delicious protein replacements.

3. Drink Clean Water, or you might die.

Locals bathe, do their laundry, and drink the holy water of the Ganja every morning. I watched the majestic lake flowing from afar, carefully sipping water from my bottled water, clutching my already upset stomach.

The quality of water is simply not what is should be in developing nations. Fortunately, locals seem unscathed and rarely get sick to drinking any water. Unfortunately for us, we will become destroyed if we accidently get some water in our mouths as we swim, let alone drink it.

Depending on the strength of your immune system: brush your teeth with bottled water. Independent of the strength of your immune system, ONLY DRINK BOTTLED WATER, taking note of a sealed cap at the time of purchasing.

4. Do not consume that which was made with tap water.

The high heat used in kitchens can destroy most bacteria in unclean water. So unless ice and fresh salads can be cooked, don’t order drinks with ice or anything that would be washed in said unclean water: salads, fruit platters, smoothies, fruit juices, etc. To be honest, in the 100-degree heat, there were days I said YOLO and ordered a delicious strawberry banana lassee (which are really to die for), and then I would soon thereafter die for a couple of hours in the closest bathroom. Order at your own risk, but you’ve been warned.

Also, take care of that which has been “washed” from unsanitary water: plates, dishes, and utensils. I like to carry my own fork around, and use straws to put an extra layer between cups and me (I have trust issues, I guess). Don’t be afraid to give utensils an extra rub with a napkin and avoid scraping your bowl clean.

OKAY, maybe I sound more like a concerned parent than a badass experienced traveler, but this experienced traveler has had two too many tummy aches during my stay in India that I would love to help you avoid. In the traveler world, we all have that friend or two that contracted really bad stomach bugs like E. coli from eating meat or drink unsanitary water. Don’t be deathly afraid of going outside and taking a bite of food, but also don’t leave your cautions (and charcoal tablets) at the door.

But what if monkeys attack you and kill you in your sleep?!

It’s just another Thursday. I wake up at the crack of dawn, feeling sore from yoga but pretty healthy and happy. I get ready and decide to go for a walk before class. Out the door, whistling a tune, backpack full of juicy bananas and nuts, I whiz past the hallways, gracefully ascend the stairs, one foot in front of the other, and then, I see *them. They are gathered in a circle, and they whisper and ooh-ooh and aah-aah like a group of killer monkey ninjas. I see them two seconds before one sees me and points. It was like a nightmare where suddenly everyone in the world slowly turns to you, a lethal look in their eyes, born and ready to kill, you. Then all at once, I began to scream and frantically jolted up the stairs, clawing to get back to my room, as I saw the eight monkeys close on my tail.

The monkeys are mostly calm and nice. But, there’s this one group, that I was personally encountered, and recount to be complete assholes. So, in truth, they weren’t killer ninja monkeys, and had they caught me, they wouldn’t have ripped me to shreds. The biggest risk with monkeys is there is no way to tell which are rabid and which are just rude and like to bite. Rabies can be fatal without immediate treatment; thus, if you get bitten or scratched, you must get six preventative rabies shots, which two of my friends received and made them feel awfully sick and weak. So, my advice?

5. No Monkeying Around

Don’t pet the monkeys. Don’t smile at the monkeys (baring teeth is a sign of threat in monkey terms!). If you have a spare banana to feed a monkey, don’t. It will only attract others, who will be mad at your favoritism. If you cross bridges and see monkeys from above or afar, hide all your food (they will attack you from above, one of the scarier things I’ve witnessed). Monkeys really have a wonderful sense of smell, so always conceal your food in plastic bags, and avoid eating in the open (if you know monkeys like to walk around).

6. Show no fear

Monkeys, like most animals, thrive on the fear of others when engaged in a threatening situation. Monkeys are smart and they know some humans are to be feared and some humans are to be toyed with. Which will you be? The best way to scare monkeys away, without actually using force or violence, is simply to carry a big stick, like a broomstick or something lying around the rubble.

But is transportation even safe?

The open roads, hair flying in every direction, a plushy travel to see the diverse terrain of India, it’s what we dream for, but not yet reality. I can’t speak on the longer bus and train rides, because I wasn’t in India long enough to be an expert, but by way of my research, I would suggest the upmost reservation of your body and items in local and overnight train and bus rides. And for women, using the women-only trains or sitting near other women and families.

The risk and dangers of transportation in India is both internal and external. Just on the way to Rishikesh, there was a huge traffic jam and ordeal, because a bus had flipped over the edge of the mountainous roads and instantly killing a little over 50 people. Further during my time in Rishikesh, I was in a slight motorbike accident, where I injured my ankle. The risks and dangers in transportation are very real and are to be wary of.

7. Only take transportation in which you could live with the risks

Though transportation is often a great place to slash the budget in, in India, I would personally pimp out my ride for longer drives. I think trains are relatively safe with the right precautions, but bus accidents are known to happen all the time. (And if you spend some time in the mountains, looking at the roads and how fast drivers go, it might not be too surprising.)

Further, the idea of biking down the rough terrain of India in a rad motorcycle sounds good and fun, but getting into an accident is definitely not. So if you are a newbie, you might want to take a crash course, somewhere with flatter land (and with good insurance)

Do ample research on transportation before your journey, and only take risks you can live with.

But what if you get kidnapped and murdered?!

India is a developing country and that means more risks and dangers for travelers than visiting, let’s say, Hawaii, and of course that risk doubles if you are, like me, a solo-woman traveler. Does that mean you’ll get kidnapped and raped? Most likely not. But does it occur? Yes. That’s just a fact.

I’m not trying to scare you; I just don’t want to disillusion you. I want you experience this mystic and beautiful land for yourself, but I also want you to stay on your toes and not mistake India for a place where nothing bad ever happens, and I speak from personal experience. These are a few tips I have compiled to ensure you a safe and lovely adventure (mainly for women):

8. Travel Modestly

I know. This body is yours and you can dress it like the hot mama you are. I FEEL YOU, but there is a time and place for that, and India is not it. I learned this the hard way, when I wore a bikini to a waterfall. Simply because of my race, people were always staring, I was used to it. But my race, plus cleavage and legs, and tattoos and piercings, made it impossible for locals to not gawk and gaze, and take pictures of my nearly bare bod. I understand this sounds like victim blaming, but it’s how it is in India. Gender equality is not yet a thing, so while it angers me, I have to understand and adapt myself to my particular situation.

Bring a one piece, and shorts on top to swim in. Cover up your cleavage and your skin to your shoulders and at least your knees (even with the blazing heat). Use a scarf or shawl to cover your head and shoulders. Immerse yourself in the way of the locals; both you and the locals will feel more comfortable if you do so.

9. Reserve your Right to say No

Don’t feel obligated to do anything you don’t entirely feel comfortable doing—this is not an India rule, but a life rule. Feel liberated with using no. No to pictures, no to men touching your waist during a simple conversation (as if the privilege of speaking to you is an invitation to touching you {no, no, no}), no to them trying to offer you a massage, no (unfortunately) to free food (out of the sense of obligation: they bought you a drink/meal, now you have to talk to them or more); no, no, no, no, no.

Obviously if you are comfortable and excited about some attention of a local, you own your right to saying yes. And don’t be a dick with your no’s. But I want you to know it’s okay to say no and stand firm.

10. Travel Confidently

I know this post is a little scary to hear all the risks written down in front of you, but you are a strong badass traveler. If you made it this far down and you’re still doing the damn thing, don’t let them see you shake. Walk the streets of India with pride and confidence for you are too powerful to be shaken down.

That being said, don’t tell any local it is your first time in India (ESPECIALLY storeowners and tourist companies). Always have a backup plan. Tell men you’re taken, even if you aren’t. Tell people you are older than you are (if you’re like me and in your early 20’s). Even in hotels, make sure your lock works and staff cannot get in while you are inside, like when you are sleeping. When receiving massages, request only women. And be wary of the wandering “sadhus”, gurus or holy men.

Last but not least, take care of alcohol and drug consumption. At the end of the day, it’s your choice, but please I implore you to at the very least limit your drinks and use the buddy system. (It’s never the women’s fault for being drunk and having fun, but nonconsensual sex occurs more often when the woman is intoxicated.)

Whew, and that’s all of them. Obviously, this isn’t an exhaustive list (or it would be 50 pages instead of five), and there are more tips for specific regions, but I hope this article gives you a nice overview of some potential risks and give you some ideas to alleviate such hazards. IF you think I missed out any big ones, please comment below! Thank you for reading, and I hope you have the time of your life.

xoxo

Sort:  

I commend you for visiting India and that too, alone? Real badassery right there! I also apologise for the times people made you uncomfortable here and for those monkeys being dicks to you. Our country has been tortured from time to time by invaders for centuries and it takes time for the collective wounds to heal. It's also very difficult managing more than a billion people without enough resources but we're trying. That is the one thing you'll find in most Indians, the will to not give up however bad the circumstances be. I'm sure you must have met with those people as well on your visit.
From your pictures, it seems like you've been in the Northern part of the country. Uttar Pradesh, Delhi, Uttarakhand? There's a huge community of steemit users there who I'm sure would like to meet you and help you in case of any problem. I live in the Southern part of the country and you're welcome to hang out if you find yourself in Bangalore anytime.
Again, it's very brave of you to take this journey alone. I cannot emphasise enough how important it is for people to learn and know the real India as opposed to that portrayed in the Bollywood movies and you're doing a damn good job at that. Thank you. I'm resteemig this, for everyone needs to read it.

Thank you so much for your thoughts and comment. The monkeys aren't all dicks, but a couple of my friends had to get the rabies shots after getting bit, so it's better being safe than sorry! I completely understand; India has had a rough history, but I do admire your country's resilience. And I have seen such kindness in India. I actually would very much like to be back in India sometime soon, so it means a lot! Thanks again for stopping by. (:

Thank you for sharing! I will remember your tips in the summer :-)