Introducing myself, Benton C Bainbridge, media artist and tech dreamer

in #introduceyourself8 years ago (edited)

Hi, my name is Benton C Bainbridge. I'm a media artist living and working in The Bronx. I'm new to Steemit; I welcome your comments and suggestions. I've long said that social media participants should participate in the value they create so I'm super excited to join the Steemit beta. My New Year's resolution was to ditch Facebook by the end of 2016, so I'm curious if Steemit could become my new primary social media platform?

My art medium is 'media' - the electronic moving image, often made realtime in a visual performance. I'm best known as the video artist and VJ for two Beastie Boys world tours and as the analog video synthesist for TV On The Radio's "Staring at the Sun" My video ensemble The Poool had the best-ever attended show at Whitney Museum's performance series. I have been the resident media artist for American Museum of Natural History's monthly event "One Step Beyond" since its inception a decade ago. Right now, I have work in two galleries at Cornell University for the Rose Goldsen Media Archives "Signal to Code" exhibitions: http://rmc.library.cornell.edu/signaltocode and http://museum.cornell.edu/exhibitions/signal-code

For the past 7 years I have been co-developing systems for the authentication, archiving, distribution, sale and resale digital media art on the blockchain, 'fingerprinting' the artworks and tracking provenance via public ledgers. I've worked with ConsenSys, Ascribe.io and Artlery on this project. I am co-developing artHash - a free open-source tool for artists to make a unique code from any digital media file. I co-founded http://MovingPictures.Gallery to explore the symbiotic relationship between digital art and cryptocurrency. You can read about this project here: http://thecreatorsproject.vice.com/blog/a-new-model-for-selling

My passion is realtime media performance. I and my colleagues around the world are committed to seeking ways to 'play' moving pictures like a visual form of music. Like music, our work is often made collaboratively with fellow media artists, and with performing artists in theatrical, dance and musical settings. As much as we are inspired by painting, sculpture and other established ways of making pictures, we are also inspired by the ways music is improvised, composed and performed.

I've been making realtime media since high school, when video technology became accessible. I had a revelation at 15, when I was studying piano and making experimental Super-8 films. I finished a piano rehearsal, then threaded my latest film that had just come back from the Kodak lab. The film was underexposed and had to be redone. I said to my Mom - "how could I ever learn to play piano if I had to wait a week to hear the notes I played?" I dedicated myself to electronic cinema and its realtime feedback and have been exploring the possibilities since.

I'll be posting about my life and art here on Steemit. I look forward to making new friends, meeting new colleagues and collaborators and sharing with you all.

Looking forward to the future mainstream
~Benton C Bainbridge
The Bronx


Me, my verification and my Video Synth

http://www.bentoncbainbridge.com/

Sort:  

Hello and welcome to Steemit!
This introduction post has been nominated for the @projectnewbie incentive where we try and get new and verified users more visibility on their first post to make it easier to connect to other users!
If you have any questions about it, this is the Announcement Post. Have fun Steeming! :)

Welcome aboard @bentoncbainbridg
Steemit is a wonderful community. The best piece of advice I can give you is to find some people whom you jive with. Comment often to build your following. Upvote articles of interest. I've been here about 2 months and I love it, but I work hard and try to stay consistent in creating quality material. I've learned so much here and my work has been enhanced because of it. Stick with it and I'm sure you'll do great!

Hello Benton, welcome to Steemit! :-)

Welcome to the Steemit Community!

Welcome to this crazy experiment we call steemit

We usually post a pic holding a paper with Steemit on it just so we know you are who you say you are in the intro section. And welcome!!

thank you, moviefan - I'm still figuring out the interface (for example, why are some of the URLs showing up as links and others aren't??). Once I figure out how to insert pictures I'll add my verification shot.

Photos are fairly easy. The trick is you need to upload them to a photo-hosting site such as TinyPic. Copy the Direct Link for Layouts and stick it in your copy where you want the photo to be, no coding required. Put a caption below that if you want one. Learn to center or make full-width later.

There are several ways to format copy, as you may have discovered. I use this coding for links: [copy you want to appear](full link address), but that may not work with all formatting methods.

thank you steemerpat! I'll fix up my self introduction now

You're welcome. If my second paragraph didn't show the coding, put in brackets the copy you want to appear immediately followed by the web address in parenthesis--no spaces in between. I use a mixture of HTML and markdown--at least I think that's what I'm doing! I didn't know any of this a little over a month ago.

WELCOME to Steemit!

Benton, Welcome to Steemit

thanks, gamgam, glad to join you all here!

can you tell me where to find a 'how to' for Steemit? I want to add my verification picture to this post but don't see how...

ah, the power of Google - here's the page about adding pictures to one's post https://steemit.com/steemit/@lomomo/how-to-post-pictures-to-steemit