Introducing Me

in #introducemyself7 years ago

IMG_9643.JPG
(Pictured is myself and Justin Gatlin, ranked as the fastest 100m sprinter the past two years and rival to Usain Bolt)

Hi Steemit Community,
My name is Ian and I am a passionate runner and writer about track and field and all things running. I first started with coverage of Hawaii's 2016 State Track and Field Championships, but then I progressed and became a contributor to DyeStat and RunnerSpace - America's leading websites for everything about running. I then moved further to become somewhat of a freelance writer and decided to offer my talents to whichever company wanted me the most. This led me to submit two articles to MileSplit, another running based website. At this point I did not care about the money, all that mattered was being able to bring Hawaii's running programs into the national spotlight.

On the other hand, I created my own company known as The Hawaii Project with the goal of progressing the sport in Hawaii - a state which suffers from isolation - and as such, produces slower times in races. To do this, I began socializing with professional athletes to learn what makes them the elites of their sport; then I was able to bring the information back to Hawaii to improve the mindset - and training - of the high schoolers.

Looking back on the past three years of my life, I have come far in the way my life is heading. I was able to undergo a transformation from a someone who showed no interest in sports (and went through many surgeries) to being a full time athlete, writer, and Hawaii's only broadcaster of track and field. I was labeled as Hawaii's expert on high school running, and while that is an honor, I have a lot of work to go through in order to live up to the name. I hope you all will join me!

  • Ian, The Hawaii Project
Sort:  

Nice to meet you on this site @ian-t . Welcome To Steemit. This New House for blogger and good social network platform. Actually I ll wait for your great post. Two thumbs for your intro. I believe that u can be best blogger and contributor on this site. Keep Steem On and earn big money as a reward. Good luck guy !!. Im waitin for you to come. Visit my blog I ve latest post about photography and funniest meme. Let's check it out. Nice to meet you.

Thank you for your kind words! I can't wait to see the potential this site holds for me! I'll definately check out your page!

Hello there and justin gatlin is a legend! It is so great to see someome chasing its dream and do things that other seem bold. I mean Hawaii is nothing reminding me sports. So i tip my head off you and happy to see you getting some succeed there. Keep it on

Have fun steeming.

Thank you, I appreciate it! Glad to know there are friendly people here to welcome me to the community!

Welcome to the Steem Dream!!

Thank you! I'm glad to be here and am having fun learning how to use all of the functions!

Great post Ian. I think you have lots of potential in this community.

Welcome Ian. GREAT intro. You will love it here and do great. I LOVE Hawaii. I am a bit Biased. My kids are 1/4 Hawaiian as there mother is half.

Very interesting about your project. I always thought the athletes that come out of Hawaii are like super athletes...due to clean water, air, and food grown on the rich volcanic sand...and the GREAT Marcus Marriota having the fastest 40 time of any QB in the combine....but I guess football is a lot different than track. Anyhow admire your accomplishments. Best of luck.

Thank you @ericgordon ! I appreciate it! Hawaii's isolation plays a key factory in why the times aren't as fast. The lack of competition is important since all of the other states in the country have the options to drive to invitationals whereas we would have to spend the money to fly.

Also, the mentality of athletes and coaches plays a role.
Anyway, thank you for your response! I really appreciate it and hope you'll join me to progress the sport in Hawaii!

Welcome to Steemit @ian-t :)

Welcome Bot Banner

Make sure to participate in this weeks giveaway to get known in the community!

Here are some helpful tips to get you started:

Congratulations @ian-t! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You got your First payout

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!