Bitten & Smitten by Malaysia's Gopeng

in #introduceyourself7 years ago (edited)

Hello World!

I'll be honest, I won't bore everyone with my entire life story. I prefer to warm up to folks since it always takes time to know a person.

If I had to describe myself with three words, it'll be: random, cute, dreamer. 😍

I always want to be somewhere where I am not at. Sometime back, I traveled to Gopeng, a town 20km from the state of Ipoh.

20131019_085431.jpg

I wasn't sure what I was looking for in the trip and wasn't sure why I was traveling there. But the mountains and the fresh air that greeted me convinced me I was where I wanted to be. I was hiking up a slippery muddy route up a forest trail chased by countless leeches in pursuit of the glorious Rafflesia flower. 🏃🏃🏃

SNC15538.JPG

I have never seen leeches before this and I was thrilled to race against these desperate buggers. The drizzle made it so easy for the leeches to make their way up our bodies. I made the mistake of wearing tight jeans. A leech bump formed on my calf and I couldn't roll my pants up to remove it. So I hiked all the way with the leech bump on my calf, which I couldn't resist stroking throughout the hike.

20131019_110219.jpg

Another leech wriggled its way into our guide's big toe beneath his socks tucked into his sport shoes. It was a gory sight.

Another leech made its way to someone's neck and left a mark suitable for Halloween without special effects. 👻

My spouse was buffet for numerous leeches which made its way up his legs in his Bermudas.

20131019_154649.jpg

On the way down from the trek in our truck, I picked up this fat little fella (seen below). I happily tossed it from hand to hand, prodded it, examined it, stroked it and rolled it around my palm. Perhaps I'm gutsy for a female. But I can be a little sadistic when overwhelmed by curiosity and love for tactile sensations. 🙊

With no offense intended, the leeches made me remember Gopeng so much more fondly than the acclaimed Rafflesia and the wonderful mountain scenery all around. Memories work in mysterious ways!

IMG_20131020_231205.jpg
Sooooper Cute Well Fed Leech with Round Belly!!

The food at Adeline's Villa lingered in my memory ever since and has come back again and again whenever I travel.

20131019_181900.jpg

I hope you enjoyed my little sharing and introduction! 🙆

Hasta la vista! 🚀
Till next time! 🚀🚀
Busypaws
chipawlets.gif

Sort:  

Welcome to Steemit @busypaws :)

Welcome Bot Banner

Make sure to participate in this weeks giveaway to get known in the community!

Here are some helpful tips to get you started:

 Welcome to this incredible platform, hope everything will work out for you. Being here it’s not easy but not difficult neither only an extra effort will go a long way, engagement is the key good luck I’m @tinashe Start by Following ,Upvoting &Resteeming people and they will do the same. 

 Check the contest for newbies-https://steemit.com/steemit/@tinashe/600-followers-feeling-the-love-milestone-contest-of-sbd-inside-post-follow-upvote-and-resteem
*Thank you*
 

Hey! Welcome to the Steemit Community! I wish you a great time on the platform, hope you'll make many friends and I can't wait to see your content. I have followed your blog, you can check mine as well and if you like my content don't forget to drop a follow. Have a nice day & Steem on!

meep

thanks for the welcome!!