My graduate project

usb.jpg

When i started the last year of my 5 year bachelor degree at university Simon Bolivar in Venezuela, it was time for the graduate project, after consider three options, being these, build a remote electric controller for a smart house, develop and intelligent light set for a christmas tree controlled by an app and build a device that can replace the actual equipment require to perfomr a telecomunication drive test.

The first step in the project was find a microcontroller that can be able to process all the data, there are a lot of them that match the skills needed, i reviewed the arduino, rasberry pi, intel Galileo 2nd generation and the orange pi; i think the best of them is the orange pi, because the GSM module is included and you don't have to buy one of the modules; but here comes the sad comment, i live in Venezuela and we don't have access to the international internet market, so pages like amazon, ebay, alibaba and all of the online stores are too far away. Because of this i'd to select the one i had, the intel galileo 2nd generation.

13096-05.jpg

In the second step i had to select the GSM module and fter a quick look i selected the Adafruit Fona 808, because it was the newest available in the lab, and mostly because it bring the GPS so in budget terms i was saving one module; ha! that was so far from the truth.

2636-00.jpg

Finally it seemed like i can start to program, so i bagan to write, but you can't imagine my surprise when i realize that no matter what i tried the module gave me no answer; after some research i found out that the adafruit FONA 808 needs his own battery to work, even if you have it plug in with alternate power, well i had to wait 1 month until a friend came from the US with the battery and the connector, and then finally it began to work.
I don't want to make this too long so i'll keep writing next week.

Regards

Alejandro

Sort:  

Hey Alejandro, welcome to Steemit! I'm sure you'll enjoy it here, the community is great. I look forward to seeing your content.

If you are interested in cryptocurrency, my blog is going to do an overview series of the top 100 coins and it'd be great if you could give me a follow... I've just released my second post on Ethereum but I've got many more to come!

Hope you have a nice day :)

@nathan290595

thanks for the info mate i'll take a look at it