Here to finally introduce myself: I‘m Andreas! Captain & Maritime Pilot

in #introduceyourself6 years ago

Hi steemers, my name is Andreas and after months using steemit (mainly as a source of trending topics regarding blockchain technology) I thought it‘s time to say hello...

Who am I?

Born & raised in a german town called Rostock, I went to Maritime College early 2000s to become a seaman and explore the world with all its benefits and downsides...
I sailed the seven seas as a Merchant Marine Navigational Officer and Captain until 2014, when I decided to come back home.

I applied to become a Maritime Pilot and that‘s what I‘m doing ever since: giving navigational advice to foreign vessels, Masters & their crew, helping them to safely navigate the confined waters of the Kiel Kanal, the Kiel Fjord and the Kiel Harbour... It‘s a challenging but an amazing job too, where I get to meet so many interesting people from all over the world who share the same lifestyle that I did for so many years!

B632BD91-0671-4CE1-8BDF-0CEDC7057B72.jpeg
Approaching the locks in Kiel-Holtenau with a Cruise Liner (AIDAcara)

C5421786-3D41-4AA6-A980-CE5F948F3655.jpeg
Westbound on Kiel Canal

92223331-3E50-4CF9-A5F4-365B9357B264.jpeg
Sunrise in Kiel-Holtenau

Where the hell is that?

That, fellow steemians, is the northern part of Germany! The Baltic Sea coast to be more precise. I work in the state capital of Schleswig-Holstein called Kiel!

DE2C92D9-5809-4CB8-8D8C-CA617829B7DE.jpeg

But my heart belongs to my hometown Rostock, where I still live...

It‘s the most beautiful place I‘ve ever seen - and I‘ve been to beautiful spots all over the world (I mean everywhere)!

Skyline Rostock
Skyline Rostock | uni-rostock.de

Cruise Terminal
Warnemünde Cruise Terminal | rostock.de

Warnemünde Strand
Warnemünde Beach!!! | wikipedia

What am I doing here?

Well, as I said, I‘m not posting too much (maybe a quick photo here and there), I mainly use steemit to inform myself about topics where it‘s hard to find valuable information elsewhere.
For example: I‘m invested into @EOSio since the very beginning! Not as a trader, as a supporter so to say... the technology behind it and what will finally be possible when the blockchain launches in June 2018 gives me chills of excitement. Here I found quite an active EOS community 👍🏼
I do support other projects as well like @ethlend and @swissborg. But that’s mainly it.

Alright, so, yeah, here I am, that‘s me... please continue whatever you did before you started reading this.

Cheers!

Sort:  

Welcome to Steemit Andreas. Very nice pictures. I hope you have a nice time in the community.