Sort:  

It's like me with soccer. My school didn't have it, it's not very popular with white communities :/

One day in 2002 with the FIFA World Cup, during exam time, my friend who hated studying proposed I take a break by us going to the hockey field and playing soccer. We had two other guys coming, and eventually that grew into around 40 guys playing all at once! It was crazy so much fun! Unfortunately I tore a ligament in my kneecap but it was some if the best fun I have had. We were all like "why in the world do we not have this sport at school???"

But yea rugby is pretty awesome extremely tactical (but I believe Am Football is like that too), and yes it can be very dangerous too but the rules get adapted consistently with modern understandings of typical injury-prone situations. That makes it harder for referees - it's like being a mechanic: people think a doctor studies long but a mechanic has to stay up-to-date with every new model haha!

My son won't be ushered into rugby though. If he wants to he can pursue it, but you gain no manliness by running after a ball. You gain it by considering others and being sensitive and caring to their situations and feelings. Manliness comes when you have to defend those things

No insult to the players, but I never did like soccer. Sports that don't permit contact always seemed boring to me, since the historical roots of sport have always been as martial training for young men. I think the best sports are those that combine physical ability, toughness, and intellect, and rugby does that best.

Plus, coming from a long time football player, rugby is actually a bit safer than football in my experience! Football players tend to overact because they feel safe behind pads and helmets, and the stop-start gameplay leads to muscle/ligament injury. Rugby forces you to hit and tackle with the knowledge that you're not protected, so it leads to good habits like protecting your neck, attacking the opponent's lower body, etc. Plus rugby is a constant movement, so the muscles/ligaments never stop and tighten up.

I hope if I have a son he'll pursue some contact sport (football, rugby, lacrosse, wrestling), because I know I've learned many valuable lessons from them. But I also want him to be interested in more than sport.

Yea I hear what you are saying. I also did learn many invaluable lessons from playing rugby - the comradery, discipline, perseverance, and so many others. So in light of what you said, perhaps I did overstate my thoughts on it. Yes it is dangerous, and me not being 40 yet and already experiencing some of the injuries post-years is proof to me of that. But apart from the danger, I remember the aggression I used to experience at times, and although the sport was sometimes a led-out for stress, I believe there are less stress- and anger-inducive ways to express it by.

But just in terms of sport and it's qualities, I think rugby is a tremendously developed sport and it also is a great way to have fun while being very focused on something.

If I were to tell you my whole opinion and belief about competition between people in it's entirety you might just flag me :)