Introduction: Art • Outdoors • Travel (Pt 1)

in #introduceyourself • 7 years ago

Hi steemians! Feel free to call me Cat (like meow 😸 can you guess what my real name is?) I would like to share with you some of my interests.

art

I think it’s one of the highest application of our mental faculties; it’s a freeform expression of oneself and what one’s thoughts. Art comes in many and different forms: paintings, drawings, music, dance, photo/videography, architecture, interior design, etc. There is no limit, really. By no means am I an ‘art snob,’ but I certainly enjoy going to art exhibitions, galleries, and museums (especially the pop-up ones!). I’d like to first share with you a pop-up art exhibition that is meant to bring attention to the desert and valley’s environment through the display works of emerging artists.

EDB28C5B-C2DD-4E2D-8A85-9CBAA878B583.JPG
HOLLOW EARTH (GLENN KAINO) – glass tunnel descending deep into the Earth. You may not know this about me, but I am afraid of heights. Once I was inside and saw this tunnel, I felt very uneasy (of course, I tried my best to not show it :P). It looked like a hole that drops into infinite darkness. How far deep into the ground do you think they had to dig?

Meaning behind the artist’s work: gesture that explores the complicated and diverse history of tunnel making, from the secret tunnels between Egypt and the Gaza Strip to the common childhood (and Orientalist) fantasy of digging a hole through the planet and ending up in China. Paradoxically, as someone stares down at the piece, wondering about the depth of the tunnel. In this ironic case, art directly reflects (their) life and the meaning, value and power that they assign to it.

IMG_1988.JPG

IMG_1989.JPG
MIRAGE (DOUG AITKEN) • house that is made of mirrors. Came here during sunrise (ahh, yes I can be an early bird!) and it was absolutely beautiful – I wish you were all there to witness it; the pictures doesn’t do it justice. In certain angles, the house just looks seamless and can blend in to the rest of the landscape. In other angles, it just alters the landscape completely.

Meaning: reflection of the dreams and aspirations projected onto the America West. Mirrors both absorbs and reflects the landscape around in such ways that the exterior will seemingly disappear just as the interior draws the viewer into a never-ending kaleidoscope of light and reflection. As Mirage pulls the landscape in and reflects it back out and is a perceptual echo-chamber endlessly bouncing between the dream of nature as pure uninhabited state and the pursuit of its conquest.

Let me know your thoughts! Would you like to see more of these types of photos?

Sort:  

Welcome to Steem @catt I have upvoted and sent you a tip

Thanks for the welcome note, @bottymcbotface! And thanks for the tip :)))) <3

I have not yet explore that area, the day my friends went it was way too hot for me to want to go. lol but I still want to check this out and Joshua tree. The only time I travel to Coachella valley is for Coachella music festivities. 😊 great blog, love the photos!

Wow these place looks awesome lol. Where are they ?

Aww, thanks @mister.liu and glad you found them awesome! It was a site-specific art exhibition that was spread around the Coachella valley and desert in California. The Mirage (mirror house) was in Palm Springs, and Hollow Earth (tunnel) was in Indio. I believe they closed it from the public a few months ago. I'm waiting for the next installation next year - cant' wait! :)

wow

:))) my thoughts exactly when I went ;) Feel like you read my mind haha

 7 years ago (edited) 

Welcome to steemit and yes I would love to see more photos :) I'll call you the Cool Cat <3

Yes, feel free to call me that, @bitfairy! In fact, a few of my buddies from high school used to call me that ;)

Aiit, I will :)

Hi @catt welcome to Steemit. I do hope that you have a wonderful time on this platform, if you have any questions or if there is anything I can help you with do not hesitate to ask, I will be more than happy to help.
If you would like to stay in touch please Follow me @Fshllc

Hello @catt! Welcome to steemit! :)

Hey there @catt! Welcome to steemit :]

Thanks, @steemitlotteries! Happy to be here :D

Hi dear friend , welcome to Steemit. I do hope that you have a wonderful time on this platform, if you have any questions or if there is anything I can help you with do not hesitate to ask, I will be more than happy to help.
If you would like to stay in touch please Follow me @pastorlea

Welcome @catt aboard the steemit express. This is a great platform to express yourself just like any other social media outlet except this one pays its users for interacting with each other. Post good content and your rewards can be limitless but always stay true to yourself.

@slickhustler007
#minnowtowhale
#minnowsupport

@catt - Beautiful pictures ! Its hard to explain how much detail each of these pictures withheld!! I can see that you will be great fit for our contest. I invite you to participate in below contest and give other contestants a tough fight!

On other note, I would like to share with you that we started an UPVOTE drive to help genuine content creators on Steemit by supporting them with upvotes (in bulk) on their content if they win the contest. That's an excellent way to promote your post, win some UPVOTES and also new Followers!!

If you like to participate in the #AFOFA contest to win UPVOTES on your post, then please read Rules & Conditions and follow them to register yourself.

Contest Announcement page

It will be fun! Steem ON!

For more details on the contest click here!

Wow! Tremendous photographies! Welcome to Steemit :) Don't hesitate to write me anytime!

Thanks for the warm welcome note and compliment ;) I'll take the compliment, even though I wasn't necessarily the photographer :P

Well, actually it is a good photo... I should have said: beautiful model? hahaha ;)