THE PROCESS 5: Fail or Cheat?

in #inspiration6 years ago

sophocles1.jpg

In the last episode, I tried to throw a little light on the impact of easy way outs, short cuts and bypasses on result and output. Building on that, I want to bring a concept that envelopes these subjects to the fore. I want to deal with CHEATING! It's a subject that makes people get indignant, but I will go there.

There are a number of ways to define and describe cheating. In my opinion, cheating is a breach of process. When results are gotten in ways that are contrary to the right process, that’s cheating. It does not matter how you try to look at it, CHEATING is CHEATING! Do not get yourself all beat up now, I have been a culprit sometime in the past. I have experienced the devastating effect of cheating on my person and mind set. Hence, I developed zero tolerance for cheating.

In my personal research into the reasons people cheat, I have come to realize that the most profound reason is the fear of failure. The fear of failure is the beginning of cheating. People cheat because they want to be seen as being successful, even if they have to cut corners.

One of the things I discovered about cheating is that it reduces your self-worth. The more you cheat, the less your worth. For every result you get through cheating, you will lack the boldness to talk about it. It dampens your confidence in your ability to do things the right way. Cheating makes you a prey to destiny predators.

I want to challenge you today to make a firm resolve to disown cheating, even if you have to fail. It is more honourable to be a chronic failure than to be a successful cheat.

I love you deeply.

Sort:  

Wonderful quote from Sophocles.

I found Steemit is a great place to fail but it turns out win-win because I learn from my failures. I'm not sure what cheaters learn.

There is a proverb in Korea that says "The rat with a long tail will be caught."

You are right. When you fail, you have an opportunity to learn than when you cheat.

Thanks @mineopoly for sharing your perspective.

You're welcome ^-^