Cheers Steemit! I'm Cody from Seattle :D

Hey Steemians!

My name is Cody, I'm a 27 year old computer engineer working in Seattle at Microsoft.  I moved up here 5 years ago from sunny California after I graduated college in San Diego.  I live here with my girlfriend who moved here from Rome and our pet tortoise, Jiro (named after the sushi chef, his doppelganger).

Here's the view from our rooftop on that one sunny day that we had. We live in a small city named Bellevue just across the lake from Seattle (that's Seattle off in the distance).

And here's a photo of Jiro taking a bath (our tortoise, not the sushi chef)

I'm crazy about traveling. I've had the opportunity to travel around Europe (Italy, Germany, France, England, Austria, Switzerland, Liechtenstein, Monaco) and Asia (Japan, Vietnam, Philippines).  Recently we had an amazing trip to Japan to catch the sakura. Unfortunately, we missed most of the cherry blossoms but we saw some amazing sites indeed!

My introductory post wouldn't be complete without mentioning food.  My girlfriend and I love cooking (and EATING).  We are both a bit extreme when it comes to food to the point that we end up starving ourselves when we travel because we walk miles to find the PERFECT place to eat (I don't think it's healthy).  But sometimes it pays off :)

ABC cooking school is a really inexpensive way to learn some Japanese cooking if you're ever traveling in Tokyo.  We met up with our friend, Mihiro, for a cooking class to make Gyudon (beef bowl).

I also enjoy software engineering for fun, outside of work, and I've built a couple apps in my spare time.  The latest one that I've been working on is a note taking app that allows you to hashtag notes (shameless self promotion): https://notegami.com

Another site I built for fun a couple years back is a particle simulator that lets you play with gravity in your browser: http://www.particlesimulator.com/

More recently, I've been intrigued with crypto-technology (of course)!   I purchased my first bitcoin in 2015 and have been addicted ever since.  I love the idea of trust-less decentralization and I know we'll see some revolutionary changes to the way we do everyday things in the near future.  It's crazy to think that this post will live forever in the Steemit blockchain, allowing even my grandchildren to view my embarrassing photos (do as I say, not as I do Timmy).

The best part of living in Seattle is the beautiful outdoors that surround you.  In less than an hour you can go from skyscrapers to evergreen-lined mountains.  Today, we took the drone out for a short hike around Franklin Falls. 

I'm super excited to join the Steemit community and meet some interesting people :D

Cheers!

Sort:  

Welcome Cody! Nice photos.
Enjoy Steemit

Hi Cody. Welcome to Steemit. Stephen

Hello Cody @bornswift great introduce.Welcome to Steemit.My first upvote for you.greets from germany

Danke!! I feel welcomed already :D

Hi there Cody, welcome to Steemit! You seem to live close to some beautiful nature! Will you be sharing some more pictures of that in the future? I'd love to see it :D

You can bet on that! Now that summer is finally around the corner, the beauty of the pacific northwest really shines. Our goal is to do a hike each week :)

That sounds great! We don't really have this sort of grand nature here in the Netherlands, so I always love to see pictures of it!

Netherlands has quite the beauty of its own! One of my favorite places in Europe

We do have some very beautiful places, you just need to search a bit in between all the people and houses.

I love that you named your tortoise Jiro! I'm assuming you love sushi? Have you and your girlfriend been to Shiro's?

Yes! His new place, Sushi Kashiba, is amazing! I think it's better than most of the sushi we had in Japan... we really are spoiled living in Seattle :D haha Kobe is a great foodie name too!

Jiro's got a hell of a shell! Love it. Welcome to Steemit! Would love to keep tabs on your posting!

Welcome. I look forward to more quality posts. ☆☆☆☆☆😎

Thanks Michael!

Welcome. Beautiful pictures!

Welcome from Texas! I followed and upvoted you, looking forward to seeing your posts.

Welcome to steemit!

Followed and resteemed!

Thanks @AzureJasper, dig your posts as well!

Cheers Cody. Seattle looks nice! Would also like to travel to Asia. I hope I'll get the chance some time soon :)
Welcome to Steemit!
Care to follow me?

Thanks! You definitely should.. hit me up for some recommendations when you do!

Welcome to Steemit!!

the particlesimulator was great fun! welcome to steemit!

haha thanks! glad you liked it

Welcome on Steemit @bornswift!

hello and welcome

another from the west coast, right on
welcome

Hey Cody,

Welcome to Steemit. Seattle you said? Heard it's a great place. I once was offered a job there. I said NO.

How I wish I didn't do that. :)

Great pics, and welcome to Steemit. Hope you enjoy your stay here.

All the best! Looking forward to read your stuff.

haha thanks! Happy to meet a fellow tech geek :)

welcome.. follow me @secter

Welcome :)

Welcome to steemit, good to have you onboard, great article, upvoted and followed.

Welcome to Steemit. I really like the tortoise :) Wondering whats that on it's head?

Thanks @cryptodan! That's Jiro's bathing towel to keep his head cool in the hot onsen.


Img src: https://quirkyjapan.wordpress.com/quirky-japan-2/quirks-43-44/

Ahh I see, that's quite clever :D

Greetings form Latvia :)

Welcome Cody, love to see that amazing pics of yours :D
By the way, Seattle remind me to Kurt Cobain~~

Upvote for owning a tortoise called Jiro!
WELCOME!

Fantastic introduction! I'm sure you'll find this to be a great place to blog and share your thoughts and ideas! I've found steemit to be a very rewarding experience and I've made quite a few friends over here. Be sure to check out steemit.chat as well.

welcome to steemit @bornswift:)

I also would walk an extra hour to find a restaurant more appealing than the last one I passed. I understand that feeling.

This article will keep you motivated not matter what happens here.
https://steemit.com/welcome-aboard/@solarguy/how-much-does-a-steemit-author-make-per-month-some-interesting-thoughts-for-steemit-rookies

Hello !

Nice to have you on board! Follow me at https://steemit.com/@bitgeek

Nice to meet you great post! love the pictures! :)

welcome @bornswift aka cody. i like your gopro karma videos. following you for more of this stuff ;)