Uncover the Hidden Treasure!

in #inspiration4 years ago (edited)

What is your "STRENGTH"? This is a question asked by our mentor who led us to pause for a moment and reflect. My brain was frozen, and I didn’t know what to say. What was I supposed to answer? On the other hand, the other members of the group answered it with ease and confidence. I wondered, " what about me?" It occurred to me that I didn’t have a ready answer for it. Oh, like tough oral math or physics exam that I was totally speechless.

72205943_2936516333044181_396627744315670528_o.jpg

I am indeed convinced that everyone has the innate ability or a skill to be developed within him or her. Are you convinced? But then when I was asked at that moment as if I was /what/ I was sweating cold. I was totally in doubt of what really my strength is. Why was it such a big deal for me? Oh, it is just because I am 29 years old (ha!).

Well, I like writing speeches, essays, and trying in poetry having the thought that one day I would have a platform to tell them to the world. I thought I was good at it, but I didn’t recognize that it is my strength. I had a blog in which motivated me to write more, yet soon forgotten. Additionally, I wanted my story to be heard, so I joined a speaking club, yet soon left. Do you know the main reasons I stopped to continue? It’s because of my lame excuses – It’s taking a lot of my time. I was not that good enough, and who would even care? I was stuck in these self-destructive thoughts. So destructive that caused me to be stagnant in a lot of areas of my expected growth.

I remember, the moment I stopped writing and attending speech club, I felt me that there was something within me that wanted to be freed. However, I insisted and kept myself in my comfort zone feeling comfortable, cozy, but flatly a loser.

You know what, I believe that all of us are given second chances or even more than that. The only thing is that, are we willing to embrace the chances and not to take them for granted. An author said, “A habit is broken by habit.” This is true, but then it is a hard truth for me to abide. But I needed to take it in the heart. I decided to kick my butt out of the warm, cozy shell where I have stayed for a long time. Was it difficult? Sure is. First, I created a new blog, for real. You can read my posts. Second, I rejoined Toastmaster International,2019. that’s why I am here. Consistency, commitment, determination clearing up my mind about my “why” – are the ingredients I badly need, so that no matter how countless excuses I might have, I won’t shrink back - I won’t give up.

82589871_2655814991133023_2903505828919115776_n.jpg

82379547_2708813609236277_7076602693455708160_n.jpg

Now, I have the ready answer to that question with confidence and faith. I have something that I can contribute to the world I am living in right now. I am a speaker who is not afraid to speak the truth with love and authority. I am a “writer” who is willing to use the power of words to impact my readers. As the theme posted the first time, I attended PUC Toastmaster Club highlighted, “life-long learning.” That is the journey I am excitedly and willingly go for.

Let me ask you: What is your strength?
Your strength is given to you to be maximized, so don’t just bury and let it die with you in the grave.
claystones.jpg
(photo credited to Hidden Treasure Within - Breakthrough with Pastor Bruce Edwards)

#goaloriented
#commitment
#consistency
#crackyourshell