Introducing myself: Your local drunk Irish writer

in #introduceyourself7 years ago

Hi Streemit, how’s the craic?

So I thought I’d do an introduction post to give you an idea of who I am and also to lay out what I’m aiming for in writing this blog.

Screen Shot 2017-07-06 at 11.21.34.png

(way too flattering a pic, )

I’m a Northern Irish writer and journalist now living and drinking in London. I consider my complex nationality quite closely linked to my identity and will hopefully at some stage get round to doing a full post about what it really means to me.

I shipped off to the big smoke for university to study ancient history. “Someone had to do it” is the normal response at the raised eyebrows that degree brings.

Somehow after graduating I ended up as a tech and then FinTech journalist where I first came across cryptocurrency and the blockchain. I’ve never been a crypto investor, which is a shame because I remember when bitcoin was worth less than a dollar. But not being a gambler I probably would have cashed out at $100 thinking it could never go higher.

Writing is one of my long standing passions as well as travel and history. I believe really great travel writing (or indeed much of the fiction I enjoy) is found at the intersection of those. My first post on a hungover trip to and Greek temple is an example of what I’m aiming for.

(Check it out here: https://steemit.com/travel/@benjyhg/an-ancient-greek-historian-and-a-hangover-made-me-go-to-a-deserted-island)

i love history.jpg

(Yeah! History!)

When it comes to sport I’m a rugby man and passionately cheering on Ireland with a Guinness in my favourite Irish pub is one of my great joys. Even if it does occasionally bring me close to a heart attack.

One of the things I love about London is quite how much the arts world here has to offer. My calendar is always packed with exhibitions, plays and gigs but I always manage to find time to get drunk with the friends I love at least once a week.

Hopefully this gives you a sense of what I’m all about but I now want to state, to myself as much as the community, what I want to ‘achieve’ on Steemit:

The foremost purpose of this blog is to serve as a venue for me to practice my creative writing outside of my work and prompt me to challenge myself.

Therefore, expect slightly longer post with an emphasis on personal experience or accurate research.

In doing so I hope to help add high quality, writing-based content to Streemit. From my lurking I have concerns about what kind of content does well across the platform and find at the moment there’s a disappointing amount of posts with a single image, YouTube video or an article entirely stolen from some hard working journalist.

I hope that by sticking to my guns and pushing myself I can help change that.

I’m still very new here so please hit me up with your feedback!

Sort:  

Welcome! Gave you a follow!

Welcome to Steem @benjyhg I have upvoted and sent you a tip

I like that you are a writer. I like that you are a drinker. Two of my favourite vices. I suggest you go all out on at least one of those.

Welcome to Steemit @benjyhg you'll have a great time here its a wonderful community! Ancient history sounds like a really interesting subject btw!

welcome to Steemit Benjyhg ! Glad to see more people like you - here joining Steemit! Nice post, i will follow your account, please follow me at @khunfarang

Hello Benjyhg ;) Glad to see more people like you - here joining steemit !! Becoming a steamian is a great adventure !! Here you can win money while bloging! At the beginning it wouldn't be easy, but it isn't impossible. So just write from your heart and everything will be allright. Wish you much luck! Cheers! Greetings, @khunpoom !

Welcome to Steemit @benjyhg!
I'm a bot-helper, and I'm created to help. Congratulations on the registration on Steem - you really like it here! If you like me, make an upvote of my comment and follow me. Your upvote will allow you to give more money to new users, such as you. Let's make Steem better together!
I follow you, and to get more upvote and resteem - follow me!
All the money I earn will be donated to charity.
Steem on!

Welcome to Steemit!! Hope you have fun here :)

I would love posts researching historical topics! Welcome to Steemit.

Wow! Looking forward to more posts from you. Check out my blog and follow if you're interested.

Selamat datang di steemit teman,
Saya seorang barista, kalau kamu suka kopi vote dan ikuti saya @baristakhlis
Terimakasih,
Salam steemit ...

Hello, welcome to steemit. I look forward to reading more of your posts. Good luck.

Isn't drunk Irish a bit redundant. Couldn't you have just called yourself Irish? If you haven't been told of steemwars yet you should head over here and check it out! #teamusa, #teamgb, #teamaustralia, and a few other teams are always looking for people to provide great content here on steem.

Hi there! I'm Vikky and I'm a new steemer too! Let's be friends!

I'm not flooding here, just sharing here stories of my life, trips, and my golden retriever puppy Mr. Olive.

If you're interested, we can be friends) Follow me back and vote for my posts. Thanks a lot ^^

Welcome to the amazing world of steemit. Followed. Follow me back 😘

Welcome and Thank You for being with us!! Following your Blog now

Welcome and Thank You for being with us!! Following your Blog now

Welcome to Steemit. Looking forward to some thoughtful reading from your side of the pond!