How my dog tells me she needs food...

in #introduceyourself6 years ago

It occurred to me that I have not yet mentioned my Superdog, my eleven year old Jack Russell Terrier. So here she is at the beach, on a cold winter’s day. She loves to swim be it in the pond, river or the sea but today was very cold, too cold for her and all she managed was to get her paws wet.

65CC5EE5-5A4B-4F60-972D-DA408F494C64.jpeg

When we got home she warmed herself by standing next to the Aga. She does this very methodically, slowly rotating herself so every inch of her gets warmed up.

935F9832-7BC8-4620-BC9C-58E3EB727BA1.jpeg

I left her to enjoy the warmth and got on with some work but before long she walked over to the pot stand and started tapping the pots with her nose. She knows that the clanging noise that the pots make as they move, will get my attention. Indeed, as soon as I look in her direction she walks over to her food mat and looks at me again, tipping her head sideways. If that doesn’t say “Where is my dinner?” I don’t know what does.

It is interesting that I have noticed that she only goes to the pots when she needs food. She has other signals for asking to be let out or to go for walkies. We are definitely communicating on a human level!

Wonder if those of you with superdogs of your own have had similar experiences to share?
#dogstories

Sort:  

One of the cutest dogs I've ever seen. Those beautiful, expressive eyes say it all... :)

Hello @ezzy! What a lovely thing to say! I will bring her to the next Steemit gathering so she can be a mascot! ;)

She is adorable!!! :)) I think we can communicate with our dogs better than we do with humans :P My dog is my life! :)

Definitely! And they never disappoint! :)) Thanks for following! :)

Exactly!! :) Thank you too! <3

So adorable and clever, indeed a supperdog that you have, lol!!

Haha, naughty superdog this morning as it is much warmer and she thought a swim in the river was a perfectly acceptable way to start the day!

Haha... she probably regrets it straight away but surely she would do that again!!

Follow me yes