The Bane of the Graduate

Yesterday I decided to get in on this site and posted my first article. Please check it out if you are into cryptocurrency at all. I was so excited about getting my first post up about a topic that I like to discuss I didn't even think of letting everyone know who I am, and why I believe the way I do. So this is me.

I am a guy who is 25, I have a BA in management, and administration, and I have been having a hard time finding a job. Now you might think that I am just complaining about how my life sucks, but it occurred to me that many other people my age might be in the same place. So lets get started.

My life really began to take shape when I was 15 years old. I have always liked Lego, and during my last year of high school my First Lego League robotics team won the Iowa state championship, and we got to go to the nationals in Goergia. We did alright there, and won another award.

FLLlogo.png

So that was cool, but there was one problem. At this point I had felt like I had a hangover for about a year every waking hour of the day. A week after I was on the top of the world with my team, I was in the hospital and they were telling me that I needed to have brain surgery for a tumor. There is one plus to that, I can always tell the ladies that my doctor told me that I had the biggest he has ever seen.

So since I am writing this you can tell that my family and I got through that, but there were some drawbacks. In high school I always did okay but I needed longer testing time since my reading rate got slowed down. In my junior year I had the rest of the tumor taken out, and bounced back a little better. You know what they say about practice making perfect? I got through high school, and then came college.

I had lots of friends in college, and we all helped each other out. The teachers were cool with accommodating my disability, and before I knew it my first semester was all over. So I took my books in to the campus buyback and then something occurred to me. I already knew what books I would need for my next semester, and I had a lot of cash. I took my money and my schedule back down the line and ask other students if any of them had the books that I needed.

Cash+for+books.jpg

That was cool, I saved myself some money and gave ten dollars more for the student then the buyback. It was a win win. The next time the buyback rolled around I tried this again, and had some extra cash left over. So I thought that I could give the students some more money, and sell their book on the internet. I did alright doing this in the union for a few terms. The teachers liked it since the students were getting more money, and they thought that I was pulling one over on the bookstore.

Needless to say the only people who did not like it were the ones working at the bookstore. Now there was one time I made two grand in a week doing this, and that was just buying the books that the bookstore was not buying back anyway. Someone was buying it somewhere.

I mean come on. Being a business student they were training me to do this. They were getting paid for me to go to school there, and I was taking what they taught me and using it. One would think that the institution would be pleased? So then I graduated after a little over four years. The next step was going to be taking on the world, finding that dream job, and moving up the corporate ladder.

corporate-ladder.jpg

Now I believe that the world's oldest asset is real estate, so I was going to get a job in some kind of housing. That was almost a year ago. I usually get the interview, but I always get the polite kiss of from the company. When I call them up the line is that there was someone with just a little more experience. Now I am a fan of the Michael J. Fox film The Secret of My Success, and I would recommend it to anyone who likes business satire. To Quote a line, "How am I supposed to get any experience if no one will hire me?"

The_Secret_Of_My_Success.jpg

Isn't that way we went to college? I mean my university tells people that 95% of graduates have a job within a year. The truth is in the details though, since they never said it was the job they were qualitied for in their desired field. I always thought that college was a farce. Here all my business teachers were saying that any way you can find to make a buck is great and innovative as long as it is not illegal, and all my humanities teachers were saying that was just so wrong.

They did not even have faculty that was agreeing and supporting each others outlooks? Now I have been in the working world for a little over a year, and it continues. Managers don't want intelligent staff who can make choices on their own, and think of better ways to do things. They want yes men. One time when I asked a senior coworker if there was a way to get a better way of doing something approved so that it could become better known within the company as a whole he told me no. "They have already thought of everything."

I have a BA in management, and the only job I can get is running freight. How many of others are like me? How many are intelligent and underappreciated? Who thinks they can run a company better than their boss? I would rather work as a fence, get more money, and be my own boss but it has not happened yet. If you want to hear more of my thoughts, and can related to what I am talking about please stay tuned. I do not think that the injustices of the world will be solved over night.
file_60067_bane-injustice.jpg

Sort:  

Welcome to Steem @csj9112011 I have upvoted and sent you a tip

Hola! I looked up your profile and saw that you have signed up recently so welcome to the great community of steemit. Have one upvote on the house and keep on doing you!
As a newcomer to steemit, it's not easy getting those big upvotes so you should try out @MinnowPowerUp where you can earn up to 30% more steem power than just powering up through steemit! It's a subscription based daily upvote bot that draws its power from a delegation pool. I have more info on my experience with the system in this post where I explain how I earn over $1 a day from upvotes.

Welcome to join Steem @ csj 9112011 I really appreciate you and I am ready to support you in steemit, may you become my new friend in steemit.

We can never have too many friends. I am very glad that you enjoy the story of who I am. It is interesting; coming back to work after a vacation and being depressed. I decided to write about it, and I think that the thoughts I have about the workplace and the environment will be a regular topic.