Sort:  

Linex is what palnet choked upon, and since it is a blockchain and permanently searchable, googke is okay, since they will be analyzing it anyway.

But I am looking for a purpose built unix phone.

:)>

Why Unix and not Linux?

Unix based, I am open to all!

My assumption is that due to the limited processing power in a hand held, combined with limited storage capacity; that a minimal system will be the most likely OS.

A Linex install, will cost 20 to 30 G of memory.

:)>

There are different kinds of Linux operating systems and other forks or spin-off OSes too and some of them are less than 10 G of memory. So, in other words, I'm not talking about Ubuntu and some of the different flavors of Ubuntu for example as they can be bigger than 20 G depending on the programs you download. Some of it can be customizable. But Ubuntu is an example of a larger Linux-based OS. But don't let the larger heavyweights scare you away. But of course, Linux is like a grandchild of Unix. So, if the OS is lightweight and if it does the job, then that is good. I've not used Unix OSes yet but I probably should experiment on some of them. I may need to have smaller OSes for older or smaller computers, phones, devices, etc.

The effort to align and function with the cell system Is what worries me. I am confident that I can force a phone to run unix, but making it work with the cell tower software is much more difficult!

I run Ubuntu here, beginning with ver 6.04; a long time ago....

:)>

But isn't the SIM card supposed to work with the cell tower software? Isn't it more the job of the removable SIM card and not the actual phone itself? Sure, the phone sends out the messages using the hardware, the actual physical parts inside the phone, but isn't the SIM card supposed to have the ability to talk to whichever towers they were designed to talk with? I mean, are some phones talking to cell phone towers without the SIM cards? When I take out my SIM card, I can't talk to the towers or is there a way to still talk to towers without the SIM cards? I use Ubuntu Mate 16.04. Version 6.04 is before my time. I started using Ubuntu around version 8 or 9. But Ubuntu has been improving since then. Now, it is at version 20.

The sim card is your account information kind of like a key. The phone's OS controls the output, both frequency (channel), power levels (los in town), and Tower hopping coordination.

But I do want a Unix phone!

The phone hardware must match the carrier's tower you want to use too....

♡♡♡