(Re)introducing @adambarratt to Hive!

Hi Folks!

This is more of a re-introduction for me, as I have been in and around this arena since mid-2017… but haven’t got round to a Hive intro since its inception a few months back.

I first joined Steem back at the end of June 2017, and since then have had a few bursts of involvement and some time sat back, but always keeping an eye on what’s going on and where things may be heading.

My first involvement came following a random guy on social media shouting about how successful his last couple of posts were, what they were earning, and how this was real money and not to be missed. I was intrigued, yet skeptical. I wasn’t sure, but felt there could be something there. Worth a look.

So yes, attracted by the (potential) cash, although no idea at that stage about community or the offsprouts of projects and overall technological shift.

It took me a while to get to grips with - still am! - which I think is quite common amongst non-techies as there’s a fair bit to get your head around. Now, I’m no dud with technology and have reasonable levels of intelligence, but still, quite the learning curve with all the different aspects. Thankfully, there are some easier routes in these days as it’s being catered (attempted to be anyway) to ‘normies’, as it needs to be. Still a way to go but getting smoother.

Ultimately, people won’t care too much about the ins and outs of it all, they’ll just log in and play their games or whatever and pick up a few coins in the process. Who knows all about the back end of the internet for example, but people still log in every day and use it for work, entertainment, or good old fashioned time wasting.

Initially in those days of 2017 I got a bit motivated, then lost a little interest as I wasn't sure if it was worth my time. But I decided to take the plunge and go to SteemFest 2 in November of that year in Lisbon, Portugal! There I had a great time, met some interesting people, learnt a lot, and drank plenty. I wrote a few posts on that experience which are linked to in this one.

In the 3 years since I’ve dipped in and out. I’ve written a fair bit, got involved some, but also spent a lot of that time taking a back seat. But I’ve always kept watching. And accumulating. I’ve built my account to over 30,000 HIVE Power, 4000 LEO staked, more than 100k AFIT, 25k SPORTS and 1000+ STEM, along with some other bits and bobs. Not emphatic for sure, but steady, and a good base.

Outside of all this, I’m a freelance writer originally from Devon, England. I’ve spent much of the last decade in and around Spain, living a few years in Madrid along with some time in the Canary Islands and other travel here and there.

Right now, I’m looking to get involved a bit more. More importantly - create and build much more (not just on Hive but in general). I feel I’ve stagnated in terms of producing and I’ve been consuming too much, which is especially bad with all the crap flying round these days. Less mindless scrolling, more mindful creating, and really picking things up and making the most of the opportunities we’ve been given.

So, I’ll be using this space for my musings. I think PeakD might be the best for general postings, I write a fair bit on travel so tend to use @travelfeed for that and may get involved in @leofinance if I have something to contribute there (especially with some of the new stuff coming!). @actifit is another tribe I’m involved with so there might be some postings there as and when.

I’d like to think @sportstalksocial might become something worthwhile as there’s potential there, just not sure of the development. Other than that, I hope to try out @cryptobrewmaster and the new football/soccer game @rabona amongst others.

Some content might be more journal style with no real direction, just random thoughts. And others might be a bit deeper or more specific or entertaining etc. It’s all well and good promising daily content but that depends on circumstances, although several times a week is worth going for (and more if the microblogging aspect takes off).

How’s it going for you?

Cheers,
~ Adam
@adambarratt

Get involved! Copywriting, travel, tech & tomfoolery @ FortressFree.com
Twitter | LinkedIn | Facebook | Instagram

Sort:  

always good to see your face adam! Nice surprise to see my own as well! haha. Good memories :)

Haha, it's a classic. Cheers Bas!

Ah, a fellow UK lad! I joined March 2018 and a lot of things have happened here but think it's moving in the right direction compared to when we first got in! You've built up a nice stake in all those tokens, the beauty of compounding!

Devon or Spain? Which do you prefer? 😁

Cheers. Yeah, getting there with the tokens and the compounding will only increase as we go.

Tricky question… Devon's home and a delightful place, and Spain certainly has its charms. Depends how I feel, but a nice balance of both is where it's at!

Great to see you back on Hive. It is getting exciting around here with all the projects going on. I can't keep up. Lisbon feels like a lifetime ago, but it was a great experience. We have such a cool and diverse community. Hope we can meet up again some time.

!BEER

Thanks Steve. Yeah, plenty going on. I'll see you around, plus hopefully another in-person meetup in the not too distant future!

Another Brit abroad, I think NOT being in Britain is a good place to be right about now!

Welcome back!

Cheers! Although I actually am in Britain at the moment but may be on the move again when things open up…

Oh sorry to hear that, about being in Britain.

Here's hoping you can get out sometime soon!

Good to see another Brit back in action here.

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

Indeed. Where abouts are you?

Welcome back Adam, I've been mostly just autoposting my running via @exhaust but it's good to be reading and writing properly again. We're not going to get an opportunity like Lisbon 2017 for a while, but that doesn't mean we can't do anything :)

Cheers Lloyd. Good to see you still in amongst it… I've yet to try Exhaust. Yeah, plenty to keep us busy!

Hey there! Always good to see people sticking around:).

Sounds like we first got started at around the same time (June 2017 for me). And it's impressive how the platform has been able to consistently reward and retain users (although we all wish it had grown more too).

Indeed - Hive on!

For me it’s going well, 3 years in and still learning and Having fun.
So Hi there ,welcome back , 2021 started of as a great blog year not on the least because you decided to join! So Welcome to the Hive. It’s a true movement and blockchain, and I love that you decided to join us here. You will have fun blogging and vlogging I promise. And the garden will have some great tags to blog in about that hobby.
But in the beginning it’s hard and new and maybe you need help. We have amazing people here and a help discord if you need it. I love blogging, been here for three years already. But always be carefull with all your passwords, Never give those up !! I speak from experience !
I use Peakd to post to Hive, but Ecency is also a possibility. It’s a website, mobile and desktop application that improves your experience on Hive. If you are interested for Android download : https://android.ecency.com, for iOS: https://ios.ecency.com, for desktop: https://desktop.ecency.com apps that helps you to connect, and that’s what we do here !
You can also earn to promote and boost your content. Again If you are interested https://ecency.com just some extra information in this early start of your journey here! Last hive.blog is an option too.
Good luck with with hive experience and I Will See you around and may you find here what you are looking for. Just remember that all good things come in good time and never giving up is THE key to big succes on the Blockchain. Also you could join the the Terminal discord, as I said before we help there with problems or questions, for free don’t worry. Or visit @heyhaveyamet for more new arrivals, all are in the same phase that might be helpful or reassuring. Newbie exposure in the beginning very important.
Let me know if this was helpfull or if you need more help, see you in Discord
the Terminal. Here is the invite again its totally free,
https://discord.gg/XZGPGpz
Greeting from the Netherlands
@ Brittandjosie

Good luck to you as the new arrival, may hive become your new life !

Thanks a lot for the comment! I'm not completely new as I say but all good info and useful for anyone joining.


Hey @adambarratt, here is a little bit of BEER from @steevc for you. Enjoy it!

Learn how to earn FREE BEER each day by staking your BEER.

Welcome (back) to the hive!

Thanks for sticking around on HIVE. 😄

Welcome to the Hive community! Just started myself, are there more details about what actifit is?

Welcome to you!
Sure, it's a fitness app. Just go to their page @actifit or their website actifit.io and you should have all the info. Put the app on your phone, it counts your steps/activity and then you can post it along with a story to Hive. You will then be rewarded in HIVE plus AFIT tokens.

Hi Adam, Welcome back!

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta