Introducing Dutch girl living in Portugal

in #introduceyourself7 years ago (edited)

Two years ago I immigrated to Portugal by myself. It was the most terrifying and exited thing I ever did! But as it turns out, it was the best decision of my life.

WIN_20170518_100735.JPG

Hi all!
My name is Natasja, I was born and raised in the Netherlands. When I was 27 I was stuck in life, I had finished two studies, but couldn't find a job in those fields. So I ended up doing the most boring form of data entry. I put data in an excel sheet, send it over to someone so that they could insert it in the system, after which I would check if they inserted it correctly. Why not insert it yourself, you ask? Nobody knows.

At this company I would not get a permanent position, so basicly they told me "you have 3 months to find another job, may the odds be ever in your favor".
Of course this new job would also be with a temporary contract, it would take years for me to get a permanent position, if I would even get it at all at that next company.

Without a permanent position, I could not buy a house. So the regular "study - get a job - buy a house - get a dog - live long and be happy"-thing was postponed for me.

I started counting...
Best cased scenario: I win the lottery tomorrow! Oh wait, I don't play the lottery.
Second best case scenario: I find a rich guy and he falls in love with me!
Worst case scenario: It takes me at least another 3 years before I can make the next step in my life.

Now don't get me wrong, my life wasn't bad, I was not complaining at all. Just ready for the next step. Was I willing to spend another day of my life, the same way I already did for 3 years? Was I willing to wait for life to just flow by me?
Hell no! I wanted to be in control of my life. I wanted to actually do something I love. I wanted to travel and explore the world, meet new people and do something exiting.

Well, mission accomplished! I now live in Lisbon, Portugal, the most exiting and diverse city I have ever been. It's sunny every day, the beach is only 30 minutes away and you can see something beautiful everywhere you look. I have made a ton of new friends, and above all, I found the love of my life!

Lisbon.jpeg

Sort:  

Welcome to Steemit Natasja!

What an exciting story to leave everything behind and start a totally new beginning on your own, in a new country.
I can only imagine how scary it must be at first, but I'm glad that you found your happiness and it was the correct decision!

Thanks! I actually cried during the whole flight, thinking, No what have I done!
But once I set foot on Portuguese land and felt the sun on my face, I was all happy and exited again :-)

You also look like you belong to Portugal. (Unless you got all that tan recently). Always do crazy things. Life happens on the crazy.

Haha the tan comes from my dear father's Indonesian roots. But I like to think I belong here as well!

oh wow welcome! suddenly am envious, just went to that park a couple of days ago near the Marquez Pombal before coming to London. If you can check my latest post of Lisbon?

Yes I can imagine, that park is my favourite! I love to just hang out there in the grass, watching everything around me.

it was my 2nd time to stay near there..nice place to hang out and have a picnic. good on you to have move, its daunting to some.

Welcome!!! Great to see you here!!

Thanks for pointing it out to me :-D

De nada!! I am happy you joined! Have a great day!

great decision you made! life is choice!

Thank you, this choice got me way more confident about myself.

welcome.
portugal looks beautiful.

Thanks! It really is, whenever you have the chance, come take a look :-)

Hello and welcome Natasja!
just follow your heart!

Hi, thanks, very good advice indeed!

Welcome to join this very special steemit media

Hi and welcome to Steemit! Followed.

Thank you! Followed you too.

gave post, resteemed!

Thank you so much!

Hello and very welcome

Welcome on board @bynatasja
Interesting story. And why did you choose exactly Lissabon? Enjoy steemit.

Glad everything is working out for you, i'm in a similar mind fog at the moment, will be moving to Spain soon can't wait!

Ah cool! Good luck!

Lisbon came by as an opportunaty, I had never been there before, so I thought, why not :-)

Nice to meet you and a big Welcome!

great introduction, welcome to steemit @bynatasja

You are going to love it here! Follow me at https://steemit.com/@bitgeek

I think I will, I've been exploring for 3 days now and there are so many interesting people here. Beats all the social media I'm using now! Following you as well!

Welcome to Steemit, Natasja!

Thank you!

You're welcome!

Welcome to Steemit! Gave you a follow :)

Thanks, loved your introduction post as well!

Hello Natasja, welcome to Steem! :-)

Thanks :-)

Welcome to Steemit, Natasja. You're going to enjoy it :) I'll follow you. Feel free to follow me if you want. Steem on :)

Thank you, following you too, really enjoying it so far :-)

Welcome! I hope you will have a great time here!

Thanks, I think I will!

I'm sure you will...it is such a friendly place. I am new here too and I am already enjoying it. btw you got a new follower :)