So you want to live off the grid eh' Number 2

in #introduce6 years ago (edited)

image.jpeg
As I was saying, I was a princess and my husband, Chris was an outdoor type of guy. But somehow we worked real well together. We went camping once in a tent, and came home after three hours. So then we invested in a camper. When they say compromise makes a marriage, they are on point

Because I was raised in a European family , there were were certain ways things got done around the home, I invented the words pink jobs and blue jobs to get Chris to understand. See, there are pink jobs, dishes, vacuuming etc, and then there are blue jobs, which entail everything pink doesn't do. There are also lavender jobs which means blue can do a pink job and hence it becomes lavender ....... or vice versa (hahaha) and the household ran smoothlyimage.jpeg

image.jpeg
Now back to off the grid and how we eventually got here. We lived in a normal neighbourhood with everyone having 2.2 children, our lives revolved around our kids and their school, sports and part time jobs, and then one day, quite out of the blue, it happened so quickly that I really didn't see it coming, poof, they were gone.

We went from a home that used to be overrun with kids and their friends, that unmistakable scent of boy dirty socks and girls berry perfume, to quiet and nothing but a lot of empty rooms. . When the say it is a syndrome they are right, it very much is. I was shattered, I put my life on hold for 19 years and now I was faced with the question "what do I want to do when I grow up?"

image.jpeg
We went from 14 rooms to living in only 4. The house was too big, too quiet, too much work, but it was home, it held memories, it was us, all of us. The tug of war between dreaming of something different and holding on to our heart strings had begun...

Sort:  

Congratulations @miryana! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

You have my attention ... waiting to read what happens next. :)

Thanks 🙂 Sit down by the fire, I'll make us some tea :)

Sounds lovely! :)