Hello Steemit! I'm Bluebellpossum!

Hello Steemit! I'm Bluebell Possum. I'm very new to this Steemit thing and in fact my DH (dear husband) is still trying to explain that no, Bitcoin is not in fact a portion of a coin that is inexplicably worth a bazillion dollars. So do bear with me. By the way to be sure to check out the DH as he is much better at this than me and writes about beer and random moments of positivity @mazzle.

So a little bit about me, I'm a first generation Aussie from Adelaide and an Environmental Scientist by trade. Although I would love to say I nurse stranded whales back to health or propagate endangered flora in a fancy laboratory, I make a crust instead as a government flunky who makes sure the mining industry doesn't botch things up too badly for the environment.

source

I've moved around Australia a fair bit over the last few years including a stint in far north Queensland whereby I encountered cane toads and cockroaches of dubious proportions, learned how to fight fires and in one of my happiest moments acquired a beautiful black Labrador puppy. I then moved over west and spent a good part of a decade with some truly excellent people and visiting some of the most spectacular locations I have ever seen - I recommend you guys visit the Pilbara in Western Australia. Our second beautiful dog came into our lives as well, the sweetest golden retriever you ever did see, who features in some of @mazzle 's posts.

Beer Pups.png

I'm now in Melbourne and loving the seaside life. In my spare time I enjoy volunteering in the local community, spending time with @mazzle, friends and dogs, beach walks, the gym, reading books, movies and Netflix (can anyone remember life before Netflix? I can't), music, arty farty stuff as @mazzle would say, bushwalks and being immersed in nature in general, crosstitch, discovering new places, restaurants, wine.

A few random facts about me:

  • Favourite movies: The Godfather and the Princess Bride
  • Name of my first pet: Ali. She was a pigeon my dad found down the road. She didn't live long
  • Favourite food: CHEESE, anything vegetarian and Indian, nachos, Thai and Vietnamese food
  • Unusual thing I have done: Pole danced in the local council hall with a group of beginners pole dancing students in our Christmas show in front of 400 people and then dashing off to @mazzle 's work Christmas party in full fabulous makeup. Also I lived in a yurt for two weeks in Mongolia. One of the best things I have ever done although I wouldn't recommend eating barbecued sheep's tail
  • Weird fact about me: I may be related to Bernardo O'Higgins. Seriously, check him out. What a bro
  • Favourite colour: Purple
  • Near death experience: Flipping a car at 110 kmph and emerging without a scratch. Time did slow down and I felt like James Bond
  • Favourite bands: TOO MANY TO NAME. I live for music. Crowded House, Radiohead, Massive Attack, The Beatles, Opeth, Slum Sociable, Bonobo, Olafur Arnalds, Asgeir - I could go on
  • Who would I love to have dinner with?: @mazzle, David Attenborough, Dylan Moran, Cate Blanchett, my mum, and Manu Feildel can cook us dinner

Source

Well that's me, I hope to learn more about Steemit and hopefully start posting a few things - be sure to check out my first post I co-wrote with @mazzle here!

Sort:  

Welcome wife! It's great to see you've finally arrived on Steemit. Took your bloody sweet time!

Thanks @mazzle. I still don't know what a bitcoin is. I just want a dogecoin. So doge. Much coin.

Great introduction, although I think you made up a few of those band names.
Well done getting an introduction out of the missus, @mazzle.
My Amanda's a Netflix fan too.
We won't see her on steemit until she runs out of 'Call the midwife' episodes.

@mattclarke I am now hooked on Call the Midwife. HAAALP.

So @mazzle is a 'midwife widower' too.

Thanks @mattclarke yep the first time @mazzle heard of Asgeir he said 'what's an Asgeir'. They are all real! 😊

The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post by @bluebellpossum to be original material and upvoted it!

ezgif.com-resize.gif

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!

Welcome aboard. We hope you enjoy your stay :-D

Thank you so much 😊

This post has received a 2.52 % upvote from @drotto thanks to: @mazzle.

Thank you @drotto

Welcome to the best community ever. Hope you'll have good time here. Gud people are waiting for you... Feel free to share what you like with me and be in touch @sarinakhan

Appreciate that @sarinakhan

Good job! Thanks to @mazzle you have planted 0.05 tree to save Abongphen Highland Forest in Cameroon. Help me to plant 1,000,000 trees and share my Steem Power to the others. Selfvoting is prohibited, but that should be the reason to spread the world to protect our precious environment. Check out profile of our conservation association @kedjom-keku and the founder/coordinator @martin.mikes to get more information about our conservation program. My current SP is 14485.30. Help me to plant more trees with your delegated SP.

Thanks a lot,
your @treeplanter
www.kedjom-keku.com