Swollen -Inktober

in #inktober6 years ago

swollenTH.jpg

Working on my 17th drawing for Inktober

After a busy morning of applying wax, inks and salt to my paper I have finally completed my drawing for day 17 of Inktober. The Inktober prompt suggestion for the 17th is Swollen, and interesting prompt for the day! After a little research I took inspiration from microscopic images of cells, and particles.

Swollen:

verb

a past participle of swell.

  1. to grow in bulk, as by the absorption of moisture or the processes of growth.
  2. Pathology. to increase abnormally in size, as by inflation, distention, accumulation of fluids, or the like...

Source:Dictionary.com

inksplat.png

2018promptlistSML.jpg
Source: https://inktober.com/rules/

I have decided to get out my ink pens and join in with Inktober, you can find more details about Inktober on the website: https://inktober.com/.

3inkmarks.png

Creating the drawing

The initial stages of preparing the paper involved candle wax, a piece of bent wire,a cigarette lighter, salt, water and ink.

October20.jpg

inkspreading.gif

October21.jpg

Once dry...

The image was placed under sheets of absorbent paper and ironed to get rid of some of the excess wax, making it easier to draw over the surface with a dip pen.
October22.jpg

October23.jpg

The next stage was to use my old dip pen and black drawing inks to add the curved lines.
swollenBRD.jpg

3inkmarks.png

'Swollen'

swollenM.jpg

Ink and wax on paper

6inkmarks.png

pagefooterL.png

If you want to see some of my previous ink illustrations check out DWELLING, an illustrated crime novel collaboration between myself and fellow Steemian @dougkarr, set in New York’s Lower East Side. Dwelling is now available in print and ePub.

Image uploaded from iOS.jpg

Dwelling available on Amazon

Redbubble shop

Sort:  

Delicious chaotic flow, I kind of want to lick it too. maybe it's the salt.

Tasty art! Maybe a bit too much rock salt for my taste though.

Hello @opheliafu, thank you for sharing this creative work! We just stopped by to say that you've been upvoted by the @creativecrypto magazine. The Creative Crypto is all about art on the blockchain and learning from creatives like you. Looking forward to crossing paths again soon. Steem on!

I really liked how you represented the slogan of the day. How much work to achieve this beautiful work dear friend @opheliafu.
The work as always is great
I wish you a wonderful day

Yes, there were quiet a few stages involved in this, and a fair bit of drying time in between. Glad you like the results.

I love this! ...is it a wolf, alion or a dog?...whatever it is it's awesome!!
Cheers opheliafu! :)

Wow, it's incredible! It would be incredible to have it in a painting in my house.
I love your style