Introducing myself // Presentación (Español // English)

in #introduceyourself6 years ago (edited)

IMG 1.png

¡Hola a todos en Steemit! // Hello everyone on Steemit!

Soy Ninoska, pero pueden llamarme Nino. Tengo 23 años y soy venezolana. Experimentaré escribiendoles en español y en inglés a ver que tal nos va. Antes de continuar, es importante que sepan que las Arepas son de Venezuela (no de Colombia) y que mi favorita es la Reina Pepiada.

I'm Ninoska, but you can call me Nino. I'm 23 years old and I'm from Venezuela. At the beginning I will try to write both in English and Spanish, if it goes smoothly I'll keep doing it... However, before going any further into this I have to clarify that Arepas are from Venezuela (not from Colombia) and my favorite is the one we call Reina Pepiada.

IMG 2.png

Actualmente estudio el último año de Arquitectura en la Universidad Simón Bolívar y trabajo en una oficina como pasante. El Diseño es parte importante de mi vida y de mi felicidad.

Currently I'm studying to be an architect in the Simon Bolivar University (I'm in my senior year), and I'm also doing an internship at an architecture office. Design is an important part of my life and one of those things that makes me happy.

IMG 3.png

En cuanto a mis otras pasiones: He hecho teatro. Toco guitarra. Leo poesía. Amo los caballos, así que seguramente publicaré mas fotos de caballos que de gatos, aunque se que estos últimos son mas famosos.

But my life is more than just design: I love acting, theater has been one of my biggest passions. I also enjoy playing the guitar and reading poetry. I love horses and there is a high probability that I'll be posting more pictures of horses than pictures of cats, although I know cats have more fans in the Internet.

IMG 4.png

También me gusta dedicar mi tiempo libre a escribir, dibujar, tomar fotos, ver cine iberoamericano y realizar manualidades. Y todo eso es mejor si estoy descalza, porque así sigo conectada al mundo cuando mi mente está volando.

I also like to use my spare time for writing, drawing, taking pictures, watching Ibero-American films and doing creative crafts. I like to do all these things barefoot because that way I’m still connected to the world while my mind is flying.

IMG 5.png

Del deporte solo me gusta verlo, porque soy muy floja para practicar alguno. Mis deportes favoritos son el futbol, el béisbol y la moto GP. Mis equipos son los mejores, también cuando pierden.

Sports is a tricky one because I prefer to watch them on the TV instead of actually practicing them (because I'm way too lazy). My favorite sports are soccer, baseball and MotoGP. And I'm a die hard fan of my teams even when they're going through bad streaks.

IMG 6.png

Algo completamente importante sobre mi es que soy parte del 12% de la población mundial que sufre de Migraña. La Migraña es un condición intermitente (a veces te ataca y a veces te deja libre) que altera los sentidos del cuerpo de tal manera que el sonido de una escoba al barrer puede aturdirte como una tiza que cruje en un pizarrón, o la tenue luz de un bombillo encandilarte como si estuvieras frente a los faros de un campo de béisbol. En las peores crisis puede incapacitarte totalmente. Anexo un video, que a pesar de que es sobre un niño Autista, explica perfectamente esta alteración de los sentidos de la que les hablo.

There's something very important you should know about me: I'm part of that 12% of the population that are diagnosed with migraine. Migraine is an intermittent medical condition (sometimes she's right there with you sometimes she's gone) that alters your body's five senses in a way that even the sound of a broom sweeping the floor can daze you as hard as that screech of a chalk against a blackboard. Even the weakest ray of light can make your eyes burn like if you were right in front of the lights of a baseball camp. When one of this hard crises attack, you can end like totally incapacitated for hours. Check the video below, I know it depicts an autistic patient, but it will accurately show how my senses behave when migraine settles in.

¿Por qué llamé @aboutqualia a mi blog?

Qualia es un término filosófico que se refiere a las cualidades subjetivas de todo lo que nos rodea, por ejemplo: lo rojizo del rojo o lo doloroso del dolor. Esto quiere decir, usando el mismo ejemplo, que ninguna persona ve la misma tonalidad de color rojo que ves tú y que ninguna persona podrá saber la intensidad del dolor que has sentido. Todo lo que percibimos es subjetivo porque depende de nuestras experiencias de vida y del funcionamiento de nuestros 5 sentidos.

El filósofo que lo inventó, Frank Jackson, lo explica de la siguiente manera:
“Soy aquello a lo que en ocasiones se le conoce como “un fanático de la qualia”. Pienso que hay ciertas características de las sensaciones (especialmente corporales), como experiencias perceptuales, que no contienen información puramente física. Puedes decirme todo lo físico que se pueda decir acerca de lo que sucede en un cerebro vivo, sus diferentes estados, sus respectivas funciones, sus relaciones con lo que sucede en otras ocasiones en otros cerebros y más, y yo podré unir todas las piezas, pero aun así no me habrás dicho cuan doloroso es el dolor, cuan picorosa es la picazón, cuan angustiosos son los celos, o la experiencia característica de probar un limón, oler una rosa, escuchar un sonido muy fuerte o ver el cielo.”

Si les llama la atención este término les recomiendo que vean el siguiente video sobre el experimento El Cuarto de Mary, es interesantísimo.

Why @aboutqualia?

Qualia is a philosophical term that refers to the subjective qualities of everything around us, for instance how red can red be, or how painful can pain be. Meaning (using the previous examples) that no one can see the same tone for the red color you see, or that no one can feel the same level of pain I feel even if we were hurt in the same way. Everything we perceive is subjective because it depends on our life's experiences and on how our body's five senses work.

Frank Jackson, the philosopher that came up with this term, describes qualia as follows:
*“I am what is sometimes known as a “qualia freak”. I think that there are certain features of the bodily sensations especially, but also of certain perceptual experiences, which no amount of purely physical information includes. Tell me everything physical there is to tell about what is going on in a living brain, the kind of states, their functional role, their relation to what goes on at other times and in other brains, and so on and so forth, and be I as clever as can be in fitting it all together, you won’t have told me about the hurtfulness of pains, the itchiness of itches, pangs of jealousy, or about the characteristic experience of tasting a lemon, smelling a rose, hearing a loud noise or seeing the sky.”

If you want to know more about qualia I recommend you to watch this video about Mary's Room experiment.

Seguimos en contacto, // Lets keep in touch,
Nino.

Sort:  

Hi Dear, Welcome to the amazing world of Writing and Sharing . Make sure to post only Original content, In case of any question feel free to drop in to me...Have a Blessed & Happy Stay.....Steem on !!

@steemflow

Posted using Partiko Android

Welcome to Steem! Partiko is a fast and beautiful mobile app for Steem and we upvote our users to help them grow! Please feel free to download the Android app here and the iOS app here.

To get more upvotes, please join our Discord server here: https://discord.gg/N7Et97G

Thank you! I will try it.

Yaaay, awesome!

Posted using Partiko Android

Welcome to Steem, @aboutqualia!

I am a bot coded by the SteemPlus team to help you make the best of your experience on the Steem Blockchain!
SteemPlus is a Chrome, Opera and Firefox extension that adds tons of features on Steemit.
It helps you see the real value of your account, who mentionned you, the value of the votes received, a filtered and sorted feed and much more! All of this in a fast and secure way.
To see why 3374 Steemians use SteemPlus, install our extension, read the documentation or the latest release : SteemPlus 2.20: Utopian + SteemPlus Partnership = Bigger upvotes.

Welcome dear

Thank you!!

Welcome

Posted using Partiko Android

Greeting @aboutqualia. I am glad with your presence in Steemit. I wish you the best! Hope you gonna have fun with our community and see you soon!

Thank you! See you soon!