Ch4nel and Fam Are Back!

in #introduceyourself6 years ago

Moving Shop, Head Cold and Re-Introducing Myself to Steemit!

Hello Fellow Steemians!
Ch4nel and family here with an update on what we've been up to, why we've not posted for a while and our plans as we move forward!
First off, just let me say, I am glad to be back! I've missed you fellow-Steemians! I feel like I do when I've been out of contact with a good friend for a bit. With a good cup of coffee and a few hours of chit chat, we're all caught up and everything is as right as rain.

For the past few months there's been this little voice whispering in the back of my mind (as well as a not-so-inner voice, @matthewdavid?) telling me that I really need to get back to Steemit! I couldn't agree more. A technologically advanced, free outlet that encourages creators to create without obnoxious censoring, helps foster community and allows bloggers to be rewarded for good work? Um, yes please!

But . . .life. (I know. Not a good excuse.) But, yeah. Life. The other side of the screen, this side of the screen can be tough. I sincerely commend everyone here on Steemit (or on any type of social media) who in spite of serious trials pushes through, perseveres, and continues to post content no matter what. You are an encouragement, keep it up!

Well, grab a cuppa Joe if you'd like and let's get reacquainted, shall we?

Hanukkah!

As mentioned in one of my husband's (@matthewdavid) recent posts, we were able to have a wonderful and peaceful Hanukkah. We all anxiously anticipated this festival as for us, it is a time of reflection and celebration. We carved out special time to sit together and read scripture, books about Hannukah, make festive foods (latkes and homemade donuts!), learn new music and of course light the menorah. I am often surprised how year after year, I always learn more about the history of this time and have been filled with so much renewed hope even as the holiday came to a close. So grateful to have observed one more year!

Store Closed/Contract Work

Working at the store

rsz_terriblechanelpic.jpg

Perhaps the most dramatic change for us has been the fact that we closed our local computer repair and resale store and moved the operation to our home. That's right, my basement now looks like the Geek Squad landed and established central headquarters right here! Right. . .here =)

Matthew working from home

rsz_1rsz_matthewinbasementwork.jpg

I must admit, closing was a major blow to the ego, but we now know that the decision is what was best for our family. We'd operated from a store-front since opening nearly 10 years ago, but between state/employee taxes and most other overhead expenses for a large operation, it just became too much. We knew that we needed to downsize. So, we did.

A view of the back room in store

rsz_back_of_orange_store.jpg

One of the front sales counters

rsz_orangecompuetstore.jpg
For several weeks we broke down the store and moved everything home. Major thank you again to Matthew's parents and everyone else who helped us with the move. We could not have done it without you! And thank you mom and dad for your support even though you're far away. This was a tough transition and we are very grateful for your help as well!

We're all adjusting. Until now, Matthew was the chief operator and oversaw our techs. Now, he's the primary and I'm learning how to be a better tech.

And the truth is, business hasn't slowed much. Perhaps it's because we are a smaller team, but the demand for service is high enough to keep us busy. That is a blessing and I am grateful.

In addition, Matthew is working as an IT contractor for the hospital system during the day, but he frequently helps customers over the lunch hour at home. Yep, our days are rather a whirlwind. Sleep, eat, dress, school, customers, lunch, school, dinner, repair, repair, repair. Quit at midnight (if we're lucky). Rinse and repeat. Not a complaint just a description of reality right now.

Yes, for me, Steemit offers a much needed break!

Working the front desk

rsz_nice_chanel_pic.jpg

Training and Group Fitness Classes

I'm still working with clients and maintain a manageable work load. I try to train in the early A.M. I'm also still teaching group fitness classes both onsite and within the community. Great for relieving stress and getting out of the house!

Home and School

Still chugging along. During the transition, the children were able to stay with grandparents a few times per week. My in-laws are a true blessing! Grandma helped the kids along with their studies and kept them well-cared for while Matthew and I wrapped up things at the shop. And the kids loved the more frequent visits to the farm! Hot cocoa and a good story on a snowy day, anyone? Yep, pure awesomeness!!!!
I will be posting more specifics about some of the books, curriculum and other materials that we use and have used in the past. Stay tuned for that!

We also tried a new home school group class this fall/early winter: P.E. It was offered through one of the larger gyms in our area. They even have a field-house with turf! There were so many children of varying ages. I wasn't aware of how many families home school here and I was grateful for that as I want the kids to have plenty of opportunities to build friendships.

I thought that the class was well done. Each week the trainers would have the students try new sports, games or workouts. My children didn't appreciate having to get up so early in the morning to attend, but they eventually warmed up to it.

We're going to sit out the next session but will hopefully return in the Fall.

Head-colds Happen

For about 2 and half weeks I was down with a pesky head-cold/sinus infection. Yuck. So not fun. Not medical advice, but purified water, massive amounts of raw garlic, vitamins D and C, elderberry juice, plenty of sleep and chicken soup did the trick! I'm super grateful that I'm the only one of 6 in our house to get hit. I'm also considering what I need to change to avoid future take-downs!

So What's Next? Things I'm Loving.

As the year draws to a close and I get that New Year's renewal, resolution bug (funny how I always say that I'll begin in October or sometime before January 1st but almost always get around to it on January 1, and not a day sooner=0), I feel like a personal challenge is in order.
Post every day for a month? A year? Not sure exactly. I'm still setting goals.

As many of you know, I'd like to share my thoughts, knowledge and experiences on subjects that concern family, our faith, my fitness journey, home schooling and my views on freedom (mostly politics).

Right now I'm mildly obsessed with learning to speak Hebrew, Udemy courses and consuming media published by honest and freedom-loving humans such as Alex Jones, the Hagmanns, Sean Hannity, Paul Joseph Watson, Brandon Tatum and so many others.

So, there's plenty to cover. The question is, where do I begin?

The answer: I made it back to Steemit. And for now, I think I'll just start here.

Thanks for checking out this post! Hope to see you soon! Steem On! Steem Strong!

Ch4nel

Sort:  

welcome to steemit @ch4nel, best regards..
hopefully you feel at home here. 😊

welcome @ch4nel ! Nice Post ! Please upvote & keep following

Thank you @arvindkumar! Will follow!

Welcome to the steemit community from me @adimulyadi from indonesia, i hope what you share and post is available in this steemit paltfrom. do not be saturated to work through every input available and get paid according to your work. welcome my return best for you friend

Thanks @adimulyadi! My best to you as well!

Yayyyy! Welcome back @ch4nel! I'm so happy you're posting again! I've always enjoyed your blogs. Wow.. you've been really busy! I recently just started posting again on here and hopefully continue. Value of steem and SBD are up so it's a good motivation to stay at it. :)