Hi Everyone! I'm Catherine, I'm a Graphic Designer and i'm new here!

in #introduceyourself6 years ago (edited)

catherine-768x512.jpg

Hello, I’m Catherine and I’m just starting a new phase of my life. I grew up in Switzerland with a Swiss father and a Guyanese mother and spent my last 25 years there. My dream has always been to be self-employed, to see the world and eventually to live in the South.

DO THE DIFFICULT THINGS WHILE THEY ARE EASY AND DO THE GREAT THINGS WHILE THEY ARE SMALL. A JOURNEY OF A THOUSAND MILES MUST BEGIN WITH A SINGLE STEP. – LAO TZU

And whoops, here I am! I have quit my job and immigrated to Portugal with my partner.

If there is one thing I have learnt so far in life, it is that the more positive energy and effort you give to achieve your dreams, the quicker they will be achieved. Every hour you dedicate to creating your future, is an hour that can never be taken away, it will eventually become a steady step in which you can either choose to rest at, or continue, it will hold you up, wherever you go. We may have our failures in trying to climb the stairs, but we should never give up and always go on. We should also remember to be grateful for the opportunities that our afforded to us.

I was tired working the 9-5 life. I didn't hate it, and there was plenty of positive experiences and alot of learning during this time, but I wanted freedom, a family, and to be self-sustainable with my own vegetable garden caring for mother nature. Being in Zurich on a day-to-day basis didn't give me the ability to feel those needs, especially with work. Life was too fast, everywhere I turned it was money, money, money. Now I am here in the middle of nowhere, foregoing all those materialist needs in search of a better life.

For all os us life is a journey. Many people choose a road of comfort forgoing all the risks it takes one to satisfy ones need to create their dreams and succeed. I was also on that path, until I made my decision: Leave Switzerland and off into the unknown.

I am so excited about the experiences I’m going to have, which projects I’ll realize and what people I’ll get to know. I am convinced that everyone is responsible for their luck and happiness in their life. And that’s exactly what I want to do. I hope you stick with me here on my journey on Steemit, because I'd love to hear your story too!!

I will be posting regularly, with no specific theme. Just thoughts, poetry and other things I think up. I hope you'll enjoy it :)

Warm Greetings,
unterschrift.png

Sort:  

Respect for having the guts to moving away from a safe life in switzerland and going on a unknown journey into the future - I hope it will or already has proven to be the right choice! Resteemed your for some extra publicity! Greets

Many people can never even imagine leaving Switzerland... It's crazy. It's good to get away from what you know, and find new ways to challenge yourself! Thank you so much for the upvote.. I'd love to be more involved with the community here :)

Welcome to steemit!
I am a bot built for the purposes of welcoming new users! I know that steemit may seem very overwhelming to you right now but don't worry. There's a learning curve to everything so just be patient and you'll be churning out posts and becoming a part of something great in no time!

Also if there are any questions that you may have, then just ask your questions on any of my blog posts and I'll be more than happy to assist you with whatever questions you may have! I will also be creating a basic starting out guide for all minnows and newcomers on my blog so do give it a read as that might help answer many of your questions!

Have fun and I wish you LOADS of success on here! :)

Also. you can call upon originalworks whenever something you post is your own content like this: @originalworks

Regards
@welcome-to-steem

Bem-vinda! Where in Portugal have you moved to? It is good to see the "Portuguese" community grow.

Hello there! We are quite isolated but our nearest city is about an hour away: Castelo Branco :)

It's been a dull winter, hopefully we will get a little more rain (I know the locals are hoping for it!) before we get into the summer, and hopefully not so many forest fires this year.

Hope you are well,
Catherine.

That is brave! Castelo Branco is already small enough! But usually during the summer there is a lot more movement as a lot of emigrants return home from Germany, Switzerland and France.

Yes, hopefully not many fires this summer. Let us hope that the authorities took enough measures after last year's disasters.

Its very beautiful around here! :D Our friends here say: "Portugal is still in the 13th century but with WIFI and TV" I'm not sure if you would agree with that or not!

I can't wait for the summer. I was expecting a warm winter, but got caught out. Ah.. well atleast we weren't in Switzerland... BRRR. It was very cold there during our christmas visit.

We've seen alot of work going on, but also some of our friends, have people in their village refusing to do any cutting quite the dilemma.

:D

Well, Castelo Branco and the country side is very different than Porto or Lisbon for example. But yeah Id say Castelo Branco is almost like a village with WiFi and TV :D

Hallo und herzlich willkommen auf steemit!! Was für ein unglaublich schönes Bild- woowwww. Dir wird es hier sicher gefallen. (ich bin die Tochter eines indischen Vaters und deutscher Mutter:-))). Wenn Du dich mit anderen Frauen verbinden magst, dann check mal mein Profil. Ich habe steemitsisterhood gegründet. Wir haben auf dem discord unseren eigenen channel zum schreiben und treffen uns alle 14 Tage zum virtuellen audio meet up. Auch benutzen wir gern bei frauenspezifischen Themen den #steemitsisterhood Bei Fragen einfach melden bzw machst Du zweisprachig oder nur englisch?? Naja erstmal gutes ankommen und alles Liebe Dir <3

Hii Catherine, welcome to Steemit :) I hope you enjoy the platform. Best!

Thank you! I look forward to following your posts :D

Thanks :) Followed you back!

Hallo @catherineflores, herzlich willkommen auf Steemit.

Wenn Du Fragen zu Steemit hast, oder Dich mit anderen deutschen „Steemians“ austauschen magst, schau einfach mal auf unserem Discord-Server https://discord.gg/g6ktN45 vorbei.

Unter dem folgenden Link findest Du einige Anleitungen, die Dir den Einstieg in das Steem-Universum deutlich erleichtern werden: Deutschsprachige Tutorials für Steemit-Neulinge: Ein Überblick

Lieben Dank, ich werd mir die beiden Links gerne anschauen!

Welcome to steemit enjoy the platform it’s a great community friendly community in a lot of opportunity to make money!! I post about nightlife entertainment and my personal life! Looking forward to seeing some of your post So I can Upvote them. Follow me and I’ll follow back.. @limelightmg